It's Been a Planting Day ~ Slice Planting

Many of our most favorite veggies can be grown from what's called 'slice planting'. That's where you take a fresh or withering tomato, tomatillo, or other such fruit, slice and plant it.

reclaim garden tomatoes on vine green 1.23.14.jpg

I saw the idea, first, on Pinterest, as an idea for growing tomatoes. We always have tomatoes...sometimes, they whither! It's the perfect storm! I wondered if Tomatillos would grow the same way...while they're NOT in the Tomato family, they seed in the same way.

garden gate garden tomatillo pod.jpg

Simply slice your tomatoes or tomatillos into 1/4 inch thick slices, lay them atop a nice planting mix, cover with a quarter inch of potting soil, and water!

garden 3.13 tomatillo slices.jpg

I've always had a huge success rate with this type of planting, so, anytime we get a fancy tomato, grape or cherry tomato of that sort, I always make a plan to steal at least two, for 'the sake of reasearch' ! These are the Tomatillos starts for 2018.

My entree to the research project this week is the Lorabella Italian Tomato...they're a small sized, blush colored, completely delicious, Roma Tomato. Perfect for in salads, I found this gem at our local Aldi's Market! They're so deliciously sweet San Marzano bred tomato. GMO Free, and I'm planting organically. Those went in, as well...I'll share pics as they grow to where you can actually see the little babies!

Everyone have a great evening...it's time to kick back and relax! Steem on, my friends, Steem on!

Sort:  

It makes a lot of sense but I've never thought to try this. Great idea!

I love this trick! The germination rate is spectacular!

@mamajeani,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curator team!

Please Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency!

Welcome to the Steem Community @mamajeani! Good luck with the planting!

Please reply to this comment, and I will share your post with the @OCD curator group!

Well, thank you! I appreciate the notice!

I’ve never planted this way. I’ve seen it on Facebook and Pinterest, but I’ve seen enough fails from those sites, that I don’t usually try out what I see there. It’s good to know that it’s worked for you. Now I’ll give it a try! :)

Yeah, I know about those pinterest fails! I've made many! ;D Thanks for stopping by!

Hi @smylie2005's mom! You raised a beautiful daughter, both in looks and in spirit. I am very happy to meet the mom of one of our cheerleaders in the #newbieresteemday initiative. :)

I never knew about slice planting! My mom takes the seeds of the fattest crop of the bunch, dries them, and saves them for gardening the next year. One year I thought they were a pile of trash and threw them all away. Oops! She has no idea who threw it away to this day. ;)

I have no green thumb in the garden, but this method looks fairly easy enough. Will try it sometime and let you know.

Thank you, @beeyou! lovely to meet you, too!
I promise I won't tell your mom you tossed her seeds! lololol

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 03:08:20
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 203.00/200.00
Total Photos: 35
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Works marvelous every time!! Its so cool to watch the new plants grow from the leftovers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05