You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Choose Wisely Who You Follow

Here ya go Chuck...The image depicts the numbers. I think somewhere along the way someone added plankton to the mix to describe those with like 500 SP or less.

Originally the designation of which category you fall into is determined by how many vests you hold. Vests are basically steem power or kind of like stock in steemit (and I'm playing it fast and loose with the interpretation here). Right now, 1 Steem Power is equal to 489 vests as found using this handy calculator

If you look at curation rewards sometimes it says you've been awarded x amount of vests and a lot of people are like, "what the heck is a vest?" It's Steem power. But why two names for things that appear to be one in the same? Idk. It's a lot to wrap your head around.

Give this post a read when you get the time if you want to dig deeper into what a vest is and the different forms of steem. It was very interesting to me. I did a lot of digging to find this info awhile back and it's golden. Not many people even understand half the stuff covered in the post below. The guy that wrote it spent a lot of time reading the white paper or something.

https://steemit.com/interest/@sigmajin/understanding-the-steem-economic-system-vests-sbd-steem-dilution-interest-and-all-those-crazy-things

Use this site to see all kinds of stats about your account (I put in your username so it'll take you straight to your account stats)

https://steemworld.org/@chuck2u32

You can also use this tool below which was created by @magicmonk to find all sorts of useful or maybe not so useful info depending on how into statistics you are.

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@magicmonk/mysteemitfriends-online-new-feature-voting-history-between-2-dates

The truth is out there... :)

~Cryptokeepr

Sort:  

This is incredible! Thank you so much. I can only hope this helps a bunch of us minnows swim a bit more with the current than against it! I'll dig into it. See you in a week or so : )

I’m gonna do a post for new people soon. Haven’t done that in awhile and I feel it’s kind of a cvic duty of people who’ve been here for a bit to help newer users. I have way more reference material links in my bookmarks than I’ve shared here so im gonna go through that and put something of a reference / guidance post.

If we are to serve as a shining beacon of pure capitalism and what some might call anarchy that is actually a functional model, the system must have well intentioned people who are willing to give their time to help others and thus grow the platform in a good way.

My error was because I did not read all of the FAQ provided at the beginning of my journey here. Anything you post I'm sure will be valued content, but be sure to underscore the need to DO YOUR HOMEWORK before you swim in this pool. I wonder why they don't have a "shark" category? Again, THANK YOU!

FYI-I corrected my original post to remove the reputation comments and referenced your comments for the correct information. Thank you again for your help, sir!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45