A role model Steemian - Welcoming Newbies to Steemit the RIGHT way

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago (edited)

Nomination for the Delegated Steem Power


Do you remember your first day of school and the different emotions that ran through your mind?

There was the feeling of excitement, of starting something new.

There was anxiety, with not knowing what is to come.

There was awkwardness, with not knowing how to act.

There was interest in learning.

Perhaps there was fear of not being accepted.

Newcomers to Steemit feel the same emotions.


We are excited to be here.
We are anxious.
We want to meet people.
We have decided we want to be part of the Steemit movement.

So then what happens?


We introduce ourselves with the #introduceyourself tag. Seven days later, we may have made out with $0.05 cents or a little more if we are lucky.

If we were apprehensive before, well, a whole new slew of emotions and thoughts are running through our mind.

Why didn’t anyone upvote my intro post?
Will I make friends?
Should I quit?
What am I doing wrong?

It is very easy to be disheartened as a newbie to Steemit. Especially if you came in alone.

Eventually, you talk to people, build connections, and if lucky, be part of a community that embraces and support you.

That is why I support the #newbieresteemday initiative founded by @mudcat36 and @davemccoy.



The initiative’s goal is to support newcomers to Steemit. Welcome them the way everyone deserves to be welcomed on here. Let them know they are not alone. Show support by resteeming or promoting their post so they get exposure and not make a measly $0.05 on their first post.

Members of the #newbieresteemday initiative are volunteering their time to meet and guide newbies. They are bringing exposure to the initiative and sending all SBDs earned from the post to support the initiative. Many are new themselves and are even donating some of their hard-earned SBDs. As a newbie, SBDs are DEFINITELY hard-earned.

A little about me


Being a mom and working professional does not allow me to come on Steemit often. I’m not a member of the #newbieresteemday initiative. I love and support the initiative, but time constraints limit my time on Steemit. So I self-promoted myself to BEEING the cheerleader of the initiative when I find some stolen moments to write. I am writing this nomination article now because my little loves are asleep. And I will be drinking an extra large cup of DD coffee in the morning!

To be honest, I’m not sure if my candidate even knows who I am. LOL.
We’ve corresponded, yes, but he has many followers. I am writing this nomination because I feel he deserves it. The initiative needs the support.

I know he will use the Steem Power to continue helping newbies. I don’t have much time to contribute to the initiative myself, but if he wins the delegated Steem Power, then at least I’ve contributed to the cause in my own way.

I don’t see your nomination…ANYTIME NOW 😊


Candidate: @davemccoy for @anomadsoul’s #rolemodel contest.

His motto: Bee Humble. Bee Kind.

One of the first Steemians I met was @davemccoy. I met him on my personal Steemit account (which I’m never on anymore) before he became one of the founders of the #newbieresteemday initiative.

It started off by my reading a post of his for newbies. Then I read some of his other articles and left comments thanking him. As I got to know him through comments back and forth, I realized that he is someone that is kind, genuine and sincere. We newbies have tons of questions. He takes the time to reply back with thoughtful and encouraging comments. One Steemian even dedicated a picture to Dave as a special thank you for his kindness.

Comments he made to others:

He is new himself but is already thinking of ways to help the Steemit community. I know one of the criteria of this contest is not using voting bots. Or minimum usage of bots.

Speaking with utmost respect, what chances do we newbies have of earning more than pennies if not through upvote bots? We have few followers. If we have many followers as @davemccoy does, then many of them are newbies with not much upvoting power. They follow him because his posts are helpful. They follow him because he cares. They follow him because he is genuinely interested in helping us newbies grow along with him. He uses upvote services like @earthnation-bot, @lila-wish-genie, and @bumper, then share his experiences with us. He tell us of services that he recommend and those that should be avoided. It is my opinion only, but I do believe fair practices of using voting bots are acceptable. Especially so for newbies as we are starting out.

If you would like to know what he would do with the Steem Power, please read his post entry to @suesa’s contest, another opportunity for minnows to win delegated Steem Power. I figured entering two different contests would increase his chances of winning.

I’m writing this nomination because I believe he will do good things with the delegated Steem Power. I believe that he will use the delegated Steem Power to help others and better the community. He has already shown his dedication and good faith. We need more members like @davemccoy to build Steemit into a supportive community that is welcoming and where all voices can be heard.

All SBD earned from this post will go to the #newbieresteemday initiative.

How do we want to be remembered?

Thank you for stopping by! Have a BEE-ATIFIC day!

Image sources:
Boat: Pixabay. Photoshop: Me. (I forgot to copy the address link!)
Group: Pixabay
Bee Dedication: keeperofthewoods
Bee logo: Pixabay & Word Compilation

Sort:  

this is beautiful. you are so kind to do something like this for @davemccoy. you get some resteem extra for that sensational and fantastically written contest entry. happy to be your teammate @beeyou ;)

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thank you @ilovepoorpeople. I’m happy to have great teammates like you that are giving time and effort to help others. This is what Steemit should be about.

the content of this cool post can only be born by a great person. hopefully I can be like you in getting a vote. because I have very little sound when I write something. your writing is an inspiration to me.

Only a great person themselves would say such kind words @damahsyari. Thank you, you’ve brighten my day! 🙂 Your beach post is great too!

I don't even know how to start. If you've noticed I can talk, but with your beautiful post I feel almost speechless. I'm so honored that you would do this, it is such a compliment and coming from you makes it even more special.

I can't believe that you think I wouldn't remember you, omgosh I have been hunting you down every time I see you in one of my spiderwebs they call threads. I connected with you immediately and I will never forget "beeyou", its cute and catchy and so awesome to understand at your young age in life. I'm thrilled that I met you and even though you have kids and a job and little time to "bee" ;) here, every day you do make it, I'm positive you make it a better place.

You aren't going to be able to dodge being a "founding member" of the #newbieresteemday initiative. I don't care if you can only spend 10 minutes a month, you will contribute more in that 10 minutes than other will contribute in 10 years. Its not about time spent, its about the desire and the passion that you add to this cause. You "get it" and I knew you would before it even started. You were one of my 15 in my mind 4 days ago when @mudcat36 said he hoped we could eventually grow to 15 members, and I said we would get 15 members in a day if we tried hard enough. It was inspiration that you (and the others if they see this) ;) gave me. And also in our short few encounters, I gained confidence that I could count on you. You didn't even need to say it, because I knew what kind of person you were. (Note: I have that gift btw :), the gift of seeing potential and seeing the good hearts and minds that some people possess.)

I am so happy that you did this for me because it is not just flattering and encouraging, it is a statement that I have earned the respect of someone who I also hold in very high regard. If you say it, then I believe it. So thank you for taking the time and energy to put your words down.

When @keeperofthewoods did such a beautiful thing, I felt so awesome that she would do that for me. I didn't have enough words in my head to explain how thankful I was. Well, I'm in that place again @beeyou, I want to keep typing in hopes of "really" letting you know how wonderful you are and this act was.

But I won't. I will never forget this and never forget you. So even if you are away for months, make sure to stop in and say hi from time to time. And also while I will keep your workload down, you are a founding member and I won't take no for an answer.

Ok I will let this end.. but the feeling won't go away. I'm simply stunned by your kindness and by the respect you have shown me.

Thank you my friend "beeyou" ... thank you very very much :)

@davemccoy — before I start, make sure you vote for 10 witness! That’s one of the criteria of the contest. Vote before the contest ends tomorrow! Will be crossing my fingers.

Now, back to my awesome writing (j/k!)

You inspire others. All the things I said are true. You are kind to others and sincere with your intentions. Of course I respect you! The time and effort you put to helping others by teaching or answering questions or simply just giving words of encouragement, goodness, I can never be that patient! 🙂 Regardless of the outcome, you are a role model to so many on here and that is a win in my books.

Thank you for the kind words. Today was a rough day at work so your words uplifted my spirit. I think the clincher was when you said “young age in life”. Such a sweet compliment to this aging soul. 🙂

Beeing the cheerleader is so much cooler than being a founder or member. You guys do the heavy lifting. I get to kick back, relax, and put my magical writing skills to work. Hehe. IF only! Then you would definitely be the winner!

I know you will do great things @davemccoy. You already are. The steem power would just be a bonus.

I did follow your advice and got the witnesses, you are like my guiding angel ;) ... thank you for that @beeyou :)

And yes you do have some "awesome writings" ... You have a terrific attitude and the gift of putting that attitude into your writings. I thoroughly enjoy when I have a conversation with you and I'm sure I'm not the only one too ;) ...

As for your "aging soul", you can't fool me. You have more spunk than a teenager. So while I don't really know how old you are, I can see deep inside,you are still very young. (and I hope you stay that way til the day you die).

I'm happy to have you bee our cheerleader, you can even pick the uniforms and write the cheers lol... (but I will just make that a role as part of our team)... And yes, it is "cooler" so when I come up with ways to "help" you have now created a function that I hadn't thought of. (working on it now, it will be out next week).

I'm sorry to hear you had a rough day at work, but I am glad I could uplift your spirit. If you ever want to talk about work and get some different perspective, I'm always pretty good at finding ways to see the bright side of life. ie... don't let anything get in your way of beeing happy, and if you find something stopping you, let me know so I can see if I can help.

I like beeyou to bee happy. She is amazing and needs to let that smile light up the room!

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

You are followed with pleasure. I have seen the work you do out there and its a compliment for you to notice this. Thank you very much @rewardpoolrape :)

Thanks for the encouraging words @davemccoy. Just a busy time at work and everyone seems to be testy. That’s ok though. I’ve been too long in my comfort zone. Just another reason to get out of the status quo and start exploring. 🙂

One of the reasons I started using Steemit. Great way to explore interests and talent. Discover other talents and ones within ourselves. Maybe even get to share the talent we discover with others. I’ve met many great individuals on here already and look forward to meeting more. Especially with so many newbies that the initiative is supporting as they come onboard.

I understand about work, but I'm glad to see you are exploring. That's really what keeps us young. If we learn new things then life is amazing, so the only way to learn is to explore. You are doing it right. :)

Well I hope you have a wonderful week ahead and thank you so very much for beeing so kind and so thoughtful!

Thank you for joining and helping our initiative. It means a great deal to me and @davemccoy. When we started this we had no idea it would fly as it has. It's Steemit members like yourself that were my inspiration for this idea. This post is so beautifully and sincerely written. You truly write brilliantly. I look forward to seeing more of your content and humbly and deeply express my thanks to you. As you are throwing in with us it will make you happy to know that I am in the process of building us a website that the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative can call its own. There will be loads of features, means of connecting, ways of sharing the best of the best of the initiative from newbies who we help to amazing people like yourself who are playing a role in creating an ever growing ecosystem of support on the platform. Thank you again and many blessings. Steem on.

Hi @mudcat36. We haven’t had the chance to meet yet 🙂. It’s such a great initiative you started. The heart behind it already tells me of the great person you must be. Thank you for your kind words. I just want to help in what way I can. I know you guys will do amazing things and help so many newbies if selected for the steem power delegation.

I can’t wait to see the website. That is really awesome. I’m sure we can make this initiative a success with everyone’s collective talent.

Thanks @sami7780. Be sure to check out the tag #newbieresteemday. One of the members volunteering that day wil help to get more exposure for your post by resteeming it.

@beeyou, welcome to steemit.

You and I (don't look at the 'ranking') new to this platform and also have the same positive attitude in helping newbies.

I did my first #newbieresteemday on Jan 19. And thanks for reaching out to me.

With this, you have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday  

I made Jan 19, 2018 my first #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. 

To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative) . 

Keep Sharing your wonderful story in steemit!

very good @carolfung... its amazing how we are all working together at our own pace and for the same purpose. (and you deserve the ranking, you are going to keep it growing too) ;)

Congrats on your 1st resteem day @carolfung. I will try to help out with a resteem day when I have free time one day. My followers are small though, but I’m sure any amount of exposure is good exposure to newbies.

What a great concept

It really is @tomsnoob. It’s a community that wants to help each other. We definitely need a support system when new on here.

Hi team. The initiative didn't get the steem power delegation. It was a tough competition with many great Steemians. It doesn't change anything! Everyone is contributing so much in making this initiative a success. There will be more contests, more ideas and avenues we can pursue down the road. With our collective talents, we can make this work! You are still a role model to us (me) @davemccoy!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Thank you!

Thanks for the tag, although @originalworks must have forgotten about us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78