💡 'Engaging Games & Contests'- Brainstorm Session [@STEEMBASICINCOME GIVEAWAY]

in #newbiegames6 years ago (edited)

Share your best engaging contest/game ideas and be rewarded for it. Win a prize just for brainstorming!

416H.jpg

Games And Contests

We here at @newbiegames simply love to play games and join contests. But I assume you already knew that...

Games and contest serve multiple purposes:

  • You can have fun
  • You get to know other people
  • Other people get to know you
  • You can win prizes

Reasons enough to take part in as many games and contests as you can.

divider.gif

Engagement

There are many different sorts of contests and games. But our preference goes out to those that encourage engagement.

I could set up a contest and ask for your favorite color. Everyone will comment with his favorite color, and that’s it. Every contestant will only engage with the host, not with each other, or anyone else.

Engagement is important here on SteemIt. That’s why we would like our games and contests to encourage engagement between as many people as possible.

feedback-2990424_1920.jpg

A good example of a contest that makes people engage with each other is the ‘Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @thedarkhorse. People are sent out to find quality posts by other people and feature those people in a post. By adding the rule that one of the featured bloggers should be someone you were not following yet, he encourages people to grow their network.

But you can also have engaging games/contests on a smaller level, where you make contestants interact with each other in some way.

divider.gif

Share Your Ideas

I plan to make the @newbiegames account more active. That won’t be easy, because my personal blog and life in general take up quite some time. Still, I want to make this work.

And I would love it if you would want to help me.

Let’s brainstorm about engaging contests and games. Share your ideas. Come up with concepts. In short, let’s put our heads together and make a list of engaging games/contests we can set up.


With your help, we would be able to create new posts more frequently, which will grow the account faster. The bigger the account gets, the bigger the prizes we can offer you.


UPDATE:
If you come up with an idea for an engaging contest or game, you are more than welcome to work with us to get the idea worked out and create the post to get it ready to publish. Basically, we will form a partnership with you until the post has reached payout. As a partner, you will be rewarded with part of the payout of your contest/game post.
If you have no interest in working together to work out your idea together, we’ll be happy to do it for you. In that case you will be given credit in the post for coming up with the idea.

divider.gif

The Contest

Share with us all ideas about engaging contests and games you can think of.

You are free to make multiple comments. The more ideas you share, the happier we will be.



We do not expect you to have every idea all worked out; just drop a comment with whatever comes up in your head. Together we can make the idea complete.

Read other people’s ideas, maybe add something to it, or just say whether you like the idea or not. The point is that we work together to come up with possible games to play and contests to run.

It’s a win-win for everyone...

divider.gif

The Prizes

As stated before, this account is still small. That means that we can not offer you big rewards yet.

The more ideas you share, the faster we will be able to offer bigger prizes.

When this brainstorm-contest has reached post-payout, we will randomly select 3 valid entries and sponsor them for a @steembasicincome share.

sbi.png

If you are not familiar with @steembasicincome, you can read what it is all about here

divider.gif

Are You Ready to Rumble?

Get ready to brainstorm! Maybe do some warming up exercises and then put your brain to work full power.

I do believe that together we can make this work!!

Ready? Set! Storm!



divider.gif

banner728.jpg

If you like what we’re doing with @newbiegames, and you have a little Steem Power to spare, you can help us grow by delegating it to us.
More Steem Power means bigger upvotes to give out. All delegations will be used to support our members.
A delegations can be taken back any time.

To send your delegation you can use the delegation tool.

I've set up some quick links. They will bring you to the delegation tool. Enter your name in the field and click 'Load'. You'll notice the fields in the 'Add delegation' box will be prefilled for you. If you want to delegate a custom amount, simply edit the amount.
Click the 'Delegate' button and go through the Steemconnect process to finalize your delegation.

To take back your delegation, repeat the process but add '0' to the 'Amount' field.

1SP5SP10SP
15SP25SP50SP



newbiegames big.jpg


Sort:  

How about picking a letter of the alphabet, then having participants find a Steemit user with the same first letter, and interview them. This should not be someone they follow. They can interview them in the comments of the chosen users latest post, then make an interview post with the results. They post the link of the completed interview post to enter. This has nothing to do with dating, but here is a list of possible interview questions. https://dateinadash.com/fifty_great_speed_dating_questions.php

That is actually a great idea!
This will definitely be on the list.
Would you be interested kn working out the details with me when we plan to play it? You would get a share of the post rewards... If not, no problem. I think I can work this one out.
Thanks for sharing this very good idea!

Sure, I'd be happy to help! thanks

That ould be great. I’m going to try to make a list and schedule so we can make this work. I’ll contact you as soon as I get organized :0)

very cool idea @giddyupngo :) here's a newbie nickel for your thoughts ;-)

Thanks, much better than the standard penny. :-)

I love the idea of a biggest loser contest! The contest could be anything. But the comment with the LEAST amount of votes wins! So if you wanna win, you have to upvote your competition. Everyone wins!

I think i love this one its really nice and crazy but its real fun. Let me start by upvoting ur comment so .....😉 @prettydorky.

I like this one too. It encourages players to read other people’s comments. Thanks for the idea.

Two ideas

  1. Game called the first thing you did in the morning. People who do the same thing each morning will upvote... resteem and follow each other... The highest group of people who do the same things are the winners... Tedious? Maybe but a newbie is gotta newbie. Haha.

  2. Resteem the first post you see when you come one steemit and write a lovely post based on what you have resteemed... lesson learnt etc. This one is more like a challenge and not a contest though 😅

ON your first idea: A couple of weeks ago, I wanted to play the ‘never will I ever’ game. If you’re not familiar with that, it something alike your first idea. I took it off the table as because I was afraid it would be clnsidered to be comment upvote farming. It keeps playing in my head, though. And since I never received a reaction on my question anout the upvote farming, I assume it is worth a try.

For the second one, maybe not the first post, but the first post that interests you.
It’ll need some more thinking on how to work this out,
If you want, you can help me with that, and once the concept has been worked out, work on the post and judging with me. You’ll get a part of the post payout, in that case. If not - which I would fully understand, I will give you credit in the game posts for coming up with the idea :0)

Sweet! I'll definitely like to help.

That would be awesome, thanks!
I’m going to make a list of all the ideas given by people and I’m going to try to come up with a system/schedule. (I’m a very chaotic person, so I really have to find a way to make this work in a way that works for everyone)
I’ll give you a shoutout when I get everything noted down and I’m ready to go ;0)

Alright! Even in chaos there is a pattern so don't sweat it. Hope to hear from you soon. Will it be on discord or on steemit though?

If you are familiar with Discord, I ‘d prefer that.
Unless we make a post out of a brainstorm session. ;0)

Discord it is!

Well I was planning a game but since a trail that i use to use shutdown. Would be good if my game got another use:
Can modify it to fit newbie game:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@sames/a-game-benefiting-curation-trails-having-fun-and-earning-sbd

Thanks for sharing . It’s on my priority list for tomorrow morning

I’ve checked it out. Id I’m not mistaken is a kind of game like cryptoempire ued to play.
To be honest,I personally don’t understand such text-based games.
Sonif we decide to set it up, I’m going to need you to manage it.
I’m not sure whather it’s really fit for newbies, but then again, there are tons of people who like to play text-based games.
I’ve taken note. Thanks fot contributing.

How about a Mad Libs-type challenge? 🤔 (For anyone that doesn't know, it is a short story with multiple words removed, and in their place is what the word is supposed to be, like 'noun,' 'verb,' etc - they can get quite humorous.)

People can fill in the blanks in a post of their own, tagging #newbiegames - then the funniest one(s) win.

Sounds like a fun game. I’ll put it on my list, because it is definitely worth to try it out. I would just like to give it an extra twist, so members would have to engage with eachother. Something like having to make theirs the opposite one of the one of the previous player... it’s 4am and my brain stopped working. I’ll let you know if I can come up with something.
Thabks for sharing the idea

I have been thinking of running a contest for newbies but no sbd to sponsor it.

Title of contest Learn And Win
How It will work
I have done some posts to help newbies which has being of great help to me and also helping me to succeed on steemit.
So I intend helping newbies to succeed as well on the platform by making them read three old posts of mine so they can learn and here are the three posts

A DETAILED GUIDE TO HELP NEWBIE FROM MY ONE MONTH DEEP EXPERIENCE AND STUDY--PART 2

A DETAILED GUIDE TO HELP NEWBIE FROM MY ONE MONTH DEEP EXPERIENCE AND STUDY--PART 1

FOLLOW FOR FOLLOW, ANY USEFULNESS?

Now they have to read the three posts and then make a post of their own of not less than 400 words explaining what they learnt from the posts they read and what they have being doing that they discover it was wrong.
The contest to run every month so that those who participated in the last one must have gone beyond 40 Rep so that there will be fresh people to also take part in the contest the next month.
Am looking at 10sbd or less giveaway or #steembasicincome

Rules of the game
1 They must resteem the contest post
2 Upvote not necessary but they can still give it.
3 They must include the three posts links in their post.
4 Their reputation must fall within 25 to 40
5 post their link as a comment to the contest post.

That's a great idea.
Maybe you could come up with some alternative prize, like your 100% upvote on their next two posts, or a resteem. Or you can feature the winner and one of their posts in a curation post...
I'm actually thinking about doing a contest like that from my personal account (@implymike), in which I want people to go look for information in the FAQ...
I'm still thinking about a way to run in.
I'll brainstorm a bit about alternative prizes you can offer....

My 100% upvote is still $0.012, I will keep the idea in mind until I get the sbd to run the contest.

Thank you.

An idea I've been toying with for a week or so now is a Scavenger Hunt type game. Players need to hunt down posts that match a list of things - 1 post per item - and post a link back to the main comp. Players should also comment on the post they are sharing.

We could also add a twist that if someone has already "found" a post in the hunt then nobody else can use it.

Still working out how the engagement between players could work though.

I think it has already a lot of engagement in it: people have to go read other people’s articles. I should ask around who did the last scavenger hunt.

Maybe it can be turned into a sortbof ‘level-game’. By completing the first assignment, they get access to a second one, (or maybe all get one ‘key’) but also to a private discord channel where they need to find the meaning behind the key to be able to access the sevond level. In the Discord chat they can work together.

Just brainstorming here, I’ll give it some more thought tomorrow

I'd like to see an element where players engage with each other a bit as well. Perhaps have a team challenge which will encourage some collaboration

Even before this contest, I have been thinking anout tesm whallenges, so si definitely think this will be a good idea.

I’ll be taking note of every idea here, so we can keep on brainstorming to get them worked out in detail (maybe via DIiscord? ) but I haven’t got that figured out just yet,
I keep storming :0)

If I will join a game contest, it must be something that wont requires to much effort, no need to create or make anything. It must be a game where you can easily join in and can be participated with all the ages. It must be a game that when you entered, it is there to play. It must be a game where there is a chat box where you can talk to any player plus a discord channel for all the players. I like what does @steemplayroom have created, Anyone can check this link if you want to join https://steemit.com/steemgar/@steemplayroom/steemgar-game-1524698612405

Thanks. I agree that it shouldn’t take too much effort. Will check it out first thing tomorrow

I need some time to figure this out. I hope they still do games, so I can join one. As I understand correctly, they have an outside program set up. I don’t nnow how to code so that might be a chalenge.
I’ll probably have plenty of free time tomorrow, so I’ll check
Iy out.
Thanks for your contribution

I feel like I should say something here as perhaps some things are not clear. Going on how I feel about this, it seems like you are taking peoples ideas for contests/challenges to use them.... are you giving all that is earned from that post back to the people? or keeping some of it for yourself? Do these idea owners get a percentage on the payouts as it was their ideas in the first place? Will they be credited in the posts? Will you be working with them on creating that contest? I don't want to see this as a negative thing but it seems like a money grab to me. So please elaborate on this to help me see how it all works.

Hi @foxyspirit! I know your comment wasn’t for me, but I just read it and wanted to respond. If you know @simplymike, you know she’s not a greedy, selfish person. I’m certain she is more interested in starting a fun conversation about games! There’s nothing stopping anyone one of us from using all these ideas for ourselves. The more the merrier right? Cheers to games! 😃

No I do not know her. But you are right. I just want to make sure the intentions are well placed, it wouldn't be fun if it was to take advantage of people in any way. Looking out for the people is all :)

@davemccoy started @newbieresteemday and @newbiegames with the intention of creating a safe environment for newcomers to learn and grow with each other. But ultimately he wanted us to be able to carve out our own identity and niche on this platform and in this community, and the rule of thumb on Steemit seems to be that if you want to get anything done then you have to do it yourself. Contests seem to be a staple of the Steemit community and a simple enough to develop a following, so the idea is to provide people with ideas that they can run with and engage with other Steemians. @simplymike has stepped up to help continue with the work that @davemccoy started with newbiegames and there are lots thing going on behind the scenes involved, both on Discord and in other conversations that try to address the issues and concerns that you have. We would love to have people like yourself who are putting the interests of the community ahead of profiting from the system to join us and help out too but everyone has their own way of contributing. In the end we just want to make sure that people who add value to the community gains something out of it, and that everyone can get a helping hand when they are just starting out :)

Contests do seem to be a staple here. I think it's great. As long as things are done right and yes for having everyone contribute in their own way as they can. Contributing is what keeps Steemit going :)

Very well said,@plushzilla.
I couldn’t have done better :0)

You know that we know you have the best interests of the community :)

‘Both communities’... I want to get more involved with NRD again 😉

Loading...

Thats awesome. IM IN!! DILLY DILLY!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00