A Character's Death.

in #new6 years ago (edited)

Recently during one of my role-play chronicles (in which I'm the narrator) the decisions and actions from my players led to the destruction of an entire world (yes, a whole planet) which caused one of the biggest killstreaks that I`ve been able to personally see in a table role-play game, the things that happen in a role story are dictated by 3 main reasons, the players decide it, the narrator or the dice and the last ones are very given to say to you a big "Screw you, we'll do what we want" more than the players themselves who are on the game to see how much chaos they can cause in a fictional world.

For those people who don't know it, a table role-play game is based on interpreting a character of your choice dictating the actions and decisions of said character as if where your own, is like being on an interactive play, where the narrator makes the enviroment reactive to players, tries to set a goal or a story to follow and the players represent their their roles based on how they want to present them, either with personalities on the extreme opposite side of the players' or as similar to us as possible, the creativity dictates how far things can go in a role-play.

I comment about this because one of the things I've noticed through several years as a player is that there are narrators or GM/DM (Game masters/Dungeon Masters) who do the impossible so their characters don't die, for some reason they can't see one of their NPC's (Non player character) stops existing inside the world they have created, maybe because the story would stagnate if a key piece is not in-game anymore, maybe because of the emotional attachment to that character who he/she wrotte and polished through time, but something I was taught and I've been trying to do is that even when I can guide them, I just put the situation on motion, the rest is up the players and the events can't be arbitrary, "Because I say so" is not a valid reason and ruins the inmersion and realism of the games but also does not having a clear objective in a story.

I say this because among the characters who died recently while I narrated were many which I liked a lot and I made grow for a long time, either playing with them or writting and giving them as much personality and background as I could, one of them was a character I created about 8 years ago and played with a lot, he is no more and I can't make him magically reapear just because, but if he comes back it will be my players decision, that was a catalizer for the events to take another route that I didn't take into consideration (mainly because I didn't expect things to go to hell in that manner) and that adds a greater feeling of excitement to the development of the games, some of my players are already planning a way to bring back from the death a few and they might actually achieve it.

For now I just wanted to do a farewell honor to one of those characters who died in the War Room of the Hunters' Guild of Dunäe.

Sovereign Aaron Balantor Fyr
12/7/300 B.W - 14/13/859 A.W. 

You ruled well, you fought well, perhaps you lived well... It was a pleasure, Hero.

Ps: The draw is to give you an idea of how he looked, and yeah I kindda sketched him, hope you like it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jusuke! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @jusuke! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48