I don't know how, but i really need to ask for help.

in #new7 years ago (edited)

Hello all,

Im new here, and new to social internet sites, so forgive my clumsiness.

As a forward notice- every fiber of my being is screaming "shut up and take care of your own problems!". And, if possible i would. However, right now i cant even look myself in the face.

This is not the type of things i tell strangers, this isnt even the type of thing i say to family.
I do not ask for help. I'm the guy who always says "ill be fine". I am not fine.
I am on the brink of losing my ability to provide for my family. I am on the brink of losing my home.
I dont expect sympathy, i know many people have lost more than i stand to lose - and i accept it, it's my doing that got me here. And i own it.
I am not wealthy by any means however im still proud of the little i have to call home- a mobile home on 3/4 acre in northern wisconsin. We(my lady and our son) moved in after closing on a land contract almost three years ago. Its been a hell of a time getting going, and right when i thought i saw light at the end of the tunnel, it turned out to be catastrophic failure after failure due to my nature of trusting people.
I was told i would have 50-60k worth of work over the course of the first 2 years. Yeah- that didnt happen. Then the home we purchased turned out to be a money pit that previous tenants(it was a rental property) completely trashed. Im a carpenter by trade and am damn good at it, however with no work , i cant very well do much to improve things. To compound my grief, lately ive been getting 10-20 calls for estimates for work. Only to find that its friends of competitors burning my time while learning my billing rates. And now, not one-both of my trucks have broken down... I dont know how to look my wife in the face right now, my son is asking ME if I'm okay..
I dont even know what to say.

I know here on steemit, were supposed to remain positive and strong, but right now im falling apart.

I guess I'm just hoping this wave will break before i do. Any ideas? Any prayers? I'll take em.
Hell, even a good old fashioned slap I'd be okay with.
We might not know each other. We might not be friends , but im asking for help, of any you can spare.
Thanks people.

I forgot to say, all questions will be answered with complete honesty. And i am thankful for all the advice and kind words.

Sort:  

I do not even know what to answer. I did not have this situation in my life. But still I wish you good luck and optimism, because the bad also ends, but the good starts. Everything gonna be alright. We must wait.

Thank you , i know this too shall pass, as i believe. Its just hard when you for the first time cant pick your self up. Ive been through it all, and am a self made man, but his time im really worried for the family that trusts in me to provide for them. Even my gardens are being unduly abused by wildlife lately. When it rains it pours i guess.
But again, thank you.

I am very sorry to hear about your situation. In my life when I've found myself in over my head the best option is to cut your losses and move on. Looking a crisis head-on is the best way to deal with it in my opinion.

Evaluate your monthly expenses to review what you can reduce, rent for a bit while you get your business back up and running. Once things are stable begin to expand again.

My experience with being in over my head is to act like a trauma doc and stop the bleeding first.

Sending my best wishes.

Thats what i been doing. I managed to cut my homeowners insurance policy bill by 400 a year, and that will help. Its just getting established with the being the new people in a small town- moneys always tight, and newcomers arent always welcomed.
Thanks for the reply, and positive thoughts.
👍

Congratulations @hewhowaits! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hewhowaits! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92