Parenting and a Line Crossed

in #new6 years ago

Being an evil bitch must be my natural specialty.

For you, who don’t know I have a nine-year-old and she is my stepdaughter. She is my daughter regardless of biology. She went to some of my families for two weeks. I am usually in support of children seeing family whenever they can but after these two weeks, I am not as inclined too. When we went for a family event, a week into her being at my other families, she was rude and outright mean. She got disciplined and we let her finish out her visit.

10100.jpeg
10104.jpeg
We picked her up and went to Holiday World with my family. What I had heard was pretty normal and didn’t surprise me until I was told that my daughter was told she was mistreated. I do not let my child misbehave she is disciplined and she knows how to act.

4689.jpeg

My wife and I have been on the same page about discipline since we met. We have done very good at least in my opinion. She is a straight-A student and she is a teachers dream. Are we strict, we sure are. We don’t want her to turn out like a spoiled ungrateful brat. We want her to be the best she can be. So we have bedtimes, she does get yelled at when she does things bad, she has gotten popped on the butt and in the mouth.

I know that people frown on butt popping’s but it is effective plus it’s not like it is all the time that it happens. I think that in the last year she’s got popped on the butt maybe six times. Usually, it’s just a stern talking to or taking things away. In my opinion, those are not that bad of punishments.

When she got back I was joking and asked so you tell them how evil I am. She said no but pop said he don’t like the way you treat me. My only response was “excuse me”. I don’t usually care about peoples opinion on my parenting style, but when it comes from my family it pisses me off.

This has been bothering me pretty bad. I am not evil but I am very strict, I believe there is a certain way a child should behave. Doesn’t help that I am the main disciplinarian, I always try to be fair though. I have lived with my other family before and when we lived there I heard how awful and terrible I was on a daily. I am not upset that he has that opinion but I am upset that he said that to my nine years old.

In my opinion, he crossed a very big line. But what am I to do about it. The only thing I can do, we sat her down and explained that we are not mistreating her we are trying to make her turn out right. We told her that we are not trying to be mean we are trying to raise her correctly. I should not have to explain to my nine year old how I parent and why.

I am writing this because it might give people a look at what happens when other people or family members take their opinions and push it on a child. The parents are responsible for explaining to their children why they are not really being hurt. People if you have an opinion on how your sister, brother, son, daughter, uncle, cousin, mothers or fathers are parenting how about you take it to them and discuss it with them not the kids.

Sorry for the lack of pictures but I really don't have a lot for a post like this.

Sort:  

Congratulations @brichris! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16