Neo blockchain (many programming languages like C#, Java Python) vs Ethereum (Solidity)

in #neo7 years ago (edited)

U5dtNYy8rNVQnJVyNWPyPCtQbuw3rBG_1680x8400.png

Neo says it is more programmer friendly because it supports many programming languages like c#, Java, Python

image13.png

Let's take Java for example (for the sole reason I have a deeper understanding of it).

They're compiling Java into their own OP_CODEs. Not into Java bytecode. And it does not run in the Java VM but in the Neo VM as shown in the picture above.

The argument is that this saves the programmer time to learn Neo.

Having done projects in about 20 programming languages in my long life, I don't think this saves any significant time. Why? We spend the most time learning the IDE, runtime environments and especially libraries.

In the case of Neo, only the syntax of Java is used, not the Java compiler, not the Java libraries you love.

For a programmer, it takes half a day to get a good enough understanding of a new syntax to start writing basic code.
After this half day you get to the deeper points that must be different between the Java VM and the Neo VM.

And it creates the (security) nightmare of having to understand smart contracts in different programming languages.

So does it help to support many programming languages? Yes, because all that non programmers think this is an advantage to programmers and start investing in Neo.

I'd prefer learning a new language like Solidity with specific properties that are useful in a smart contract.

What confuses me Is the Interop Service in the Neo VM:

Can I create 24 forks of the Neo blockchain by writing a smart contract that creates a different hash depending on the time zone it is mined?

Sort:  

i heard china is going to base thier exchanges on neo , not on bitcoin.

In my understanding you can't base an exchange on neo or bitcoin. You have trading pairs. What is possible is that they allow only pairs neo <-> anything else.

If your claim was true (I don't know), it would mean that china thinks it can control neo. That would mean, neo is no decentralized blockchain as we know from bitcoin. It would mean Neo is something that has a central authority.

Nothing I really like to invest in or want to use.

Congratulations @gerd! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, gerd! I just resteemed your post!
I can also re-steem and upvote some of your other posts


Curious? Check out @resteembot's' introduction post
PS: If your reputation is lower than 30 re-blogging with @resteembot only costs 0.001 SBD

Hi, gerd! I just resteemed your post!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot.
If you want to know more about me, read my introduction post.
Good Luck!

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-09-22 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Congratulations @gerd! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71