Needlework Monday – Knitting with five knitting needles

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

Hi, my Steemit colleagues on hobby !!!

  Today is the #NeedleworkMonday!!! I finished my project - leggings.

IMG_20190112_130538_380.jpg

Now they are the same :)))

IMG_20190112_130435_080.jpg

This is not a difficult project at all, but I had to redo my work twice. At least I am proud of the fact that I was not too lazy to do it :))))
In my work I used 5 knitting needles.

IMG_20190112_130336_707.jpg

Unlike knitting on two knitting needles, in this method of knitting there are no edge loops - as knitting occurs in a circle. But when dialing loops, their number should be a multiple of 4. At first loops are gathered on two loops, but then are distributed on four. The first few knitting circles will not be very comfortable to knit because the needles with rows of loops are twisted together.

It is necessary to suffer and then knitting will already keep the shape and work will be much easier. Our loops are on four knitting needles, we work with a free fifth knitting needle.

IMG_20190106_152303_305.jpg

During work, it is important to arrange the other three knitting needles so that they do not interfere with your knitting process.

IMG_20190106_225647_703.jpg

IMG_20190106_152322_192.jpg

So knitting goes in a circle, it is important to note on the canvas where was the beginning. I always have a small tail made of yarn when starting the initial set of loops, and I usually focus on this.

IMG_20190106_152326_941.jpg

Leggings can be made the same at the top and bottom. But I wanted the lower part of them to fit snugly to the leg. Therefore, I had to make the addition of loops in the process of knitting. I added 1 loop several times on each knitting needle. That is, for one knitting circle, we get 4 additional loops. Since leggings have a 2 × 2 elastic band at the top and bottom,...

IMG_20181228_174624_821.jpg

IMG_20181228_174621_944.jpg

...it was important for me to make sure that the number of loops remained a multiple of 4 so that the gum pattern did not get off.
I have already told that while knitting the second leggings, I ran out of brown yarn. For this project, I decided to use the remnants of different balls, so it is not surprising. Once again I reviewed the yarn that I have and, to great joy, I found one skein of yarn, very similar in color to the former.

IMG_20190106_152331_474.jpg

After the end of the work, it remains only to work with the tails of the yarn - this is certainly not very interesting and takes a lot of time, but nothing can be done :)
The cold period of the year is still in full swing even in Israel, so I’m sure that I’ll have time to wear them :)

If you decide to try to knitt leggings, I’m sure you can do it and you’ll get a lot of fun !!!


I wish you creative inspiration and look forward to your work !!!

@tali72

#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Five needles sure looks daunting! But they look great.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks!!!! :)

Great work! You can't even tell that you used another color with the brown.
When I use DPNs, I always put point caps over the ends I'm not working so the stitches don't fall off. It's a bit of a pain to switch them around, but less of a pain than picking up dropped stitches, lol.

hee hee :))) that's for sure! when the loops slide off it's unpleasant :))))

Good job; they look very neat, @tali72.

Thank you!

I admire your determination and talent. I am not ready for 5 needles yet. Your work looks amazing.

Thank you very much!!! but it's not at all difficult. it is much easier than knitting jacquard pattern

Congratulations @tali72! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!
Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the needlework community!

NWMlogo.jpg

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

Thank you very much!!!!!

Your finished leggings look great! I can’t begin to understand how you did this with five knitting needles, I can barely handle two. Wow! This is a very interesting technique. I’m glad you shared and showed us some pictures! 😉

Now I can say Congratulations on your finished project!! 😄

thank you very much my dear !!!! now yes, I finished it :))) although not to the end: I still struggle with the yarn tails on the wrong side :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60732.86
ETH 2906.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57