Weaving a Mandala

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

Kopie von titel pinterest blog.png


Today is Whitsun day (Pfingsten in German) so I have a little holiday. My mother visited with friends a nearby monastery to attend the service, which was held outside. And for us – being Protestant – it is always impressing to observe all the rituals and elaborate garments (the Bishop of the next big town was visiting) of a catholic service.

Kopie von Kopie von Soziale Medien – Design ohne Titel(3).png
You noticed the beer truck? This is Germany, church service and beer :-DDD

So, today I write about a needlework which is a bit more contemplative and perhaps appropriate for such a day:

Weaving a mandala

I had a stressful week with many visits at the hospital and often grief has stopped me from being productive and coordinated. My head was (and is) full of sewing projects I want to try out, but I couldn’t concentrate enough to choose one over the other. With knitting it was the same: I hopped from project to project accomplishing only some meagre stitches. Therefore, I decided to put all this away and try something fresh. I stumbled over a weaving kit at a bargain shop and thought this the perfect project to get my head into stillness….
Yeah, so I thought :-D

Kopie von 1800px × 768px – Design ohne Titel(3).png


The kit consists of a wooden frame and some raw wool and acrylic yarns. It has no explanation, but the cover photo shows an example of the finished mandala, so I had no problem to set this weaving loom up.
I decided to follow the example exactly and started with the darker blue for the centre. After two rounds of fickle yarn-under and yarn-over I was sure that this loom is not a device for meditation, but a devilish test invented by aliens to examine humankind’s patience. Result: Humankind has no patience. And with humankind I mean me 😂😂😂

Kopie von 1800px × 768px – Design ohne Titel(4).png


But I persisted and grabbed this fluffy pastel blue yarn and was again thrown back. It wasn’t enough. Or better, the cover photo showed a voluminous yarn, but the thingy I held in my hands was considerable thinner. And it got even thinner by weaving it and pulling (perhaps I overdid it). My day was done, and the meditative mood crawled defeated out of my kitchen.

Kopie von 1800px × 768px – Design ohne Titel(5).png


Next day same story only I used the thick beige yarn. This yarn came in one thread but was shown on several rounds on the cover photo. No idea how this small amount of the beige yarn could suffice to work the mandala on the cover photo… Spoiler: it did not.
This process dragged out over the whole week and only today, on #needleworkmonday I finished the mandala.
My summary is, I love how the mandala looks on the cover. Loved the thick and fluffy wool and I was a bit disappointed that I could not reproduce it. Also, weaving does not calm me down – oh no – if I ever want to speed up my heart rate, I will grab the next mandala weaving kit.
And this – please don’t laugh – could happen faster as I originally thought 😆 I decorated the mandala at our entrance and I definitely need three more of them, to create a nice overall look.

20190610_083613641_iOS.jpg


I hope you all had a nice week and found time to relax 💕

PS: I cheated and bought a second kit to finish my mandala.


Thank you @crosheille for initiating and @muscara, @shanibeer, @marblely for hosting the #needleworkmonday. If you want to see more beautiful projects with yarn, fabric and most of all needles, follow @needleworkmonday. Or even better grab your needles and keyboard and join the #needleworkmonday community.

needleworkmonday.png


Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

That is lovely work @neumannsalva! And I love the idea of church and beer lol

Thank you to @vibesforlife for featuring your post in her Pay It Forward Curation Contest entry 😊


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank youuuuu It is so nice that you have chosen my post!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

OHHHH again such a yummy cake! Thank you so much for your work!

Your piece looks so lovely!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you 🙏 I am a big fan of pastel colours.

If you focus on the center of the mandala, the bit of fuzziness around the edges makes it look like it is spinning/moving.

Oh noooooooo you are right! Now I can see it too. Perhaps I will be able to hypnotise people before they come into our flat 😂

It could be worth trying. :)

aaah, who would have thought that this was a stressy thing, because it looks so calm and peaceful and full with soft vibes.... i guess this is why we can't judge a book by its cover, so to speak XD

i hope you will have a better week ahead and that you will find a breather for yourself :)

Yes, I was surprised too. I was deceived by the pastel and the fluffy yarn 🤣 But it is absolutely possible, that this mandala will calm everybody else down and that I am avers to weaving :-DDD I guess I am much more patient in garment making than with home decor....
And thank you so much for the kind wishes - I can really use them!
💕💕🌈

Pfingsten ist Pentecost auf Englisch, ja?

Yes I think so, but Leo dictionary told me Pentekoste isn’t used... I have never heard the name „whitsunday“ before therefore I have written down the German name too... I was too unsure

Pentecost is what I have always called it as a Baptist. Whitsun may be more catholic or Anglican terminology. The coming of the Holy Spirit like tongues of flame, no matter what we call it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Goodness, it should have a warning on the packet!
It looks very pretty, though 😍

A warning for me... I am not sure if somebody else would have been so impatient 🤪 I guess I am only patient if making clothes (ok, honestly I am never patient, it’s a question of how impatient...)

Haha, I am useless at those kits! I used to have so many - batik, candle-making, weaving - I gave them all to charity shops when I moved. 🙊🙈🙉

Thank youuuuu 🙏😁- now I will also blame the kit 😂 I am not responsible. The kit was invented to test my nerves 🤪

And lovely mandala!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is so pretty, I am in love with this mandala, the colors are breathtaking and angel like.

Uhhh thank you so much! I am also a big fan of these soft pastel colors. I have a second kit with a slightly different color scheme (more beige, brown pink) When I have time I will try this again.

Oh yeah, the beige and brown pink will give it a bit girly pastel look i guess. Would look forward to it if you share in future :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48