The unexcited knitting progress post

Nothing exciting on the knitting front to announce… My green and very tight vintage sweater is finished and waiting for someone who will sew in the last yarn ends. The yellow sweater is currently sleeping in a box, because the ‘in-the-round-knitting’ hurts my fingers … no idea why. I hope this will go away, so I can finish the sweater. And one stripy cardigan is waiting for a second sleeve :-DD

Design ohne Titel(104).png


But my main project should be something completely different – sigh – and I am stalling avoiding procrastinating: I should knit/crochet the fiber part of another sculpture which must be ready in the next weeks and I should also start the clay part of yet another artwork. They will be a competition entry (together with the mask you already know) with a deadline on September 30. But as I am not too convinced I will be chosen for the exhibition my motivation is low (shame on me)

Design ohne Titel(105).png


Therefore I answered my to do list with the prudent crafters solution: I started a new cardigan :-DDD To have a reasonable excuse I did not start another top-down cardigan but I tried myself on a for me new construction. A bottom up cardigan with separate front and backs and set-in sleeves. My selected object of distraction is the Rönn cardigan from the Weststrand Sisters. You must visit their ravlery account, they have sooooo beautiful designs and I also love their photos.

Design ohne Titel(108).png


The Rönn cardigan is a boxy design with little dots (not sure if they are called like this in knitting). Their construction of these dots is similar as I would do them in crochet, so not too hard for me :-D On the knit row there are worked 5 stitches alternately into the stitch on your needles and into the stitch beneath it. To get visible bubbles, the 5 stitches must be very loose – no problem for me as I am Misses loose knitter :-D

Design ohne Titel(106).png


I had the perfect yarn for this project already in my stash, so there was no delay in my distraction. After swatching I decided on the second size and this was my first mistake…. But as you now me, I am stubborn and although I found the amount of yarn immense which went into this jacket I carried on, and on, and on… Up to the point when I went out with Silvi to knit in the sun and she asked if the cardigan wasn’t a tad big!? The sun was shining, we had some ice-cream (with a side dish of wasps) and I embraced the idea to unravel the sweater.

Design ohne Titel(107).png


Nevertheless, I was miffed and wrecked my anger out on the actually lovely burnt orange eco yarn (Wolle Traub). I immediately swatched with another stash yarn, a green tweed yarn I bought from a shop liquidation. But common sense won, and I simply started anew in a smaller size but with the same orange yarn. So, after all this writing I am still on the body of the cardigan and have no idea if this different way of knitting a sweater will lead to a fitting garment. But as you see I developed an highly elaborate distraction strategy for avoiding work :-DDD

Design ohne Titel(110).png


As so often thanks to Silvia you can see me unravelling the cardigan, because she made the photos :-D

Thank you also @crosheille and @crystalize for hosting the #needleworkmonday. If you want to see more beautiful projects with yarn, fabric and most of all needles follow @needleworkmonday.

needleworkmonday.png


Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

Silvia is very patient, a lovely friend, you are like two fairy queens.

I directly relayed it to her <3 <3 (and I try constantly to convince to make a steemit account, but she does not like to write ... sigh)

Unraveling is always painful but you feel better afterwards - like lancing a boil ;)

I'm looking forward to seeing the cardigan, lovely orange color of the yarn and it looks so soft!

sadly scratchy like hell :-DDD I bought the yarn on ebay in different colours. It is beautiful and vibrant (and all ecological), but as it is pure sheep wool... but I am not too sensible with scratchy things on my skin :-D The shop is sadly closed, because the owner was very ill.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Nothing exciting on the knitting front to announce..

All the pieces you show are exciting @neumannsalva!!! I loveee all your WIP pieces especially the pinkish looking cardigan and the orange cardigan with little dots.
Sorry about the unravelling but yah, I do agree with @muscara, there is a sense of happiness after you unravel :) compared to if you continue knitting, knowing it is wrongggg. And hope you get chosen for the exhibition! I know, sometimes you just need to have the mood to do it, I'm sure it will come, like the day before the dateline :D

Uhhh thank you <3
The pink/stripey cardigan is a payed for pattern from knitting vortex https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/layercake and so far it fits very nice. I am looking forward to finishing it. But I am distracted by the orange dot cardigan :-DDD... yesterday I divided fronts and back and I am still very curious if it will fit (cross your fingers)
And with the exhibition, I made another clay piece yesterday (your support helped) it is now drying out :-)

I do not know how to knit! But, appreciate all Knitters work. I like that burnt orange you are making, pretty piece...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you and I love the orange color too, hopefully it will fit when I am finished :-DDD

I love the orange colour yarn, but if it's scratchy ... ouch !
Some people prefer bamboo knitting needles when their hands ache, @neumannsalva.

I'm looking forward to seeing more of that clay project too :)

Thank you for the tip, but i think it is the in-the-round knitting which is the problem. I normally knit combination style, but you cannot do this in the round. In the round I have to knit the 'normal' western style and this seems to stress my hands much more
And with the clay project: I BROKE A FINGER OF MY LAST SCULPTURE.....AHHHHH I hope I can glue it back (I could hit myself, I was to carelss while handling it)

I agree with @marblely...all the pieces are exciting!! At least you have plenty to keep you busy! I laughed at

waiting for someone who will sew in the last yarn ends

Lol! I hope you find that someone!

I love those sculpted hands! I’m even more excited to see your art piece all put together. I don’t see why you wouldn’t get chosen...I sure hope you do!

I love the dot effect on the cardigan, such a pretty Fall color too. I’m glad you stopped before you went too far along. I admit I’m not good about checking the gauge...I just always hope it fits.

What a great friend she is~ 😊

I found her!!! @jicrochet just wrote in the comment she likes to weave in yarnends 😆😆 (@jicrochet I am still joking)
And with the clay hands... I broke the last one (AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH) I was not careful enough and the pinky finger broke, I so hope I can glue it back.
And with the cardigan: In crochet I did not swatch either, it is so much more reliable sizewise (in my opinion), but knitting behaves strange... Once it is of the needles it is often much bigger than I expected.
And Silvia is really a good friend... I am right now preapring a present for her, her birthday is on friday. But I do not dare to write what i will gift her, in fear she reads it :-DDD

Oh no! 🤭 Please tell me you were able to glue it back and it looks okay...!

Oh wow that’s good to know about knitting, I’ll keep that in mind that the work appears bigger in the end.

Oh how sweet! Well maybe you can tell us after she gets it!!!! 😁😆

I especially like the combination of the dark green and the pale blue.

Yes, it is lovely, istn't it??? I first thought the combination strange, but my mother encouraged me to try it out and now I love it

I think the pieces you haven't finished are beautiful. Besides, weaving is fun, I also have a lot of unfinished projects, I know I will complete them, I just don't think I have enough time for all the projects I want to create.

Play that you have fun, if you don't get chosen, it doesn't matter, the important thing is the fun.

Finally, changing the strategy for the elaboration of a piece is part of learning and improving practices. I'm sure it'll look great on you.

Thank you for the complement!!! But weaving is fun? Really ....? I have to admit with sewing on buttons weaving in the ends is my most unloved part of knitting/crocheting :-DDD Perhaps I can send you my all my half finished projects and you weave in the yarnends :-D (i am joking)
And with the exhibition you are right, it should be fun to enter such a competition, but it is also financially important, so the fun is no longer so big.

Congratulations @neumannsalva! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to Simone (neumannsalva)! This bot is managed by @KiwiBot and run by @rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of @KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68