The drama of sewing a woven fabric skirt - needleworkmonday

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I’m back and I am back with a bang and a revelation: I cannot sew without a pattern.

pinterest steemit titelbild(4).png


Or wait, I will formulate it a bit different: I cannot sew garments I can wear without instantly crying because of their gruesome form and fit, without a real pattern.
Look at these photos and understand:

Kopie von Kopie von Kopie von 1800px × 768px – Design ohne Titel.png


For a long time now, I dream of a linen midi skirt with pleads or gathers and a buttoned front.

Kopie von Kopie von Kopie von 1800px × 768px – Design ohne Titel(2).png
This is a bought skirt I really would like to duplicate

There are several patterns from indi brands that would somehow fit the bill. But they all are not exactly like the skirt in my head. There is for example the Gypsum skirt from sew liberated or its newer sister skirt Estuary. Both skirts have an elastic waistline, which perhaps it super comfy but I fear does not look neat or tailored. Very similar to the Estuary skirt is the Desdemona skirt from sew me something, but it has no elastic in the waist. Additionally, you get a second version of the skirt with inverted pleads instead of the gathers.

Also, I am more interested in a skirt with pleads than a gathered version. I have the A beginner’s guide to making skirts book by Wendy Ward at home and almost forgot about this (because I made a a-line skirt from this book and it did not fit well). But because of the autumnal weather my desire to have this special midi skirt aroused again, I looked into it and saw the Brighton skirt. This is a skirt with pleads and a buttoned front. But – oh sigh – its pleads are on a strange position (look at the photos of the front) and the sewn versions I found on the internet look very strange fit wise.

As you see, there are several pattern options I could buy, but I am afraid that this is ill spent money; that the gathers or pleads do not flatter my figure or that it is too difficult to adapt the pattern to my liking. Therefore I decided to try out a free DIY improvisation pattern for this kind of skirt (the horrible result you already could admire in the first photos).

Design ohne Titel(3).png


To be sure, I am to be blamed for the disastrous skirtmonster and not the beautiful website. The explanation was precise and easy to understand, and probable would have worked out better, if I would have used the right amount of fabric…. But no, I wanted to make this wearable muslin from a rescued fabric. I unpicked an old project (a dress that did not fit in the least) and rescued four wide rectangles – or so I thought. In reality two of the ‚rectangles‘ were parts of the former a-line skirt of the dress and therefore no rectangles at all. No problem I thought and preceded with the for me completely new front button band. This went well up to the moment I noticed, that both parts of the skirt were not equally wide…. And that I had sewn one of the button band upsides down, so that the smaller part of the skirt would be at the bottom (oh ohohooooo – it hurts writing this down). But this did not deter me. I found it a good idea to use left over scraps to widen the front parts of the skirt: I sewed on big triangle pieces of fabric and so modified the fronts of the skirt into rectangles (not sure, if you understood what I did… if not, no problem, because id did not work :-DDD).

Be greedy buy everything(2).png


Now I had two fronts, and a wide back and a waistband – what could go wrong?? Maybe I should have hesitated when I noticed, that back and fronts did not have the same length? Should I have stopped when I could not make even pleads (because the fronts were still not equally wide)? Nooooo, absolutely not. It’s always the best course of action to simply fumble everything together and then sew.

Arghh… please know, I can do things planned and focused, apparently only in sewing or knitting I get carried away and do weirded things, very weird things. So, I may present you my pleated buttoned front skirt, with a button band which is on one front ok, but on the other front on the left side, a skirt which is on the right side shorter than on the left and with pleats which are not all sewn in …
The only viable course of action left was: RIPPPPPPPPINNG

Ripping.png


But I was not finished with my creations. If pleats do not work, I concluded, then perhaps gathers would be a fine idea… Thought and done. I unpicked the skirt, eliminated the weird triangle pieces of fabric, layered the false sewn buttoned front as the not visible front, then gathered the fabric and reattached the waistband – wow. Still sh**. I did not think it possible, but now the skirt looks even uglier.

Kopie von Kopie von Kopie von 1800px × 768px – Design ohne Titel(1).png


I am unsure which lesson I learned, perhaps:
Never sew skirts in woven fabrics?
Never sew skirts without a bought pattern that is tested to the extremes?
That I do not find gatherers flattering on my frame?
Or that I finally should commit to sewing lessons…..?


Feel free to lie unashamedly in the comments :-DDDD


Thank you @crosheille for initiating and @muscara, @shanibeer, @marblely for hosting the #needleworkmonday. If you want to see more beautiful projects with yarn, fabric and most of all needles, follow @needleworkmonday. Or even better grab your needles and keyboard and join the #needleworkmonday community.


needleworkmonday.png


neumannsalva - Kopie.png

Sort:  

See... this is why I don't wear skirts. 😁

Such a lot of frustration in one post. But it sounds like you learned a lot.
Good job, keep on crafting!

If I only would learn something!!!!! I feel like trying the sh***y skirts repeatedly and I cannot find a pattern which fits me, or better: a pattern I can sew into something which fits me.
Yesterday I met with my mother and she took my measurements, this led to a highly funny afternoon: I compared my measurements too the German standard measurements/sizes and either she made mistakes in measuring or I have a really strange form... my neck measurement would be size 32 according to the list, my bust 42, my length of upper body (front) is even shorter than size 32!??? and my shoulders width would be size 60. Really? :-DDDD
We will see, if these measurements will help me in sewing things which fit better....

Oh and I wear skirts, because RTW trousers seldom fit me...

@neumannsalva You have received a 100% upvote from @steemguardian because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Thank you for the upvote!!!!

So schön kann das Leben als Steemit Rentner sein ;-) Ein !BEER und 6 Trendotoken für Dich !trdo vom rentenbot

Congratulations @rentenbot, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @neumannsalva!
@neumannsalva got 6 TRDO & @rentenbot got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you @rentenbot and @trendotoken for your support <3

Congratulations @a1-shroom-spores, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @neumannsalva!
@neumannsalva got 6 TRDO & @a1-shroom-spores got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I do not have any advice on sewing clothes as I have not done this since I made a costume in middle school. But I can wish you good luck in your endeavors.

Don’t be too modest - I remember the sash! This counts as a garment :-) Nevertheless I appreciate the luck, this will help fight the woven fabric 😁

Ah yes, the sash. I had forgotten about that. I should probably get them finished. :)

You really made me laugh with the beginning of this publication ... and with the end too.
Recommendation: do not choose the profession of seamstress. hahahaha
Best regards @neumannsalva, you seem like a funny person who never gives up before a woven fabric skirt

Yes - sigh - I guess this field of expertise is not mine to conquer 😂😂 Very shortly I pondered to write a comedy show for the crafting scene, so I could make money with all my strange sewing or knitting fails. But then... I simply want this skirt to look good on me 😂😂😂 So, I will gather all my patience and unstitch it another time (cross your fingers)
Thank you so much for reading and commenting and moreover: to not let the woven fabric win!

Hello! A pleasure ♡

Hey friend, your personality is beautiful and gives a lot of energy just by seeing you! I love you, you are a perfect figure of kindness and happiness :)

Thank you so much for your uplifting comment. I hope I really am this beautiful person you see in me - but I will try my best to be. 💕🌈

Overall I like the color and style of your red skirt :) :) Perfect autumn color & style!

If I were in your town, I would like to try to copy the yellow orange skirt without breaking it :) Making good even gather for skirt is challenging ... still I'm on my way to practice it. You see it's not even; more on right side. And I didn't like those too much close to under arms.

One thing now I do is to divide waist in 8-16 parts and make gather separately to make it even. It somehow works well.

I would like to see how it's done in a factory :)

Yes, I'd do it like that, too. Like you do in knitting with increases/decreases - you divide it into parts to distribute it evenly.

You do this in knitting ???!? 😂😂 (only joking)

Ahhhh we need beaming invented!!! I really would like you to visit. I am thinking about investing in sewing lessons, because I notice that there are so many technical things I simply don’t know. It’s all guesswork on my side. The hint with the divided gathered is a good one. When I feel patient enough I will open the waistband again and try this method out. I also think I have too much gathers/too much fabric ....
And your dress still looks fine to me. Your gatherers seem to lay more flat than mine (did you press it ?). THe slightly uneven distribution is not so easy visible (for me) on the photo, perhaps because of the dark fabric. But gatherers under the armpit would also not be to my liking. But I already saw you remodelled this pattern :-D
Thank you for the gather-technique tip (now I need patience 🤪🤪🤪)

Hi neumannsalva,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much!!!!! This is amazing, I always feel so supported and valued through your amazing curation work. 🌈💕🌈💕🌈

Good to have you back @neumannsalva! We've got a place for you where you can share all you crafts and specialties.

Without further ado, I welcome you to Build-it.

Build-it is a new tribe on the steem blockchain that serves as a central hub for DIY and How-to's contents on steemit. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY artcle are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. You'll get rewarded with BUILD tokens, which can also be exchanged for steem on steem-engine when you use any of the recommended tags as well as posting via our website.

Have a question? Join us on Discord and telegram

Thank you for letting me know, I am sadly not very informed in regard to tribes... I will look at your account /website and let the other needleworkes know :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63