The cutting of the dreadful dress

I did it! And no, I am not Britney Spears and shaved my head or played with my lover’s emotions, which is the context of her song as I learned while googling for this post… Perhaps I should have been clearer and written ‘Ups I did it again’ but this would have been a lie. It’s a first for me – I gorily successfully altered my mother’s dress :-D

the cutting of the dreadful dress.png


You all know this dreadful dress (whoa unintended alliteration) was waiting for my help for two weeks now, but I was stalling the surgery, because of my underdeveloped sewing skills. But know: all went well.

Design ohne Titel(95).png


The first step was the creepiest step, I had to cut the elastic out of the dress. Which meant I had to cut the dress in two. I wanted to this with a rotary cutter (which I bought at a coffee shop – strange or?) but the fabric was so stretchy and uneven it did not work out. So, I used scissors, and this was okayish. As you can see on the photos, the fabric was sewn slanting to one side and the pattern did not match. This I could not help.

Design ohne Titel(96).png


The next step was to recognise @fiberfrau prediction, that the lower part of the dress will be wider than the upper part.
I made two darts into the back of the lower part to accommodate its bigger width. Sadly, I followed my instinct to guess the dart width, which led to pinning this several times… At least I pinned both parts together and sewed (while sweating profoundly).
Last step delivering the dress to my mother and waiting for her reaction… which was surprisingly: it fits. And better than before, because of the darts (her words - perhaps because she is generally always very supporting and lovely <3)

Design ohne Titel(97).png


As I have no photo with her in the dress, I post two older creations I made for her: a crocheted jacket and a knitted T-shirt. And as you can see, my mother also likes to make fun on photos. We re-enacted Michelangelo’s creation of Adam :-DDD

Thank you all for your helpful and encouraging comments <3 and thank you to @crosheille and @crystalize for curating #needleworkmonday
needleworkmonday.png

Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

I know the feeling when you start to cut - pondering again and again whether you thought about everything etc. Afterwards I was always exhausted as if I've had done some hard labour ;)

It's a lovely dress now, I hope your mother will wear it with pride and love.

Absolutely, you describe the process very well. I constantly thought I have made a mistake and should have cutted on another position or or or.... I am so glad this is finished :-D And i am doubly happy the dress fits now <3

wow !!!! your mom looks gorgeous !!!!! I would have thought that this is your friend, not your mother! :) I really liked the jacket that you crocheted for her - your mother is very elegant in it. hurray hurray hurray !!!!!! you made it!!!!! you made a dress !!!! I congratulate you!!!!!

I directly relayed your complements to my mother <3 <3 Thank you so much. But with the jacke - sigh. The pattern is from a book which looks super lovely but the pattern was full of mistakes. I did not researched it on ravelry beforehand, then i would have seen, that the pattern is not ok. So many complaints from other people... I hade to invent the sleeves myself, because the directions in the book were totally confused and would have led to huge and super long sleeves.
But now the cardigan is ok and wearable:-D Thank you so much for your encouraging and lovely comment <3

Good job of finding the mistakes in a pattern and inventing a way to make it work!

Congratulations @neumannsalva! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

This is wonderful! Thank you for choosing my post and thank you for your work <3

Absolutely!

Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the #NeedleWorkMonday community!

Looks like things turned out really nicely, good work.

Thank you :-D It was very exciting for me, as I never altered a dress before and I was so afraid to destroy it

Great job for the dress @neumannsalva! Your mama is certainly happy about it. And I see, you may inherited the photo shooting skill from her :)

Absolutely :-DD I have choosen very conservative photos of her, I tell you there are others :-DDDD But she is not near me right now and cannot decide which she wants online, so I went with these more "nice" pictures
And thank you so much for the compliment <3

Oh my gosh at first I was scared that you ate something that reacted to your face lol!
But I'm glad that it's only just you proclaiming happily about your great sewing skills, and your mom likes it, double joy, she looks so cool one the cardigan and blouse you made and yes, I see where you get your knack for making fun in pictures from lol. She looks so pretty. Happy Needleworkmonday

Nooooo its the blood of the dress I surgically cut open on my floor :-DDD I could not resist... I had this old fake blood from carneval and thought I make the drama of the dress-cutting more visible. Funnily, the blood was perhaps too old, but I could not wash it away properly (I had a pink face afterwards)
And thank you for the praise :-D I also love the cardigan, but the bought pattern was not good, it was full of mistakes. I should have researched better, because on ravelry many people complain about the many mistakes of this cardigan pattern. But nevertheless I could fumble it and my mother like it.
I will relay your compliments to her <3

Thank you... I was really frightened to destroy it :-DDD

Yay Congratulations to you on your success!! What a great accomplishment! Your mom looks lovely in her needlework garments!! Now we all know where you get your fun and creative photo ideas from!! 😉

Thanks for sharing for #NeedleWorkMonday!

I directly realyed your compliments to her <3 And she was really happy to get the dress back with a better fit. It is not so easy to buy good fitting clothes for someone who is not so slim. Everything seems to be made for women with size 38 ( I think US size 12)

Ah, you have been very brave with a lovely outcome 😊. Hope you were pleased with it. Lovely pictures of your mum, too!

I thought it was ok, but it could have gone faster, if I had not guessed the darts, but calculated :-DDD And as it fits my mother I am at ease (with this project) And I will tell her, that you liked the photos <3

This comment from raydonovan is phishing spam DO NOT REPLY links to a phishing site are hidden in the reply fields.

Thank you!!! I was very irritated by this strange comment from raydonovan...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48