You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sewing the Stella Sweater

Thank youuuuu🙏💕🌈 And you’re right, it is very comfortable (one reason why I made the waistband wider :-D) And naturally you are right, but when I am alone with my brain it often comes up with very criticising thoughts, like ‚I should learn faster in sewing‘ ‚I should try out new techniques‘ and so on.
But I love your ‚sew be it‘ I will follow your lead.
And with the neckline, I work it exactly like a waistband (only that I do not make the waistband smaller) For a neckband made of jersey i make it smaller than the neckopening. I measure the neckopening and multiply it with 0,8 or when super stretchy 0,7.
Now I sew a ring of fabric, fold it lengthwise in half and iron it. I mark four points for the middle of the back and front and the sides. Then I have the sweater with the right side showing and I pull the neckband with the open side upwards over it. I stretch the neckband to fit over the neckopening and pin it. (This step I find fiddly) Next is sewing it with a zigzag stitch and then folding it into the final position. If it is ok, then I will sew it again on the right side with a straight stitch to keep the inner seem flat.
This explaination is perhaps not very helpful. But I will try to send you some photos of my sweater‘s neckline on discord (the neckline is stilling not done) maybe this helps.
By the way, I am afraid of sewing the cuffs of the sleeves 😂😂 I know it works the same as waistband and neckline, but it is so small....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38