How to sew a coat while ruling the world

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I am the master of the universe, the queen of winter, cold and snow. I rule the rain and clouds and will walk upon your shivers. The frost is helpless in the face of my woolen empire. My faithful minions – Scissors, Thread and The Machine – are eager for the next adventure. With their flashing steel they cut the fabric of time. Machines needle will defend me against the forces of nature. And Thread will clad me in an indestructible armor.

pinterest steemit titelbild(8).png


Not sure if I could have exaggerated more… wait… no, I don’t think I could :-D

So, I am back to earth and will reveal the reason of my modest bragging. I have sewn a coat. Yes, me who could not make the easiest skirt of the world work for her. I have honestly made a woolen coat which fits me well enough to be worn in public. I guess one component of my success was the stretchy boiled wool fabric which is much more forgiving than woven fabric (yes, woven fabric, I am speaking of you and your betrayal) and the other is a new book I could not resist to buy.
It is Yuko Katayama, Mein Lieblings-Mantel selbstgenäht from Stiebner. This translates roughly into „Sewing my beloved coat“. Sadly, for all English readers, the book is till now only published in German and Japanese. But as most Japanese sewing books, I guess with a bit of experience you do not need the text and the pictures are enough.

Ripping(1).png


Before I jump into a short review, I must tell you that nobody bought me the book, and sadly nobody pays me to write my opinion (hey there Stiebner publishing house, I am not disinclined to get paid with money, fame or world domination). But I highly recommended this lovely book, if you are in search of a handmade coat or jacket. The book offers 5 different styles of coats – drop shoulder, raglan sleeves, set in sleeves, set in sleeves with a high sleeve head and kimono-style sleeves. Katayama does not stop here, but also presents several variations: There are options for collars, pockets, length-variations, coats with lining or without etc. All in all, 18 different coats are presented with textual and pictorial explanations, but if you are adventurous you could create many more different styles. All used techniques are explained. For example, how to sew a bound buttonhole or how the lining is attached to the inside of the coat. Some of the techniques are backed up by short videos you can access with your phone or tablet (I haven’t tried this out so far).

Kopie von Kopie von Soziale Medien – Design ohne Titel(16).png


The book is originally written in Japanese and perhaps also for the Japanese market, so the sizes are smaller than the European sizes. We are presented with 4 sizes (S-XL) which are tailored for 1,64 cm height (which is exactly my height 🎉). Chest measurements starts with 78 cm (S) and reach up to 90 cm (XL). But the finished measurements of the coats are slightly oversized, so that someone bigger than XL can also use the patterns (I am talking about myself 😄). Annoyingly the raglan and the kimono-sleeve pattern are designed smaller than the other coats. And guess which are the patterns I want to try out? SIGH! The kimono-sleeve coat has a finished bust measurement of 112 and the raglan coat of 111,5 cm. I have chosen the raglan coat without lining, so I had to do a bit of thinking and resizing. The publisher offers a tutorial to modify the pattern sizes on the website, but although I honor the effort, the tutorial is not very profound. For example, there is no advice how to alter the sleeve width or armhole height and I never tried this for a raglan sleeve.

Kopie von Kopie von 1800px × 768px – Design ohne Titel(8).png


After grumbling for a day, I decided to simply draw the whole pattern one size bigger. As the pattern is layered I could orientate my resizing at the existing distances between the smaller sizes. In hindsight this was not necessary, the coat would have been big enough in XL 😂 With my altered sizing my finished coat now has a bust measurement of 120 cm and the hip width is 130 cm (all measurements taken when its closed).
The fabric I used is a kind of tweedy boiled wool with a lot of stretch. The fabric is perfect for such a lazy and impatient sewist like me –it does not fray and it molds itself around my curves.

Kopie von Kopie von 1800px × 768px – Design ohne Titel(9).png


I cut out all parts of the coat and added the seam allowance, as it is not included in the paper pattern. I decided to make the rounded collar and to use a patch pocket. For the button band the pattern recommends bound buttonholes, but this appeared to complicated and I changed the design to „normal“ buttonholes (which I have never made before 😱). And this button band is the starting point and I went through it with bravery: interfacing ironed on, one test and I was ready to go. And surprisingly all went well… suspiciously well…. Slightly in doubt I may have overlooked something I preceded with sewing back and fronts together, closing the sleeves and after this setting in the first sleeve.

Kopie von Kopie von 1800px × 768px – Design ohne Titel(10).png


Still all went well. I tried the coat on, and it looked already like something you could wear in daylight. On to the next sleeve and the collar. Sewing a collar was also completely new to me. But the explanations of the book were enough to understand how to do it. First, I was told to attach the under collar to the body of the coat and then to attach the upside part of the collar to the facing. Next step was to sew the facing including the collar on the fronts of the coat and then top stitch. Along the front with the buttonholes….! You already notice the problem? I forgot to sew buttonholes into the facing – ahhhhhhhhhhhh.


Kopie von Kopie von Soziale Medien – Design ohne Titel(17).png


Now I ran out of luck. Panicked I tried to sew buttonholes into the already sewn in facing and forgot to iron on some interfacing before doing so. The soft fabric was pulled into the stitch plate and together with half of the bobbin thread formed a horrible mess. I had to open the machine and tried half an hour to get the facing out of the stitch plate without cutting a hole into it. I managed… but instead I cut a hole into my finger (I exaggerated, I only poked my finger with the seam ripper). But the problem persisted. I could not make buttonholes into the facing. The seams were too thick and the sewing foot always got stuck. I had to do it by hand, and you all know how much I despise hand-sewing. After this, I needed a time out 😂

TIme.png


Next day with more patience I hemmed the coat and sewed on the buttons. The uppermost buttonhole is still not functioning, but the rest works ok. The last thing which I must do in the next days is to attach the pockets. But I was so excited about the coat, that I took it out for a dinner and museum visit without the pockets.


Kopie von Design ohne Titel(6).png


After reading the introduction you understand how happy I am that I managed to sew a coat (I still cannot believe it while writing it down). I know I made the simplest coat variation, without the lining and with the easiest sleeve option of raglan sleeves, but nevertheless, I did it.



Thank you @crosheille for initiating and @muscara, @shanibeer, @marblely for hosting the #needleworkmonday. If you want to see more beautiful projects with yarn, fabric and most of all needles, follow @needleworkmonday. Or even better grab your needles and keyboard and join the #needleworkmonday community.


needleworkmonday.png


neumannsalva - Kopie.png

Sort:  

So schön kann das Leben als Steemit Rentner sein ;-) !BEER und Trendotoken für Dich !trdo vom rentenbot

Congratulations @steemrente, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @neumannsalva!
@neumannsalva got 0.21529800 TRDO & @steemrente got 0.14353200 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

You have your own coat!! It's one of the most complicated item that I've never tried. Now I'm almost clicking the book on Amazon ... ;) ;)

You know me and my sewing experience and impatience... belive me this was not complicated. The stretchy fabric and the wide fit meade it really easy. But the book has some more complicated projects which look so beautiful. I still dream that one day I am patient and skillfull in sewing :-DD If you want to have a better impression of the book (which patterns are inside for example, than write me <3)

Sehr gut!

Posted using Partiko Android

Dankeschön <3 Es ist immer toll, wenn ein Projekt gelingt und wirklich tragbar ist.

Hi neumannsalva,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank youuuuu, it so lovely to get such a good reception. Thank you for your awesome curation work.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I'm absolutely speechless (and sooo jealous - though I'd never try to sew such an ambitious project...). The pockets will be a piece of cake!

Don’t be... it really was not complicated. Much easier than the skirt I still have not finished. And I find it hugely rewarding, as I am wearing it every day (ok, yesterday I stopped... crazy warm here)
But the pockets... sigh... they are a bit like the second sock 😂

What a wonderful post. They are two posts in 1. A super interesting story and the making of a new coat that looks cool. Regards @neumannsalva

Thank you so much for your kind words <3 And I am happy you like the text and the coat 😊

It is lovely! You can totally rule the world in that coat!
Love your write up, lots of frustration but you made it!

Now as you write it.... I guess ruling the world could be exhausting :-DDDD It would stop me from sewing such amazing coats. (just joking, the coat was really easy to make, much easier than this cursed skirt)
And as always, I am happy you liked the post <3
By the way, I remeasured myself with a friend and we noticed that my mother made a mistake with my shoulder width. Now the numbers make much more sense :-D

Ah, a lovely story and you look so beautiful in your new coat 😍

Wow, thank you 🙏 As you could guess, I see a lot of mistakes I made (like some bumps on the darts on the raglan seams and on the buttonband), but nevertheless, I am oddly satisfied with this sewing project. I am wearing this coat every day and I am a bit annoyed that the temperature is rising again :-D

Hehe, I know what you mean 😎 That coat is the kind of coat people search charity shops and flea markets for. It's got played down glamour and a retro feel, so stylish. Bumps in the raglan seam = unique = priceless 😍

What a beautiful compliment 😍 You did not know, but I am/was really on the hunt for a long time now for a special kind of coat. I think it is from the seventies, it has a tailored form and fake fur at the neckline. But the charity shops here are not good equipped or if they are, they are even pricier than new things.

Hello Hello!

I admire your way of designing and everything works out hahahaha

Greetings from Venezuela

Thank youuuuu <3 I am still suprised it worked so well... I have a history of sewing clothes which do not fit me :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.72
ETH 3279.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67