Fun in Mommy's sewing room

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Happy #NeedleworkMonday!! Having completed my friend's set of patchwork placemats, I started another set this week to consign! Last fall, completely on impulse one day, I walked into the corner kitchen shop downtown and talked to the owner about consigning placemats there. She agreed, but then I got so busy with other requests, I haven't had time since then to make placemats for the shop!

1.jpg

2.jpg
Gotta have chicken patches to incorporate into placemats

I had more than enough "help" (aka shenanigans) one day, so I grabbed the piece of chicken printed fabric I'd bought at the quilt shop and told the kids that they could cut out whatever chickens I didn't use, plus the eggs. This kept them entertained for quite awhile!

5.jpg
Being verrrrry careful with Mommy's scissors

4.jpg

Pixie cut out this chicken. She said "I'm cutting off the legs, so it can lay eggs." Little Man, not to outdone, announced, "I'm cutting off this one's bottom so it won't poop everywhere!" Boys!

6.jpg
Somebody has been rearranging my pincushion.

7.jpg
The fabric I'm putting on the back of this set of placemats.

8.jpg
The view out my sewing room window this morning

In happy news, I've got a request for another baby quilt from a friend who is still in the Navy and is buying them from me as organizational gifts to expecting mamas at her command. This will be the third one I make for her, but I've got 5 months to do it, so no rush to get started just yet. I love sewing for Navy mamas! Plus another friend has hooked me up with a friend of hers who is looking to buy a baby quilt as well. Exciting!

My sad news is that I went to count the rows in my egg apron project this morning and discovered that there's one huge drawback to crocheting with dark yarn in a dimly lighted location (the coffee shop): I've hooked the wrong loops on a bunch of the rows! :(

9.jpg
Noooooo!!

It's super tempting to just keep going, but the perfectionist part of me is clamoring to unravel it to the first spot I messed up, and redo it. I probably will end up doing that ;))) Oh well!

Hope everyone is having a great start to their week...I'm looking forward to cycling around and checking out everyone's projects, after the kids go to bed this evening! <3

Sort:  

Imperfections are your signature on the design of a piece! Also known as if it's going to be invisible don't worry about perfection. I always laugh at the cross stitchers who are so focused on making back of their pieces look perfect, I'm just happy if you can make out what it's supposed to be...
Your little helpers today were adorable and I'm looking forward to see now that placemat set turns out.

Thank you so much! I like that thought of imperfections being a signature :) I did have the epiphany that the strips for the front of the egg pockets might cover up that stretch of bad rows. I'll have to count up and see. If they're going to be covered up, I won't worry about them!

Ооо! this is very insulting when you have to redo it because of the distraction during work. I have a similar. then I begin to think how I can correct the mistake. can you sew a cut chicken to that place? :)) (joke)

Now that would be funny! I've been thinking of how to dress up the apron a bit, and I might just put a cut out chicken on the cell phone pocket!! You may have been joking but I'm going to keep it in mind :)))

Of course I was joking :)

That's a great idea to give the leftover fabric to your kids to chop up! Love the placemats! They are going to look cute. And so nice about the baby quilt. So nice that you have five months to do it. I just realized I need to get a quilt made for my newest niece. I will see my parents next month and they will take it back to Texas for me. Yikes. I have got to get going!

Oh, I'll look forward to seeing what you come up with next! I've enjoyed your other quilts you've posted!


Hi @, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Coffee Hour at 3pm EDT in the Steemit Fiberartists on Discord.

Wow, thank you! I just checked it out! When I get back on my phone I'll pop into Discord too :)

Boys make me laugh so hard! The poop is a problem sometimes! lol

I'm the absent minded crocheter. I watch tv or talk on the phone or daydream about going to the bathroom and no one knocking on the door to ask me for something, and lose stitch count (thank goodness for stitch markers!) or skip stitches, add and increase here or there that I have to make up for somewhere else. I'm also a perfectionist in other areas of my life. But I figure if I can hide my goof and no one else sees it, I'm a winner!!

I saw an egg apron in another post.... someone received it as a gift... I can't remember who! Anyway, I've wanted to make one too, even though I'm only gonna get three eggs a day max right now. lol

daydream about going to the bathroom and no one knocking on the door to ask me for something

LOL!!!! I really did laugh. That lovely dream is enough to hijack any project ;-))) @findingjoy is the one who got an egg apron as a gift and then said I should make one, when I commented that I knew how to crochet, haha.

I completely identify with what you are saying about being a perfectionist! I cant even count the number of times that I have ripped-up projects and redone them for the smallest thing. It's awesome to hear that people are calling on you for place mats and quilts. Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Thank you! Yes, I can soooo relate to redoing projects. I've gotten better at letting unimportant goofs slide, but it's still hard! Happy #NeedleworkMonday back! :)

I LOVE your view! Your halpers are funny. 😂
So awesome that you are getting all these commissions!
To frog or not to frog ...been there, my condolences. 😉
Happy Needlework Monday!

Thank you so much! This room was built by the former owners to be a semi formal dining room. Since our table is in the kitchen, I've put this room to better use, huge window and all :)

Really enjoyed your post. Your little girl looks like she is concentrating so hard cutting out her chicken. I am a little jealous of the view out your sewing room window. I bet it is beautiful any time of year.
And then there is the drawback of crocheting in poor lighting - can really relate! I like to hunker down on a corner of the couch with just twinkle lights on, or meet knitting friends at a local, dimly lit restaurant - and I have the dismantled and redone knitting to prove it!

Pixie has amazing concentration, always has. She inherited her momma's perfectionist tendencies! Little Man on the other hand quickly tired of trying to stay on the lines to cut out chickens, and decided chopping up chickens was more fun....

I'm glad I'm not the only one who's goofed up a project thanks to poor lighting! I really kicked myself when I realized it today!

Congratulations to you for being able to sell your placemats in a shop! That is really exciting! I really enjoyed this post and you gave me a few laughs. Boys are so funny!! That was very clever of your daughter to do!! They are so smart and look hard at work!

I absolutely LOVE the view from your sewing room...Wow! I too would start over and begin from the correct part. I am such a perfectionist and I wouldn’t be happy with my finished outcome knowing I made a mistake...you are not alone. Thanks for the updates this week!!

Thank you for the kind words! :) I'm glad you enjoyed the post and the kiddos! I know, I keep trying to talk myself into not unraveling the apron because the egg pockets would hide the mistakes, but I'll know they're there!

All that cutting brings sweet memories for me @mtnmeadowmomma. What a colourful and positive post :)
My problem is that I tend to improvise a lot on my crocheting so I would actually imagine I would be trying to find a way around to avoid unravelling (I am a rebel...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35