#needleworkmonday :: Upcycling an old T-shirt ๐Ÿ‘• into an envelope โœ‰ pillowcase

in #needleworkmonday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!!

A happy Monday again and Happy #NeedleworkMonday!!

๐ŸŒท๐ŸŒธNeedleworkMonday is a beautiful community with passion for needlework, started and hosted by @crosheille and co-hosted by @crystalize ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ’—!

Last week, @needleworkmonday challenged us to its first Upcycle Challenge! and so here I am ๐Ÿ˜. My first upcycle project is turning an old T-shirt into an envelope pillowcase.


Main.png

I have many old T-shirts, just sitting around, not doing anything because they either have holes, the neckline is gone, the T-shirt has shrunk (but rather, I have grown ๐Ÿ˜†) or for one reason or another. But among these T-shirts, I have some that I really, really like because they hold very sweet memories or I like the design on the T-shirt and these are T-shirts I would never, ever throw them away.

This particular T-shirt was one of the first gifts my brother bought for me, many, many years ago which I cherish very much and he got it for me because of this ๐Ÿ˜„:


Main2.png

Though, I don't think he got it because I am a good girl, maybe hoping that I would be one ๐Ÿ˜‚.

But I have since outgrown it and can no longer fit into it. The neckline has also gone out of shape and there are spots at some places too.

At the same time, I have a little pillow that needed a new case, so that I can wash one and use the other. And both of these fit pretty nicely together.

So, here are the steps:
(You can probably complete this within 30 minutes or less, it is really that easy ) ๐Ÿ˜Š

1.png

(1) Roughly "measure" the pillow and the T-shirt by placing the pillow over the T-shirt.
(2) Make sure there is enough T-shirt to cover the pillow.


2.png

(3) To make the "envelope", you will need enough height to fold over the pillow. In this case, we will use the back neckline as the fold.
(4) Cut along the sides of the T-shirt, leaving about 1 inch for seam allowance (but we will just sew about 1cm from the edge).
(5) The cut piece. We will use the back of the T-shirt to "envelope" over the front of the T-shirt (that says Good Girl).
After sewing the pillowcase right sides facing, when we turn the pillowcase over, the "envelope" will be the "inserted" part of the pillowcase with Good Girl visible.
A pillowcase should fit snugly and if your T-shirt has a stretchy material, you can fit them just right.


3.png

(6) Use the ruler to draw out any odd looking sides.
(7) Trim off the excess and odd looking sides.
(8), (9) Hem the Good Girl edge.
T-shirts usually do not require hemming because the material does not fray but hemming the "Good Girl" edge is to give it structure, else the edge would be very flimsy.


4.png

(10) I chose to leave the back neckline intact because I need the length to fold the "envelope" and when I do that, I do not need to hem that edge ๐Ÿ˜.
(11) "Measure" the pillow by placing it over the cut T-shirt, to make sure it would fit.


5.png

(12) Sew along the lines.


6.png

(13) Turn the pillowcase inside out.
(14) Press out the corners.
(15) Insert the pillow to check that it fits.


7.png

(16), (17), (18) Hey it fits! ๐Ÿ˜


8.png

(19), (20), (21) You can add buttons. Here, I use the plastic snap buttons with the help of the Dritz Plastic Snap Fasterner Plier.
I love sewing tools and gadgets and if I can afford it, I will usually get them for the fun of it although some, I use them very rarely ๐Ÿ˜….



9.png

TA-DA!! Completed!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yay!


tqforreading-stayamazing2.png

Sort: ย 

@marblely, congratulation on your curie vote. You always been so creative on all these upcycle usage. Your steps were very detailed on how to make the pillow case with this old t-shirt. I must admit, i am your admirer now.:) Have a nice day.

Thank you @oliviackl :) It was fun to do. Haha.. I have been your admirer for the cool pencil colouring that you are so good at :)

Hi @marblely, hereโ€™s where youโ€™ve been, sewing. This is awsome work dear friend, what a great way to refurbish, great old things, to look brand new. I love this idea, what a great post, very well done. I miss you and hope your having a wonderful time โฃ๏ธBye for know ๐Ÿค—hug

Heheh.. yes! I am at several places hehe! Except for the last few days, I couldn't do much. Thank you my dear @lildebbiecakes ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜ You are a sweet and kind friend who always have nice things to say. I hope to come back to drawing soon. Hope you are having a wonderful weekend ๐Ÿ’—.

Great pillow case. I love the quick snaps - they come in so many colors and forms :)

Thank you @muscara! Yes yes, so many colors and forms, I had to refrain myself from buying them all. Hehe. Sorry for the late reply. Was going to reply and then I keep getting the RC message.

I am totally sure he bought you that shirt knowing you are a good girl. Upcyling is something i learnt a few weeks ago on steemit. You have done an admirable job here. I won't have thought of turning an old t-shirt into a pillowcase. You even gave detail about the whole process. I think this is a project i could embark on. You make it seem so easy.

Aaww.. thank you @cheekah :) You are sweet. I didn't dare to ask him hehe. Yes yes, do try, it is fun to do and the best part is I get to keep the T-shirts that I like for a long while more :)

You did an awesome job on the pillow!!! So many steps and you recorded everything, this is a fabulous tutorial. But I am amazed how much is necessary to make a pillowcase... yours looks very neat and professional and the picture is placed perfectly (perhaps you will become an even better person while sleeping on the 'good girl' ๐Ÿ˜Š)

Hehe... thank you @neumannsalva ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜˜. It is actually quite easy with just 4 main steps (if you are not into precision ๐Ÿ˜) :

  1. Cut the sides
  2. Fold the top to create the "envelope"
  3. Sew the sides and bottom
  4. Turn it inside out through the "envelope" opening
    Hehe.. yah, I am thinking to lie on the blank side and keep looking at the "good girl" to get some "good girl energy", or lie on the "good girl" and let the "good girl energy" flow into me ๐Ÿ˜….

Hey you got a curie vote!!! congratulations, so earned <3
And with the pillow... you have to report if the energy transfer worked :-D

Thank you!!! I think the energy transfer is working :D But I need to ask around first. Haha.

Oh, so you're living on this earth as what you put in your profile @marblely?
Me, I'm living on this unknown that I can't fully understand lol

Anyways, your post is, fantastic, awesome, entertaining, exciting, beautiful, worth watching & reading, fantastic, what else?
My mind is limited to think so, I stop there.
My mouth is starting to blah blah blah now. I guess I'll kinda moderate it a little bit lol

What else would I say?

ho @marblely if you did a great job to make a pillow case although I had done it when I had one that bothered me a lot I would grab a shirt of mine and put it to sleep well but what a great idea I liked the great detail today for make a more complete base for my pillow the congratulations for the great work and the idea that the samples in your followers a cordial greeting from Venezuela @neymarth10

Thank you @neymarth10! I now get to keep my T-shirt close to me :) Sorry for the late reply. I keep getting the not enough RC message but looks like now it is ok (hopefully).

Congratulations @marblely! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This is such a sentimental Upcycle!! The pillowcase is so cute! I think itโ€™s so sweet that you didnโ€™t want to throw out the t-shirt. I like how neat and crisp it looks and love the added snap button! I would have never thought about upcycling a t-shirt into a pillowcase!

Thanks for laying out the steps for us and thank you for entering the Upcycle Challenge!!! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Thank you @crosheille! Hehe yah, I wanted to keep the T-shirt and now I get to keep it close to me every night! :) Steemit is back to business (I hope) :)

๐Ÿ˜‰

Hi marblely,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87