#needleworkmonday :: Simple envelope cushion cover

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago


Happy NeedleworkMonday lovely Steemians!


I love covers - pillow covers, cushion covers, seat covers, book covers, any covers for that matter. The reason? I love to be able to wash and keep them clean plus be able to change the look by mood or feel for the week 😊.


So, this week, I sewed a new pair of cushion covers, envelope cushion covers to be specific, one that doesn't need zippers and the 2 covers were completed in less than an hour. It really is just as simple as measure, cut, fold and sew.


I like the simplicity of these type of covers because it is fast to sew and we need not worry about zippers. But, we can add a button for the fun of it to keep the envelope in place.

main.jpg


~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~


-- M e a s u r e - C u t --


First, I used the existing cushion cover as my template and the fabric I chose is linen and has cute little owls and trees as prints. The fabric measures 140cm wide x 100cm.

1.jpg


The current cushion covers (which came with the sofa) are a wee bit tight for my liking and it takes quite an effort to stuff the cushion in. For this one, I will make them slightly bigger.

~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~


The current cushion cover is about 45cm in length and width.
I measured 50cm on the fabric and cut out the 50cm, maintaining the 140cm width.
The seam allowance will be about 0.7cm on both sides.

2.jpg

3.jpg


Then, I cut out the excess fabric of 140cm by measuring 50cm + 50cm + 15cm,
the additional 15cm is for the envelope fold.
Now, the fabric measures 50cm x 115cm.

4.jpg

~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~


-- S e w --


Next, I hemmed both sides of the 50cm edges.

5.jpg

~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~


-- F o l d --


Once both edges have been hemmed:

6.jpg


I placed the current cushion cover at the center on the hemmed fabric and folded the first side to the center.
This part of the edge will show as the outer side of the fabric once it is sewn at the sides.

7.jpg


Next, I folded the other side to about 2/3 or 3/4 from the opposite folded side.
This edge of the fabric will be hidden inside the cushion cover once the cover is turned inside out after sewing.

8.jpg

~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~


-- S e w --


After folding, I placed the pins at the sides to keep them in place before sewing.

9.jpg


I straight sewed the sides with about 0.7cm seam allowance.

10.jpg


And then, I edge stitched both the edges using an edge stitch foot to prevent fraying.
If you have a serger, you can serge the sides.

11.jpg

~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~


After the little bit of sewing, the cushion cover was done!

And all it takes now was folding the cushion cover inside out.

12.jpg

~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~


When the cushion cover has been turned inside out:

13.jpg


I stuffed the cushion into the envelope fold:

14.jpg

~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~

Ta-da!
15.jpg


But, I decided to add a fastener / button using the a snap button pliers like this one that I used:
https://www.dritz.com/quilting-sewing-supplies/mass-merchant/fasteners/snaps/14051/
I love sewing gadgets 😍

These are the parts of the snap button to be pressed onto each side of the envelope edge of the cushion cover:

16.jpg

~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~


-- S n a p - B u t t o n --


Before installing the snap button, I folded the cushion cover to half and marked the center of the cushion cover where I wanted to place the button:

17.jpg


Then, I poked the first thumbtacks looking part of the snap button into the marked center:

18.jpg


and poked it through to mark the interfacing part of the cushion cover that needs to be buttoned and marked that too:

19.jpg


Now, each part of this snap button has a name but I don't really know which is which. If you would like to read the instructions, you can read it here:
https://www.dritz.com/quilting-sewing-supplies/mass-merchant/fasteners/snaps/14051/


But, I chose one part of the snap button as the top and the other as the bottom.
So, taking the top part of the snap button and flexing my muscles, I pressed the button onto the fabric:

21.jpg


And here is the result of the top part of the snap button:

20.jpg


Next was the bottom part of the button, in which I poked the second thumbtacks looking part through the interfacing fabric from bottoms up:

22.jpg


And placed the bottom part of the snap button that will snap to the upper part of the snap button before flexing my muscles again to press them down onto the fabric:
(Sorry for sounding soooo confusing. I do recommend watching their Youtube video tutorial on how to use this tool)😅

24.jpg


Here is the result of the muscle flexing:
The center should have been flatter but I was out of flexing energy 😜

25.jpg


Once pressed, the buttons were ready for snapping!

26.jpg

~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~

Done!

last.jpg

~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~


Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community!

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.

~~~~~~~🌳🦉🌳~~~~~~~


tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


Sort:  

They look perfect! I've been thinking of making my own cushion covers for ages as those that I like in shops are too expensive (I have that gift of liking whatever is the most expensive in the shop :D) It would be much cheaper to get my own fabric and start doing it myself. And I could proudly say to my visitors that I did it!

Thank you for the tutorial. It doesn't look that difficult to make them. Oh and I'm so jealous that you have enough of them to select them based on the mood for the week :)

I have only 4 series that I change based on seasons of the year :)

Have a lovely day and congratulations on your curie vote!

I had to smile... I live very near a fabric shop and so I often browse through their offers and I surely grab the most expensive fabric, always :-DDD Up today I have never bought it, as Iam to frightened to destroy it with my lacking sewing skills. But the shop also has a huge bargain selection, so I never go out without fabric :-)

Me toooo! Hahah. But sometimes I end up just buying them and keeping them, afraid to destroy them too. I am now lacking of storage space to keep all these beautiful suckeredly bought fabrics :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @delishtreats! Yes yes it is easy to make them. And you can go crazy with your fabric choices. You can even reuse your old tshirts or anything that you fancy. Hehe I like your gift. I think I do that too sometimes and we need to have that super will power to resist from actually buying them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice work @marblely. They look cute and are also relatively easy to make. You've outlined the process pretty well. And, I also like that snap button idea, It works perfectly here :)

Have a nice day!

Thank you @himalayannomad :) I wish you a nice day too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

you so simply explained the process that even I probably could sew it :) great !!!!

Thank you @tali72!! Yes you can!! 😘

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cute pillow covers and an excellent tutorial.

Thank you @jluvs2fly!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi marblely,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much @curie and also to @randomwanderings for proposing my post!! 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Firstly: D’AWWWWW!!!!~
Secondly: that’s the cutest pillow cover design ever!~ Who made it (or was it store bought)? In any a case, perfect pillow cover material if I must say so myself.
Thirdly, let’s get on to the post proper. As I’ve been heckling in a few posts curated by @curie, I must admit I like stills/fotos (photos) here as well. As they take an intricate, sharp and clear snapshot of your workshop here. Makes me feel like I can reach in and actually interract with them. (Damn do I feel old as I remember the cameras of olden ages.) I feel like, in every snapshot of this simple yet cyoot art piece, like I can reach in and start sowing the rest of the pillow.

(For context, I used to take what was called “Family and Consumer Science” class in Middle school all those god damn years ago. And I loved that class; seeing this resparked my memories, especially the sowing unit with needles and the needle machine. Wish we continued teaching practical classes like that which feed into other field matters like medical fields with sowing a wound up or even health class beyond the talks of nutrition and dieting.)

Back from digressing, I love equally how we see every step of the process from the layout of materials to the finished product. It feels satisfying, weirdly enough, to see labour in motion and actually being expanded upon than to hear/see the finished product. And on the formatting of the post, I love the little text bumps and dividers. Especially when you interrupt to suggest watch something on YouTube for a sewing material (which I would feel that could’ve been taboo a half-year ago when DTube was still rocking).

Damn, now I want to create a pillow; yet got no money nor no store nor no time for doing such. Miss those young days of me having such an ability to do so all willy nilly. Anywho, congrats on the @curie upvote!~

So happy sewing and happy steeming!
0D9913A8-2CE4-4BC9-BE52-187167EEDD14.gif

Thank you @theironfelix!!! 😊
Yes yes, the fabric was store bought. There are many versions to this owl designs that can be found online. I just took my time to choose the ones I like and buy when I am ready. But this cushion covers can be made with any fabric you have, even with old tshirts which I am going to try some day.
I too like close up photos and I admire Steemians who take really professional looking photos for their posts. I try to emulate the same with the phone camera that I have and hope for the best :D
Thank you for the kind feedback on my post format too. I like to give space and sections to organize the writings which can get lost if too crowded, especially when there are many text.
I truly appreciate the time you took to write this comment and i wish you a great weekend to come :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Welcome for the comment! ~^^~
Thanks for the informational reply and sharing the post in the first place!!!!~

The design on the fabric is so cool! You really do have an eye for cute things and do know hot to make the best out of them. I love how easy this was to make and how functional it is, I mean, covers are something one can hardly do without, from adding fun and style to one's decor to actually help keep cushions and pillows looking new, it uses are endless, and it all counts. It's so hard not to love them, plus this look so cute.

I love the addition of the button. Great creation!

Thank you @audreybits! :) Hehe.. I am always attracted to cuteness and would get suckered into buying them, if I can afford them :D For this fabric, I bought 2 colour sets, this one and a pink one :D
I have just washed them and today I will get to hug them while watching tv!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love this. Simple and gorgeous!

Thank you @sherylneil!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Thank you so much @appreciator!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82