#needleworkmonday :: Finally, completed crochet Ski Lodge hat

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Happy Monday! And Happy #needleworkmonday!!

Guess what, it is a hat galore #needleworkmonday!! I noticed @cryptocariad has also crocheted about her new pretty hat. Do drop by her post here 😊.

For the last week, I was completing my Ski Lodge hat, which has been going on for a couple of weeks. It took a while but it is finally completed 😁👒! And I just noticed in the pattern file that is a beanie slouch hat.

main.jpg

In my first post about this hat, I mentioned that I was following a currently free Ski Lodge pattern from Expression Fiber Arts.

I will not rewrite the pattern here because it is not mine but I will share with you how the different stages of the pattern look like.

For this pattern, I did the large adult size (24" circumference). which is pretty loose fitting.

This pattern uses 1 skein (4 oz, 220 yards) of worsted yarn and hooks US Size I (5.50 mm) for body, US Size G (4.25 mm) for brim.

1.jpg

Using the bigger Size I crochet hook, I started with magic ring / circle, just like @cryptocariad did (ooo I love magic rings / circles) and this hat starts off with half double crochets (HDCs) increases (my favourite stitch 😍). The 3rd photo shows up until Round 3 of the pattern.

- - - - - - - - - -

2.jpg

As each round is crocheted, the number of HDC increases and the hat continues to grow in circumference until Round 8, where the HDC increase stops and we just crochet HDCs all around the circumference at Rounds 9 and 10. The photo to the left is up until Round 10.

In the photo to the right, the pattern changes to repeats of 2 single crochets and skipping 2 stitches starting at Round 11 to form a hole-brick-like pattern, while maintaining the number of stitches and this is where we see the hat starts to take its shape.

- - - - - - - - - -

3.jpg

After a few rounds of the hole-brick-like pattern of single crochets until Round 19, we will move back to HDCs into every stitch at Rounds 20 and 21 before we change to a smaller crochet hook (size G) and crochet HDCs around the hat to form the brim for a few rounds.

- - - - - - - - - -

4.jpg

After about 7 rounds of working the brim from Round 22 to Round 28 (I did more rounds just to finish off the yarn 😄), we end with a slip stitch.

- - - - - - - - - -

5.jpg

And we weave in all the tails, so that they are not visible.

- - - - - - - - - -

6.jpg

There you have it, the versatile Ski Lodge beanie slouch hat from Expression Fiber Arts 😎.

I used my little bolster as my model 😁.

You will notice because of the brim, it can be shaped into many styles. It is really a fun hat to work on. And if you haven't already, drop by the link and download the free pattern and try it 😊.

colorseparatorshort.png

Thank you again to @crosheille for starting and hosting this wonderful community and to @crystalize for co-hosting it! If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday at #NeedleWorkMonday or on all other days at #NeedleWork.

colorseparatorshort.png

By the way, have you heard of a hardworking bunny who bounces around fluffing and cleaning dust votes under his watch-list? @dustbunny's service is currently free of charge. Do check out @dustbunny's latest blog and add a comment if you would like to be on his watch-list. All Plankton, Red-Fish, Minnows are welcome. And if you are able, you may also delegate some SPs to him.

colorseparatorshort.png

tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png

Sort:  

Very classy looking hat!!

I love the final look of the hat, it looks so cool and stylish.

When I was growing up, we will play around with crochet.... But I have never really made anything reasonable except for a towel for my doll😂😂😂😀, my friends have, though... I know the first stitch you started with (i guess that's the most basic one but I haven't learned the other ones. Well, maybe someday I will try this out again? Lol, probably when is start getting old...

Me too! I love how the hat can be shaped into different styles depending on whether you are in a goofy mood or classy mood or laidback mood. Hehe you should really try this out again now. Don’t wait till you start getting old because you will need the reading glasses to work it :D Even for me, I learnt the very basic of this from my mom and in school. Then, i photocopied books to try for myself and started playing around the different patterns. After school, I did not touch this at all until I found needleworkmonday and all needles and yarn broke loose haha. And now, my teacher is actually youtube! Hehe. Thank you so much for stopping by @audreybits and for the mention at pifc 😘

Posted using Partiko iOS

Steemit has awoken something in you, that is cool!

Yes yes, I really shouldn't wait until I get old, there are great tutorials on youtube, maybe I could start with that, learn a few more styles and sharpen my skill. 😀. Hopefully, I will learn😊

I have never made a hat with a brim, it is lovely, and you are right, it always looks a bit different. I could imagine this also made for summer with a cooler yarn like cotton or actually straw.
Your photos are a very good help to understand the construction of a hat. Especially for a beginner who thinks he is doing something wrong at the beginning stages (when everything lays flat :-D)
As always: superb photos and editing <3
PS: hdc is also my favorite stitch, so versatile

Thank you for your encouraging and kind words @neumannsalva :) It is always fun to share the photos and write a post about it. Haha yah, when I did my first hat, I got worried too and had to re-read the instructions a few times as the circle got wider and wider but flat. Haha.
Oo yes, I think I'll make another with summer yarn since I live in tropical weather. I am keeping this one for a cool/cold spring/autumn vacation in the future :D I really like this hat. It is fun to work on. Yay to hdc!! :)

Can't say I'm much into my own crocheting, @marbley, but it's hats like these that makes me think I probably should. I just wouldn't want to take on too large of a project and end up never finishing it. :)

I checked to see if you mentioned how long it took you to put the hat together, but couldn't find it (maybe I'm blind?). As someone who knows very little about crocheting, it looks like it might be easier than something like a sweater or a blanket or something, but I'm sure it still takes some time. Would you say it would be something good for a beginner to try? Or is there something else I would want to try first?

Hey @glenalbrethsen! Thank you for dropping by :) Yah, I did not say how long exactly because I did not work on it continuously non-stop. I think if I were to do that, I can probably complete it within a few hours. But I only spend maybe half hour or an hour or so each time and not everyday. So, it kinda took about a few weeks :D
Ah yes, my first completed project when I first started to take up crocheting seriously was a beret hat. At first I thought blankets or afghans would be easier but I never seem to complete one haha. So, I challenged myself, watched a youtube video of a simple beret project, followed it step by step and I actually completed it in a few days! It was such a satisfying feeling to be able to complete a wearable. You really should give this a try. It is very therapeutic. Start with the youtube. Search for a simple crochet beanie tutorial or something like that. There are tons to choose from :) And then, once you start, you can join us on Mondays at #needleworkmonday :) It doesn't have to be a completed project. As long as you think about it, start something or halfway, you can share it with us :)

Okay, then. I might just try something for my granddaughter as well as for the grandbaby that's due in a couple of weeks. Beanies would be perfect, I think. Now, I just got to take the time to do it (oh, and see what materials we might already have—I'm thinking since my wife doesn't do any of this that I might have to go get at least some yarn and a crochet hook :).

Congratulations @marblely! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your crochet work is excellent! And it's a really nice fact to be able to wear your art afterward :D.

Hi hi @scrawly, thank you for dropping by and thank you so much for the compliment 😁😊. Yes yes, it is nice. Usable art :D

Congratulations @marblely! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The hat turned out SO cute! Love that brim!

Thank you @jamethiel! The brim is cool. Never knew it can be styled in so many ways.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It looks really refined with the brim@marblely... will you wear it ?

Thanks for the mention above... We love 'magic circles', don't we ?😄

Thank you also for the info on @dustbunny - I will investigate it now :D

Yes we do love the magic hehe :) I will wear it someday when I go on vacation in one of the colder countries :D. I live in a tropical weather but I do love going to colder climate countries :)
Ah yes, do "register" with dustbunny. I find that having both dustbunny and dustsweeper helps in cases when either misses or unable to upvote some of the dust. They sorta complement each other by function :)

wow !!!!! wonderful!!! the hat is very elegant. I like this model in all kinds of how you photographed it. I also urgently need to crochet my hat - I understood it after posts about caps :)

Thank you @tali72. Yes it is pretty elegant. I do like working this pattern :) You can download the pattern for free and it is pretty easy to work it, although I took some time :D

Many thanks for the link to the hat. I also want to crochet something like that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83