#needleworkmonday :: Crocheted little zipper dumpling coin pouch with lining ๐Ÿ˜Š

in #needleworkmonday โ€ข 6 years ago

Happy December!
Happy Monday and
Happy #NeedleWorkMonday!!


main.jpg

Christmas is near and after taking a short trip down memory lane last week, my fingers were itchy to try to crochet a little zipper dumpling coin pouch as an experiment to be made as Christmas gifts. Experiment because I am winging it without following a pattern ๐Ÿ˜„.

I carried out my experiment, geared with:

  • Crochet hook G, 4.00mm
  • Polyester yarn
  • A 10cm zipper
  • A sewing needle and some thread
  • Some leftover cloth for lining


materials.jpg

In order to get a dumpling shape, I know that I will need to crochet an oval shaped piece and place the zipper at the curved ends:

diagram.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


I started with chain 10 and then sc (single crochet) into 2nd chain's front loop and sc all the way into the front loops for the rest of the chains. I decided to keep it simple and sc all the way.


1.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


Once I reached the end of the 9 chains, I continued to crochet sc, but this time into the back loops of the 9 chains.


2.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


To create the oval shape, I used the "Increase at corners" technique. I marked each corner with stitch markers, and join each row with a slip stitch.

As I worked on each row, whenever I reached a corner, I would increase the stitches by crocheting 2 sc into the same chain.

I continued crocheting about 10 rows, increasing by crocheting 2 sc into every corner on every row.

After about the 10th row, I slip stitched all around the oval shape for a nicer finishing, fastened off and tucked in the ends.


3.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


When I fold the oval shape, it would look like a dumpling, which will be the shape of my little zipper coin pouch.

The curved part will be where I place the zipper, and that would be the length of the zipper that I would need to achieve in order to be able to sew on the zipper.


4.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


Then, I sewed one side of the zipper to one side of the curved part of the oval.

I decided to hand sew because it is easier to control and hide the sewing thread so that it is not visible on the outside.

I also sewed the zipper first before the lining because the lining can hide the sewing thread of the zipper.


5.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


I paused the zipper sewing for a bit because I remembered that I have a lining to add to the pouch and I forgot to cut out the lining piece.

I roughly cut out a piece of leftover fabric, following the shape of the oval with extra edges as seam allowance and set it aside.


6.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


I continued sewing the other part of the zipper to the opposite side of the crocheted oval shape.


7.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


Once the zipper is sewn, I turned the pouch inside out to sew the sides, below the zipper to seal the pouch.


8.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


After I sewed the sides, I turned the pouch back out to just check that the sides are nicely sealed.


9.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


Then, I sewed the lining piece into the insides of the pouch (it is easier to sew the lining on when the pouch is turned inside out).

And once the lining has been sewn onto the inner part of the pouch, turn the pouch back out and ta-da!


10.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


The little dumpling coin pouch is ready to be the keeper of coins! ๐Ÿ˜Š


last.jpg

~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


This is also my entry to @foxyspirit's cool #UltimateCrochet contest. Thank you @foxyspirit for bringing us the contest!


~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~


Thank you again to @crosheille for starting and hosting this wonderful community and to the supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community for being so amazing!

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday!


~๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ”น~

tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png

Sort: ย 

That is very cute and awesomely illustrated. I love the close-up photos.

Thank you @jluvs2fly! :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lovely purse and that zipper is great, @marblely :D
Good luck in the contest !

Thank you @cryptocariad :) I do like the zipper too. Quite funky.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very cute and useful!

wonderful bag !!!! beautiful and fun clasp. I like the color of the yarn and how it looks in finished form

Thank you @tali72! :) I like the zipper too. It is quite funky :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

great job!
I love it.

Thank you @rebeccabe! :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is really cool! I often see this kind of thread but could never figure out what people would do with it.
I love the colors, I love the tutorial and I love your post! Right on :D

Thank you @foxyspirit :) Yup yup, I asked the shop owner and they mentioned this kind of yarn is good for bags because it doesnโ€™t fray. Smooth too :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is a lovely idea and a great "small" project. I need at least three of these to keep different currencies in. When I go to visit my sister in Cyprus I never know what to do with the coins I have taken out of my purse - they usually end up in a plastic bag among my clean underwear. As always, your instructions are so good. Thank you :)

Thank you @shanibeer :) oh hehe i did that too. But now, I would bring at least 2 zipper pouches to keep my countryโ€™s coins and another for the country I am visiting.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have a two-coloured zipper!!!! How cute is this! And with every tutorial I am bit more in awe of your skills. Your step by step photos are super clear and I assume either you have a partner or you have more arms and hands then I :-DDDD (The latter being the more likely :-DDD)

Congratulations @marblely! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!
Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

Every part I read in this post, I just have to stop to say "Wow!" I am starting to envy those that will receive this coin pouch from you this Christmas. They are lovely!

And thank you for making the instructions easy to understand.

Good luck in the contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62