#needleworkmonday :: Down memory lane - a little zipper pouch sewing kit

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Happy, happy #needleworkmonday my friends!!


This week, I would like to share with you one of my happiest sewing projects which I did a few years back:


back.jpg
Front view


This little zipper pouch (about 10cm in diameter) was based on a sewing kit pattern which I found in a cosy needlework shop in my town. The sewing kit pattern was an Olympus sewing kit pattern. Olympus has many sewing kits that are full with cuteness and adorableness 😍😊. But I have to say that they are not cheap.


front.jpg
Back view


Sorry, I could not find the remnants of the kit because it has been quite a long time ago and I can't remember where have I stuffed them. And sorry, there are no process photos either because at that time, I did not imagine that I would be sharing the project here on Steemit 😁.


Basically, the kit contains:

  • the different patterned fabric pieces in rectangles or squares that are required for the project
  • pattern template
  • key ring
  • more than sufficient embroidery thread
  • zipper
  • batting
  • how-to-sew manual in English or Japanese language.


before sew.jpg
The front and back pieces before sewing the zipper and the key chain


The background quarter pie pieces were machine sewn and the rest were all hand sewn. It was my first time hand sewing patchwork pieces with a little bit of embroidery. Although some parts look a little slanted (like the house and windows), I must say that I am still pretty proud of my work until today 😁. I gave this pouch to my sister as a Christmas present that year and the project took about 2-3 days to complete.

I do like with sewing kit patterns like this sometimes because you do not need to think much, just sew based on what is included in the kit and you can reuse the patterns with different fabric and materials. And they are so cuteee!
The downside however is that the price does not come cheap.

Do you sew with kits like these?

colorseparatorshort.png

Thank you again to @crosheille for starting and hosting this wonderful community and to the #NeedleWorkMonday community who comes together to help out and co-hosting it! If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday!

colorseparatorshort.png

tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png

Sort:  

this is great ... looks like something you still enjoy, I certainly like it.
Also thanks for reminding me to do a post today. :)

Thank you @rebeccabe :) Ooo.. yes, I saw it :)

No, I have not seen this before. I really like! it is really very cute !!!

Hehe thank you @tali72 :)

That's really sweet, @marblely. So how big is it?
I got a similar kit to make ages ago and, well but for a wallet; I've misplaced somewhere ... I will find it one day and make it... :D

Thank you @cryptocariad :) It is about 10cm in diameter. Ooo you have one similar too? I hope you find it. I have a few felting kits of a little chick and penguin lying around somewhere. I hope I find them too :)

Congratulations @marblely! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I have never heard of such kits, but this little houses are absolutely adorable. They remind me of motives i have seen zakka books .
As you now, I love embroidery, but would never again (so I say now :-D) do it, as I find it sooooo sloooow. The more I admire your work with the little flowers and the three dots in contrasting colors. The pouch is absolutely lovely <3 <3

Yes yes, zakka books has lots of this type of motives. Even the fabric is sooo cute. It is sort of linen-ish designs which I loooove.
Thank you @neumannsalva <3. My embroidery work is really very limited and my skill is even more limited. But it is quite fun to do when you have the time, which is the challenge we have. And with embroidery, I have to be really patient so that the stitch looks not ugly and usually I would have to redo many times. Haha. I too like to finish a project faster and neglect my other projects like my cross-stitch ones.

I could imagine a little pendant with this kind of motiv....because you are right, the fabric is über cute <3 <3
and redoing things many times is patient in my view :-D

This is so cute, @marblely ! I'd love one of these to put my keys and coins in :)

Hehe thank you @veryspider :) It is pretty convenient as a keys and coin pouch. If only I can teleport things to you, I would make you one :)

Cute house! I love embroidery too...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49