#needleworkmonday :: A week of sewing and alterations ๐Ÿ‘–

in #needleworkmonday โ€ข 6 years ago


Happy #NeedleWorkMonday needleworkers!!

Oh wow, it is the last day of 2018!!

A new year means new school uniforms and I was given an opportunity to alter my nephew's new trousers which were intentionally bought larger so that he can wear it a little longer as he grows up fast.

The challenge was to tighten the waistline a little and shorten the length without any cutting, just add ons so that they can be easily removed when the time comes and the boy will get to wear it longer.

project alter pants.jpg

๐Ÿ‘–๐Ÿซโœ๐Ÿ“šโœ๐Ÿซ๐Ÿ‘–


Tackling the waist

The waistband for the school uniform consists of an elastic at the back of waist and a cardboard-like-feel in the front with a hook and bar fastener like this one:

hookset.jpg
Source

And because I cannot cut anything, I decided to add on additional elastic at the back of each side and sew on a additional bar for its hook and bar fastener.

The waistline needed to be smaller by 1/2 inches on each side. Initially, I wanted to insert the additional elastic into the cardboard-like waistband but I wasn't sure how the effect was to the cardboard-like piece. So, I sewed black elastics to each side of the waist back part, so as to not disturb the trousers much.

waist1.jpg

I was wondering too if elastics on elastic would work but I did not have much of a choice.

waist2.jpg

At the front, I sewed a "thread" bar because I did not have a spare bar:

waist3.jpg

I basically sewed repeatedly in T shape on both sides of the "bar" to create a thin enough but sturdy enough bar for the hook to go through.

๐Ÿ‘–๐Ÿซโœ๐Ÿ“šโœ๐Ÿซ๐Ÿ‘–


Tackling the length

The trousers need to be shortened by 2 folds. I folded them and then sewed them with hidden stitches (or as hidden as my sewing can be ๐Ÿ˜…):

leg1.jpg

There was a challenge with the leg part because of its shape which then causes the fold to not be that even but hopefully, it can be camouflaged as creases ๐Ÿ˜.

leg2.jpg

The thread I used was as near possible color as I could find in my stash of thread. Luckily there was a dark army green thread hidden in the stash.


๐Ÿ‘–๐Ÿซโœ๐Ÿ“šโœ๐Ÿซ๐Ÿ‘–


Once I was done with the first pair, I asked my nephew to give it a try and it fits! Off I went on to work on the 2nd pair ๐Ÿ˜Š.

Sorry, in all my excitement, I forgot to take a photo of the altered trousers and have already passed them to my nephew ๐Ÿ˜„.


๐Ÿ‘–๐Ÿซโœ๐Ÿ“šโœ๐Ÿซ๐Ÿ‘–


In the midst of it all, I sewed 2 more summer dresses (I shared a post on this dress earlier this year) because it is almost always summer here:

summerdresses.jpg


๐Ÿ‘–๐Ÿซโœ๐Ÿ“šโœ๐Ÿซ๐Ÿ‘–


Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community!

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday!


๐Ÿ‘–๐Ÿซโœ๐Ÿ“šโœ๐Ÿซ๐Ÿ‘–


tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed ๐Ÿ‘ Daily Income ๐Ÿ’ต and Payout ๐Ÿ’ธ for Newbies (2.0) ๐ŸŸ ๐Ÿœ ๐Ÿ› in #ccc ๐Ÿ‘ฃ and Follow ๐Ÿ‘ฃ the Honor Code ๐Ÿ… - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿป๐Ÿ•บ๐Ÿป HAPPY NEW YEAR 2019 TO ALL!! ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿป๐Ÿ•บ๐Ÿป

Sort: ย 

Looks like your nephew will get a few extra months of wear out of those pants. Always good to be able to plan for the future when they are growing up. Hope he finds them comfortable! And the summer dresses are cute!

Hehe yah.. He seemed happy with them. Thank you @jamithiel!

Summer dresses.... sigh... here winter is in season. All is grey and wet and windy. It is lovely to see your flowery fabrics, they instantly lift up my mood.
And with the trousers this is a genius way to change the fit. Why don't jeans have such elastic waistbands :-DDD
I wish you a happy new year!!! <3

Happy New Year @neumannsalva! You are right, they should have elastic waistbands for jeans too :) Though I think I have seen it for kids :P.

Great job on the alteration! Adding those elastic pieces reminds me how kids clothing is made today. You know how they have those elastic pieces inside that can be adjusted with a button.

I look forward to being able to do alterations like these one day. Thanks always for sharing your creative work with us!

Yup yup, I was thinking of that too, the one with button but decided to go with an easier fix :D
Yay! Thank you @crosheille for always supporting and encouraging our work :)

Oh cool! Yes I love those way more than putting belts on my kids, itโ€™s just much easier adjusting them that way. Iโ€™m glad you found an easier fix that worked for you ;)

Of course, always ~ ๐Ÿ’—

I like the idea of adding elastics.

My sons pants would benefit from a simple adjustment like that.

Oo yes, elastics are great in adjusting the waistline :) I have also seen some who cut the fabric to insert a short strip of elastic and sewing them down at the sides from where they were inserted.

I liked the way you made them.

Made me think I could do it by hand in a pinch.

wow! you had a very difficult task. it's great that you decided it so well

Thank you @tali72! I hope it was a good decision. To be known once the trousers are put to the test tomorrow :D

I have done a similar fix with the elastic.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by marblely from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great idea! I love the elastic on the waist. My son is at an awkward stage and I have been struggling to find pants that fit well. He is very tall and thin, he has been wearing alot of belts lately, but this is something I think I can do for him. Thanks!

Thank you @dalipops! Yup yup, elastic does help quite a bit. Do give this a try and see if it works :)

The elastics is such a great idea :D You are magical with your hands, @marblely !

Thank you @veryspider :) You are magical with yours too, creating beautiful, cute artworks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46