NEEDLEWORKMONDAY: UPCYCLING CHALLENGE

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Hello needlecrafters,

This is my upcycle project this needleworkmonday.
IMG_20180924_232503.jpg

When I went to Mahalo Japan Surplus Store two weeks ago to buy yarns, this cloth bag also caught my eye because of the unique handle.
IMG_20180914_180706.jpg
So, I bought it, in my mind this was a nice upcycle project. Timely I have a purple cord in my stash. When I went home, I right away remove the cloth from the handle, and started crocheting the base of the bag.
IMG_20180924_234812.png

IMG_20180924_235605.png

I started with Chain 27(CH), Double crochet (DC) in 4th CH from hook, and in each CH across (25DC).

Row 2: Using C2C stitch(St), CH 2, 1DC in same space(sp), skip 2 st1 SC into first beginning CH and repeat process all around (this is working on the right side of work). End with SC into first CH 2, Ch 1.

Row 3: turn your work, Slip Stitch(Sl St) into first sp, CH 2, 1DC in same sp, 1SC into next sp, repeat process all around.
Row 4 until Row 12: just repeat Row 2 and Row 3.

Row 13: To even the scallop, CH 1(considered as SC), CH 1 in next sp, 1half double crochet( HDC) in the middle of two scallops, repeat across, end with Sl St, cut and weave ends.

Row 14: CH 3, 1Extended double crochet(EDC), CH 1, skip one St, repeat across. Then, same as the other side.

Attached the handle by Sl ST in each St into the handle frame.

Done!

I will add a Chain handle in this bag, when I go to the craft store and a flower perhaps. This was a rushed project with my busy schedule, thanks the main bag was finished.

Thanks for stopping by...
May you like my upcycled bag.

Sort:  

Very pretty. Thanks for the detailed instructions.

INSPIRATIONAL POST LOVED IT HOPING TO SEE MORE
GUYSSS DO FOLLOW ME TO GET AMAMZING FOOD BENEFITS I AM A FOOD BLOGGER AND GET UNKNOWN FACTS

Well done - what a lovel bag. If you would have bought a handle specially for making a bag probably it would have been much more expensive ;)

Yes @muscara...that's why I bought it right away, I love the handles...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @ lovefashion...

Posted using Partiko Android

What a gorgeous bag! 😍 It was clever of you to use the handles from another bag to make your own! I love that purple cord you used, it’s very eye catching!

I must say, I love your version of the bag 100 X’s better! As @neumannsalva said in her post this week..

’Handmade is Better!’ 😁

Thank you for sharing your work this week and entering the Upcycle Challenge!

Thank you, too...grateful for your challenge...@crosheille

Posted using Partiko Android

This turned out awesome, much better than the original. But I imagine it is hasd on the hands to crochet with this thick cord?

Thanks @neumannsalva...this is soft cord, just crochet little by a little not too fast, so the hands will not sore...it is Japan cord size small...the cord sizes available in our area is TINY( I used for the celebrity bag), SMALL( this is the one I used for this project upcycling), PETIT- bigger a little hard ...sore hands and next Large I haven't try this

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @jurich60! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!
Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

Oh! Thank very many many! For liking my needleworkmonday post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely!!! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54478.01
ETH 2290.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35