Kelly Green Knitted Hat

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I pulled out my Innovations Knitting Machine and some green yarn. I decided to try my luck at knitting a hat using the machine. I followed the written directions, but I was dropping stitches. I goggled videos on the use of the machine and found several very helpful tutorials. In no time flat, I was knitting in the round at 20 times the speed of hand knitting.

image

image

image

I was surprised at how quickly the machine was able to knit. One of the videos that I watched was made by the home shopping network (HSN). Apparently this model was sold by them years ago. In the video, they showed off scarves, sweaters and afghans that were knitted on this little machine.

image

I can see how that would be possible because all I had to do was turn the handle and keep my yarn loose and flowing. I had to watch a different video to figure out how to bind off. There were several methods shown. One where a yarn needle was used to slip the stitches off of the hooks, and a different method where waste yarn was used to create a couple of rows beyond the end of the hat.

I chose the yarn needle method, but quickly determined that I should have used waste yarn. It would have been easier to see.

image

I think that I will try it again but the next time I will use a bulkier grade of yarn.

image

I also want to try knitting a scarf using the machine. This process satisfies my quest for instant gratification, but it is not as satisfying as making a garment totally by hand. I’ll have to mix it up sometimes depending on how much time I have. This hat is nothing special, but it will keep my head warm. I may embellish it with some crocheted accents to give it some flare. Until next time, stay busy.

image

Sort:  

Would be a good machine for mixing and matching machine and hand knitting, or making basic shapes that could be embellished.
Please post the url for your post in the comments section of this post if you would like to take part in the #needleworkmonday @treeplanter voting circle.

I love those machines, @jluvs2fly... I bought a toy one ages ago and had so much enjoyment learning how to use it ; it was definitely not for my children to play with :D... The machine I have cannot make hats for adults though...

I think you could just actually use thin yarn but make a a double length tube. When you have knitted double the length you need, take it out of the machine.
Gather the ends to seal them and then just fold one half into the other.

I really hope you understand what I mean :D

I do understand what you mean and that would work. The knitting goes so quickly that I could easily double the length. Thanks for the suggestion.

Nice!! That looks fun to use!! (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

It's like you said, looks a perfect tool for those moments when we crave instant gratification :D
I love how the stitches are so even, looks really professionally finished! I'd say people would buy these on Etsy as Christmas gifts :D

This machine looks like a magic knitting hole :) The hat looks good @jluvs2fly.

Thanks @marblely. It felt like magic as I was using it. It felt like I was cheating on my knitting needles. It’s like using a microwave oven compared to a conventional oven.

Hehe.. think of it as you are giving your knitting needles a good rest :) But come to think of it, do you think you will be using your needles again for projects like these now that you have the machine?

No. I am actually excited about knitting a rectangle or panel as they describe it. It was fun and quick. I still used my crochet hook in the finishing.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86