Jet Lag Benefits Knitting Projects - Yay!

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I tried really hard to stay awake yesterday evening by working on knitting another dishcloth. I had the dishcloth that I previously knitted in my purse when I traveled to Spain. I had forgotten that most European hotels do not supply wash cloths which are very common in the United States, so I was able to use my so called dish cloth as a face towel. Face Towels in Europe

It really came in handy, because it was made of 100% cotton with a tight stitch. I was even able to wash it in the washing machine very easily.

My friend who was traveling with me asked me how long it would take me to make her one too. I already had my knitting projects planned so I told her that I didn't have the materials but I had some cotton yarn back at home.

When I woke up this morning in the middle of the night which was 7:00 am in Malaga, Spain, I started to work on a face towel for my friend. I had some pink cotton yarn and some pastel green yarn. I realized while I was working that the pink cotton yarn was much softer than the yarn that I had originally used to make my towel.

v9n4v3apzi.jpg
Newly knitted Face Towel

h6uwzbe516.jpg
Previously knitted towel that went to Spain.

I stopped mid-way and then picked up the rest of the skein that I had used to make my own towel, but when I was around 60% finished, I realized that I would not have enough.

I abandoned that project and then went back to the pink towel. I finished it with just a couple of mistakes that I refused to unravel. It is after all just a towel. It's not like it will be a garment that people will inspect and see her wearing. It is a very simple pattern:

Row 1 - Cast on 5
Row 2 - Knit 5 stitches
Row 3 -Increase row - Knit 1 stitch, yarn over, knit until the next to the last stitch, yarn over, knit the last stitch.
Row 4 - Knit all stitches
Row 5 - Repeat row 3 and alternate with Row 4 until you have the number of stitches that you desire for the width of your towel.
Decrease Rows
Row 50 - Knit 1 stitch, knit 2 stitches together, yarn over, knit 2 more stitches together, knit until you reach the last 5 stitches on the row and then decrease again to form the hole pattern.
Continue with this pattern until you only have four stitches left and then bind off.

Oh by the way! I forgot to mention that I finished the second sock. I used a smaller needle since the first sock was too big. I did not use the stretchy bind off method for the second sock because I did not need it. I used the traditional bind off. I also took the second sock with me to Spain and according to @neumannsalva, it now speaks Spanish. 😃

4b0i5qhajj.jpg
Second sock was specifically placed on the bottom to minimize errors 😃

I learned a few techniques by allowing a lot of time to pass between making both socks. I also discovered another way to make a heel other than the German short row. It is called the afterthought heel which I find amazing. I am thinking of trying that method out on a pair of small socks just to see if I like it as much or better than the German short row heel.

My socks will be worn around the house like slippers to keep my feet warm so my mistakes will not be under inspection either. At some point you have to keep going rather than constantly ripping your work apart. I usually always strive for excellence but one of my sister's once said to me when I was stressing out, "You don't always have to make an A. B is good too."

My socks are a B but my next pair will be an A. I used the first pair as my learning experience, and I did in fact learn a lot.

I learned to use markers rather than try to remember my place. I learned that if I purl on a knit side, that I will get a ridge. I also learned that when using the magic loop method, if you end up with a different amount of stitches on each needle, that you can compensate for it in the end.

I am getting more and more comfortable with knitting. I'm still not as proficient a knitter as I am a crocheter, but I can figure some things out now without having to watch 3 - 4 videos or read a couple of books.

Now, I read parts of a book for reference material instead of cover to cover. It's good to have options.

I also started another project on my circular knitting machine. I am making a headband. I used my crochet hook to assist me in the bind off, but I closed the opening up too tight. I'v got to take it apart for it to go over my head. 😕 At least it is just one row.

jbopapd15o.jpg
Headband on knitting machine

r43n634gbs.jpg
Headband taken off of machine using pink waste yarn

yw5h4u7ff6.jpg
Binding off with my crochet hook

Have fun with your needlework projects. If not, it becomes a job and who wants to work for real if you are retired? Not me.

25a0c5f9jb.jpg

Sort:  

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Very interesting learning about your experiences as you become more proficient at knitting. I'm not too worried about perfectionism, it's more important to have the experience and use it in the future. Some people here have said it's the errors that make each handmade piece of work unique. Thank you for the face cloth pattern, that's a good project to have in the bag for jetlag/waiting/nine-degrees-of-tired times. Loved the socks, they look very cosy!

This is most excellent. I need to do a little for my relaxation. How wonderful you were able to make your friend one too. Resteeming this..

Great needlework monday blog thanks i am still working on my entry !

It is always nice to have a quick project to work on and avface towel/washcloth is very handy. It is good to know that they are not commonly used in Europe!
Your socks look great, I hope they make comfortable slippers.

So many projects finished!! And you really get the hang of knitting, because your socks look gorgeous (I hope the second one will either get a Spanish course or will also get a holiday in Spain 😂)
The round knitting machine is fascinating ... do you manually lift the stitches over the pins or does it have a kind of mechanic? Hopefully your headband will fit when you redo the last row. The colour looks lovely and spring like.

This machine has a handle that you turn to knit. Once the yarn has been placed on the hooks manually, I just have to turn the handle until the knitting reaches the length that I desire. The headband was wide enough before I reduced the size with the slip stitch. I will substitute a single crochet instead of the slip stitch.

I must look this machine up, it is very intriguing.
And with the border... do you know twisted single crochet? I am not sure if it is flexible enough for your purpose, but I love its clean finish.


Sorry, if I already mentioned this stitch… but I love it so much :-D

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Wow what an inspiring #needleworkmonday! You completed quite a bit, even while traveling! I think you did really great on your first pair of socks!! That face towel looks soo soft and face friendly! 😄 Thanks for sharing the pattern with us.

I like what your sister said about the B. I am such a perfectionist and get stressed out quite often when my work isn’t A quality. I needed to hear that ;)

I like your funny socks !!! I completely agree with your sister's words :) maximalism never brings satisfaction. When I go on vacation to Europe, I take a sponge for washing dishes)))) you came up with a towel for the face very interestingly! I have never seen a circular knitting device - this is news to me !!!!! very interesting!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68