My first needle work Monday!

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Update:
I did it! I threaded my industrial overlock! I haven’t been here lately because I have been out of data unfortunately. But maybe that’s a good thing. It helped me focus on other things like threading my overlock.

I’m going to do a little project. The Pink Floyd fabric is cut from my sons old t-shirts. Ugh I originally took a picture of it but I lost the code for it. Now I know to take the picture first rather than take as you go here I will just find one from the internet’s!
5143956B-DDBE-431A-B785-491541A6B26D.jpeg
Okay that’s the closest one I could find!

So simple first you cut!

51C803D7-DD11-4784-AD47-D549E11883EC.jpeg

Then overlock edges!

C1BB149A-59A5-4942-873C-CA0D7140FA99.jpeg

Then place and stitch with a single needle machine.

124ABB85-3333-4677-9885-B423D86D47A6.jpeg

This was a quick job but the overlock still gives it a nice clean finish!

Anything I make is always available for purchase!

Sort:  

Awesome. I have a stack of T-shirts to upcycle. My son, daughter and husband. I have made some totes and throw cushions, but this is fabulous. Great stuff. Well done triumphing over the over locker, I am trying to summon the courage to use my sewing machine, it stresses me out THE TENSION! I do everything by hand, but it is not strong and takes too long.

Omg it was worth the patience. It took me an hour to thread it maybe 3 if you include trouble shooting. But I love it. I’m so relived that I don’t have to thread a bobbin! What kind of machine do you have! All those ideas sound great! I love totes and upcycling.

Uhhhh an overlock machine - I like to sew jersey fabric and every book tells me an overlock is a must have :-D So perhaps I am a bit envious :-D
Your upcycling idea is very cool. To only use the motive and give it a new life on a jean jacket. Very clever.

Ive always wanted an ovwrlock! My wildest sewing dreams have come true! Upcycling is economically and eco friendly.

Is this overlock machine easy to use? I was a bit scared as I read it cuts the fabric (I think of all my sewing mistakes...)

Congratulations @hotmesshill! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

what a fun idea! My husband has so many tee shirts I keep telling him he should let me make a 'quilt' with them. ...then he reminds me he still wears all those shirts! hahaha

Lol if he hasn’t worn it over a month I’d say it’s free game

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43