Preparing my machine for sewing - adjusting the tension - 010419

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I have been looking forward to trying my free sewing machine.

I needed to screw into place the thread mast and as you can see from the picture collage above I got on to the job and managed to do it - it was not easy for me.

I had bought some thread in a cone (cheaply) ages ago so at least I've that to try :

I will have to check whether there's a specific type of thread I need. I also need to stock up on needles and a couple more bobbins (any advice welcome here).

Tension :

The photo collage above shows you my attempts at getting the tension right. This is always challenging for me and it took quite a few goes and quite a bit of adjusting.

I was initially taken aback by the noise the machine makes, my husband suggested I should wear some ear protectors and look into getting a 'silencer' - I laughed a lot at that :D

The biggest breakthrough to adjust the tension came when I watched a video and noticed my threading was slightly different so I quickly went to adjust mine and presto ! : it worked so much better.

Sewing plans:

I've got another day of driving today, but I've got a lot of plans for when I come back. Thanks to my clearing and shifting of boxes I've managed to find a lot of denim left overs left by my daughters when making shorts - just look at these:

My plan is to initially make a simple pouch like this one I made some time ago with upcycled fabric.

I didn't keep my pattern but it was a circle for the base and a rectangle of fabric to go around it. This time I will add handles.

Thank you for reading.


All work by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

I'm fascinated by this machine, it looks so powerful. Tension can take a while to sort out, it's all in the threading :) glad you got it balanced. I haven't worked with this kind of machine so I'm not able to offer any tips (on the contrary, it feels quite exciting to learn as you find out)! That demin looks so nice all laid together, I thought you were going to create another garment from them 😍 A pouch is probably a more sensible starting place! Hope you enjoy it.

I will try to upload a short video so you can all here it roar, @shanibeer 😍

When I started finding the denim legs (I get the feeling - someone tried to hide them from me :D - I did think about just making a big cushion cover.

So exciting @cryptocariad! And you got the machine for free?? What an amazing find and a generous ex-owner. But I can imagine the amount of work that you need to put in to get it working the way you want it too. Ooo you can even repaint the wooden table! Does it sew very fast? (I am imagining industrial being super fast for its purpose :D) And I loveeee your denim collection there! So many possibilities on what you can sew! So fun!!

Yes, it was free, @marblely, through a group called Freecycle - it saves (good) things from going to landfill. The ex-owner was a retired tailor from London apparently.

There are some rough bits along the table edge so I need to make sure I don't scratch myself or (damage fabric while sewing).

Finally, the machine is working. Congratulations to you for saddling this horse repairing the thread mast. And with its thick screws it really looks like heavy duty… Are you planning to start a sweat shop in your cellar? This would explain that your husband suggests to buy a silencer (or isn’t this term ambiguous in English?)🔫🔫
As I have never used such a machine I sadly have no recommendations for the bobbins or about adjusting the tension. If my machine makes crazy slings I run away… ok, not away, but downstairs as our landlord, who lives in a annex building, was a kind of tailor (she didn’t made clothes, but worked as a kind of upholsterer, no idea how its called). She often has useful tips how to manage my sewing machine 😂
But back to yours. I am looking forward to see its power sew through jeans and other thick fabrics. I totally can envision a nice bag made from different jeans fabric combined with a flower fabric as an inlay… but as I am intensely focused on making clothes, I also can imagine something like this skirt or this dress made out of the jeans. The website has many funny designs and they also have some free pattern, for example one for a bag with straps which uses old trousers.
Happy sewing 🌈🌺🌈

😂Heavy duty is the key word here, @neumannsalva :D It will definitely become a sweat shop if I work there in good weather because it gets really (sauna) hot as it's south facing and has double glazed windows :D.

Many thanks for the wonderful links with design ideas to use the denim - I hope @brittandjosie can see them too as she was keen to upcycle that wonderful material :D

Involuntary sauna is not very appealing (for me) We have this problem sadly in our bedroom. It’s a newer annex to the house and it has a cheap and thin flat roof and the sun is on it the whole day... 🤢😱🤢

these sewing machines are eternal !!!! they are worth the time to adjust. you did great! I have never done anything like this. Your example teaches me that you can not give up if something does not work, but you need to search for information on the Internet and try again

Thank you, @tali72. I don't give up easily :D

Those old machines are SO loud to run, we used to hear my Mom's one from outside the house. It was her best way to get us to leave her alone. Have fun with the pouches!

I can envisage that really well, @jamethiel :D

I wonder what would happen if you didn't screw the machine to the table... would it start jumping around...? :-D

A jeans pouch would look really cool, I've seen something like that at a friend's - a very handy little storage place.

:D it probably would, @vliet. I must actually learn a bit more about the motor that runs it (age and whether there's a way to make less loud).

It looks like a machine that can go on forever! :-D

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @cryptocariad! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments. Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I appreciate your support, @steemitboard. I also like giving my support to others, by upvoting and commenting :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36