My new sewing machine - thanks to Freecycle !

in #sewing5 years ago (edited)

I am feeling really pleased at the moment. I got this industrial sewing machine through Freecycle. This is a great system of finding a welcome new home to items you don't particular want to sell. I found this quote on their website:

people helping people and 'changing the world one gift at a time.'
Source.

Someone local who I had never met before offered his sewing machine for free instead of trying to sell it - wow, thanks ! It is a Singer 196K205.

Thank you also to @pennsif for collecting it for me and to @jen0revision for helping carrying it into our home; it is indeed an extremely heavy machine.

I’m really looking forward to trying it out and making things. A few days ago @brittandjosie wrote about recycling / upcycling denim to make items like bags and cushions - you can see her post here. I think I can tackle any thick fabric with this now.

If you have any tips on how to use this machine, please feel free to share - I'm currently learning how to start it :D

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

What a great find @cryptocariad. I look forward to seeing what you do with it. Have fun! 😁

Yes, @gillianpearce... I very generous gift to Freecycle !

Freecycle and freegle are great, aren't they? I've used them several times when I have been moving house. The nicest memory I have was when I offered a left-handed acoustic guitar ... a woman came and got it for her dad's birthday, he had wanted to play for years ... she wrote to me afterwards to say he had cried when he opened the present and was really enjoying learning how to play. I liked that personal connection, I knew my unwanted item was bringing pleasure to someone else.
That sewing machine looks a monster!

That's such a heartwarming experience, @shanibeer - I think that's the main thing : true appreciation that someone's given you something that actually has value for free.

I'm hoping to use the machine soon; I'm reading up on how to oil it and so on to make sure it's all working okay.

That's interesting, too, isn't it, investigating how it works? I was fascinated when we dissected my sister's sewing machine to see why it wasn't runnIng properly (one of the rubber cogs had disintegrated in the heat).

That's a good point, @shanibeer. I shall oil everything well and then give it a run :D

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

WOW I am jeaulous !!
Its for leather aswell, I mt might need special needles but singer has them for sure
You got an american piece of history dear CONGRATS

https://nl.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isaac_Singer

I Will show you Mine, an inheritance by aunt R

1F6B2B46-7969-434E-A5B6-91F47A8FFD59.jpeg

Great for rough fabrics, its on the left really heavy and from iron

Thanks, @brittandjosie and thanks also for the photo ! They look superb lined up like that :D

My gems for the monday hahahah no the first i inherate the second is a luck machine i bought second hand and the “new “ singer is my moms but in my secret room they just belong 😉

Congratulations! THis machine looks very powerful and I can imagine you can sew also thick fabric for a couch or a coat or or or... Looking forward to your adventures.
Sadly I cannot help with this kind of machine...but there seem to be some videos on YouTube about this machine. Perhaps you can find something helpful there.

Thank you, @neumannsalva :D yeah I've been reading already... I used to use an industrial machine in a job I had a couple of years ago, but it wasn't like this one - I must read up on it.

Oh wow this is so awesome @cryptocariad! I’m so happy that you found this treasure. It reminds me of my mom’s old heavy weighted metal sewing machine...it’s her favorite of them all!

Looking forward to seeing what gets made using this baby! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97