Crocheted Squares for a bag and ongoing cross-stitch experiment

I was so pleased to find @danielles's blanket post yesterday because I started making these crochet squares for a bag some time ago and hadn't figured out the best way to join them... I left a comment on her post and @danielles left a link for me to follow, isn't that great ?

That's all the yarn I have for the project (all bought from one of my town's charity shops), so I may have to settle for a pouch when I have done about 18 squares 😆


My experiment crocheting onto waste packaging material is working quite well - I am happy to report. I have just done a few doodles using normal sewing thread, so the next step is to decide on a proper pattern and embroidery thread.

You can see in the photo above that the material is sturdy enough to keep its shape. The holes are not actually punctured so you still need to aim for the middle of the hole from the reverse.

It would look nicer if it was neater of course... but time is of the essence and I've got other things going at the same time - I am sure you can relate to that 😊

I am really looking forward to reading your posts and as you can see I have already learnt a lot !

Sort:  

Absolutely lovely - you know, they remind me of frangipani, my favorite flower! 😄 1A46C8B5-F69C-4CA5-A002-66DCF3D0B0E0.jpeg Source: pexels.com

What a gorgeous flower!! 😍

Thank you @lil-mich ! I don't I've seen that flower before !! I really like the way the petals come out of the middle! Does it have a perfume ?

It is actually a large tree and the smell is heavenly 😄 I’ve seen it mainly throughout Asia, but also in Cyprus. Varm climates in other words 😊

Lucky find in a charity shop, the colours look lovely together. I was thinking of you last night while I was holding my breath, trying to crochet!

Thank you @shanibeer !

I think your crocheted squares look very good - I am very curious to find out what you will be making with them...

I had thought about a glasses case, either standalone or as a liner in a hard cover case. But I got better as I went along and the rectangle gradually got thinner as my stitches became neater!

It would be great to see it @shanibeer :)

I undid it! I just kept the sample size squares. I'll experiment some more while I'm away 😍

That bag/pouch will be cute when it is done
And those x-stitch tests are interesting. That material looks like it will hold up well to the x-stitch process.

Yes, the material is quite tough @jamethiel because it seems to have some plastic finish on it. I'm thinking of making either bookmarks or gift tags with it.

I love the colour combination!!! The pattern with the overlapping grey stitches enhance this beautifully. And I think thesesquares are perfect for a bag :-D

Thank you, @neumannsalva.

@mivstar commented that the squares reminded her of fried eggs, but never mind - I take that as a compliment 😊

oh, and congratulations on winning @shanibeer's free wool draw !

I think it epitomizes the community spirit of #needleworkmonday that you learned of the information you needed on this project from another member❤️ I love that! Those squares are so cute, too!

Thank you mtnmeadowmomma ! I started the squares ages ago but with 3 changes of colour it's a bit tricky for me to find the time to 'concentrate' :)

I made a bag from my first granny squares I’d ever done I used this idea
6982C23E-02F9-4800-9DA6-B5FF692F846C.png hope you can continue with your squares and I love Pinterest for help in these situations xx

Thank you for the diagram as well @danielles... They look great and achievable 😊

I think I made a medium one in an evening. It was very easy and quick to make and handy :)

Saludos cálidos desde Venezuela. Muy buenos días y feliz semana @criptocariad. Que coincidencias, hoy estamos hablando de granny squares, mi publicación de hoy también es sobre ellos. A mi me encanta hacerlos, tengo diversas piezas hechos con ellos, encajan perfecto en cualquier creación. Y que genial lo del bordado. Bendiciones.

Muchas gracias @jicrochet... Recién llego de visitar tu blog y la blusa que estás haciendo se ve preciosa !
Thank you very much @jicrochet... I've just returned from visiting your blog and the shirt you're making looks beautiful !
😊

Thanks to @danielles for linking you up because your crochet piece is lovely. I am eager to see how it will add to the beauty of your bag. Also those packaging material featured this week as well, nice, I can't figure out what you're making yet but later on I think I should be able to.

Thank you @wondermaey ! I like experimenting to see what can be made with waste material... :)

the thing will be colorful. I really like these things. I am very interested in the final result. be sure to show it to us!

I certainly will @tali72. Thank you for visiting.

Yes that is so great that you reached out to @danielles and she provided you with a link!! I love that everyone is helping each other! 😃

Those squares are so pretty, I too love the color combination you chose. Whatever you decide to make with them will be really pretty.

It’s good you are getting the hang of your experiment project! Thanks for sharing~

Thank you for the comments @crosheille!
I feel really fortunate to have access to this wonderful community of crafters .... thank you for hosting #needleworkmonday 😍

My pleasure!! I am so happy to hear that!!! It is truly a blessing that we can connect with one another in this helpful and inspiring way :D 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59