Finished sock rag rug and embroidering on paper experiment...

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

My sock rag rug's finally finished !

Here's a few snaps of me doing the sewing. I am surprised that my stitching doesn't show. I aimed for the folds in the sock band and surprisingly it was quite a 'forgiving' material to work with.

I am happy with the way the rug looks although my colour planning was a bit lacking. I could have aimed for black stripes or intersperse the bright green a bit more rather than having chunks. I learnt a lot from the process and I am considering using the same technique, ie sock loom bands, to make soles for espadrille-style slippers.

Also, I was actually considering adding a few more centimetres to the rug to make it 'bigger' so I placed it momentarily on top of a seat. A few minutes later it had got someone else's approval :

Now I know I definitely need to add a few more centimetres to give it a bit of growing space 😆


Now for something a bit different : more 'work in progress' :

Every time I've seen this type of packaging I've thought that the red colour section looks a bit like 'perforated canvas' and ought to be used rather than thrown away (recycled) :

On closer inspection it's made of 'quilted' paper so it is not washable unfortunately. Still I thought it would be interesting to try and check how strong it is, so I rescued that section of the packaging.

The photo below shows you the process I took to start cross stitching with it.

Photo one is the whole section, but I just cut a test section and made sure the holes followed a straight line (photo 2). In photo 3 I have shown you my first attempt; while in photo 4 I've already completed one row. The material is fine to produce an applique for a card which is what I am hoping to attempt.

Coincidentally, last Monday I found a post by @oceanmoon about a project called Love Across America. Have you seen it ?

I was curious so I visited the site and found a link to upload a graphic and make it into a chart/diagram which can be used for cross stitching / filet crochet / corner to corner crochet / even beading - so many possibilities.

As I am interested in an animated film called Isle of Dogs. I used a graphic which I manipulated (simplified).

From uploading the simple dog picture to the 'ready to go' chart the process took just seconds - it's marvellous ! Of course I had to reduce the quality and so on, but I am happy with the result for a small cross stitch 'homage' to one of the characters of the film.


That's what I've been up to this week... not much but the weather's been great so I've been outside quite a a bit trying to clear some 'wild' brambles. Anyhow, I look forward to seeing your posts !

Sort:  

Congratulations on finishing your rug!! It looks Fantastic!!! I really love the way it turned out and I think the colors are just fine. I’m glad to see your dog loves it too! 😄

Yes I checked out the site that @oceanmoon posted too. I’m looking forward to hearing more about it in the update post. It’s cool that you found a link to this graphic, I’m curious to see how it will turn out. Thanks for sharing this week!!

Thank you @crosheille ! I now just need to add a few more bits to give her more growing space...

Re the dog graphic : you just upload your graphic and it produces the chart automatically ! it's a bit magic I feel ...
The chart can be done manually of course as well as @ivan-g has shown in this post.

You’re welcome :)

That sounds magical :D

I think you found a market gap: your sweet dog seems to love the rug.
I think the sock-rug is a perfect combination between practical, robust, sustainable, and beautiful. I can also see little mats for hot pots or pans made in this technique.
You had a beautiful idea <3

Thank you @neumannsalva. I enjoyed making the rug because it has a practical use but also it takes a few grammes of rubbish way from landfill... There's still lots of life in that type of textile 'waste' :)

Good to see your finished rug @cryptocariad. It's look really lovely. Do you know how many socks it took to make it?

Great idea with the cross stitch too.

Have a fun week! 😊

Thank you @gillianpearce... No... I didn't count how many socks I actually used 😵 but I could do a little estimate because on average I divided the sock into 8 workable sock bands, but three socks were much longer (sort of knee length) so I got double the amount of with those...

wow! this is such a fantastic idea! I have never heard of anything like this, but it turned out great! AND a fantastic way of re-using all those lonely socks kicking about. There always seem to be tons of them loosing their "friend" - I have no idea where they all go, but at least those left behind can now have a new life. :) fantastic! :)

Thank you lil-mich... Besides the 'odd sock' issue... many of the socks, particularly if they have an 'intarsia' design, tend to shrink quite a lot so it was good to reuse those :)

You never cease to amaze me! That sock rug turned out really well! I agree with your puppy, it looks cozy! And what a cool idea for reusing that wierd material...GRIN! I noticed the Love Across America post...any idea what the secret is?

Thank you for the comment @fiberartists :)
I have no idea what that secret is, but looking around the website and the work that's being done I have a feeling we will see a big picture appearing on the map 😉 and @oceanmoon is probably busily involved crocheting part of a picture ... can't wait ...

I really like your rug. I must have missed the original post. Is it really made of socks? I would like to try making one.

That's correct @anise. Here's a link to my post on how I started.
Thank you for your comment and please let us know when you make one !

I just looked at your original post. That is very clever how you cut, stretch and attach the sock loops! Unfortunately mine would be a very boring rug with only white and grey...not to mention how long it would take me to save enough socks as there are only two of us now ... wearing short ankle socks! I can see how this would work great with a family of growing children though.

I agree with you @anise... I had so many odd socks ! but ankle socks only yield at most '4' workable bands... so it would take you a while to collect enough.

It would not be so much of a problem colourwise though; have you seen the monochrome designs by Molla Mills ? I quite like using a limited number of colours :)

Really cool! I'm loving the sock rag rug!! I gotta look back and see how you did it again! It looks so cozy!! Thanks for sharing your two projects! Such fun!

Thank you @apanamamama. Here's the link just in case and hope to see your rug if you make one using this method 😊

Thanks for sharing the link! That looks like quite the process. I'd have to ask tons of people for socks. I actually have a small box I'm planning to get rid of, but they're tiny baby socks. I'm sure that would take a million of those!! It just made the cutest rug!!

The rug is so pretty!! I think the colors turned out nicely. I think randomness on color placement goes nicely with the rag style :)

Thank you @mtnmeadowmomma ! I agree you on the randomness 😊

The sock rug looks great!! Isn't it funny when our furry family members claim projects like that? 😸

Thank you @phoenixwren ! It must be to do with them watching us while we work and taking a keen interest on our work, 'if human likes it, it must be okay' 😊

The rug looks great :D puppy sure seems to enjoy it. That's a very creative idea with using packaging materials for cross stitching. Gl with the project ^^

Thank you @ ivan-g 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66297.29
ETH 2682.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87