You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making a new pant from an old one / ジーンズから新しいズボンができました

Wow @akipponn this is totally amazing that you have made a new pair of jeans using your old jeans as a pattern. Do you have a special heavy duty needle? My mom was telling me that if I tried to sew on jean material with a regular needle it would literally break it. I need to get one so I can experiment with jean material.

They turned out nice! I see you wrote some measurements on top of the pattern pieces. Was that to help guide you on making the hem around the edges? (asks the sewer in training lol)

Thanks so much for entering the Upcycle Challenge and sharing with us this week!!

Sort:  

I didn't have any idea to change the needle ... that's right I had to change it ;) Luckily my sewing machine is doing good. It's probably because the denim wasn't the thickest or hardest one. A bit soft with few % of elastic material. Haha ... my grandma would be shouting if she saw me not changing the needle.

The pattern includes hem, mostly 1cm. Talking about the notes on the pattern they are something like "hem 0.8cm" "over lock" "Tri-fold" "here comes belt loop" etc to guide me :)

Thank you from my side too to host the upcycle challenge. It's a good chance to think about mass production/consumption and how can I stay away from them in a fun way with Needlework Monday friends :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54118.47
ETH 2272.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34