NeedleWorkMonday - Learning to Sew with Mom - Our First Projects!

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

2736F4C8-FCF9-4420-8760-61798EC127E6.jpeg

Happy #NeedleWorkMonday everyone! I am excited to share our sewing class with you today! We both started our first projects and it was quite fun I must admit. It was so fun that we lost track of time and got home a little later than planned. I am sewing a Baby Bunting for my 4 month old baby girl (letter C in above picture). I hope I don’t take too long with this because I don’t want her to outgrow it before I’m finished. 😬

I spent a couple of hours at Joann’s picking out the materials I needed. I had my mom on the phone walking me through it since she was unable to go with me. It was a funny experience for me. When I was a little girl I remember having to go with my mom to these fabric stores. I was B-O-R-E-D out of my witts I thought I would die of boredation! I use to sit down at the tables and look through the pattern books to find some kind of amusing gratification as she spent hours browsing, measuring and shopping. 😩😴 I thought,

what did I do to deserve this torture? 😂

Then there I was, walking around the fabric store browsing, measuring and shopping just like my mom. No one could have paid me enough to believe I would be doing crafts one day. It was quite a joy having some alone quiet time as I took my time getting what I needed. It looked like I knew what I was doing with all of these supplies in my hand lol. 😌

5DF53CA5-5AD8-4FAC-8279-1B0FC8CEC054.png

The Pattern

76943ACF-3DAD-44BF-8BA6-7EAE89FFBB0C.jpeg

You’ll find that on a lot of patterns there are multiple choices of garments you can make. It’s important to pay close attention to the letter(s) of your desired choice. The baby bunting I am making is letter C. It shows both the front and the back of my project. Letter D is the hat that goes with the bunting but I will not be making that.

E3A25147-DBCF-44B4-BDE0-C30985489A1C.jpeg

When getting your fabric and notions you refer to the back of the pattern. You find the letter of your garment and follow it across to the needed size. In my case I am making the XL so I had to pick a 60” size fabric and get 1 1/8 yard cut. She told me to always get a little more fabric than required just in case. Then I had to grab a 22” zipper and a one snap fastener. I was so glad I found this pretty polka dot material for an additional 50% off the sale price.

EA89B4EF-6312-4D36-A116-90682A4FDF20.png

Laying Out and Cutting Pattern Pieces

30609D3B-BA68-4BD5-933C-88EA5DFD1533.jpeg

Inside the pattern are the instructions on cutting out the pieces, how to lay out and pin them on the fabric and of course sewing it all together. Once again the pieces are labeled/numbered according to you chosen garment. I only have to cut out the numbers associated with letter C for the bunting.

I laid out the pattern and carefully cut each required piece. It was nerve wrecking.

0D19B79C-34B3-41BC-AE62-427514ED66C5.png

Ironing

Once all of the pieces were cut I ironed each of them. This is an extra step that my mom likes to take for easier pinning. Her cute table ironing board has an ironing pad on one side and a cutting board on the other.

F9D525E2-D46C-4B5E-AC72-0E3C0561A5DC.jpeg

I also ironed out the fabric and folded it as even as I could get it making sure to iron down the crease. Some of the pattern pieces will be pinned along the fold. I really love how this material feels and how it shines.

79668EFD-BBAB-4577-890F-3E78CC8E9C9A.png

Pinning

4C71E312-045A-4D02-81C4-950EB4D2887B.jpeg

This is the last step I got to that night. I managed to get the front and back pinned to the material. I wanted to keep going and get all the pieces pinned but it was getting pretty late and I was starting to see double...okay it wasn’t that bad but I was pooped. It was pretty intense cutting out the pieces because I was afraid I would cut into the pattern or tear it somehow. That paper is sooooo delicate.

4BE39593-B5A3-45C3-AF9C-24B01E059019.png

Pauly Bear

C2AF3D5D-4ACE-4EC4-914E-74AB2C2A35D2.jpeg

Instead of starting with Barbie doll clothes, my mom thought it would be better if my daughter starts out with a Teddy. She wants her to get more practice behind the machine before doing smaller items.

She read the instructions...

Pinned the pattern to the fabric...

Traced and then cut out the bear (my mom did the cutting this time because she was nervous to mess up)

272E846E-BAE3-43E5-8991-3BC504D0B580.jpeg

That was all of the work she did on the bear so far. Mom wanted her to practice sewing curves to get ready since she will be doing a few of them when sewing the bear.

E17E97C3-2C18-4B8D-9D94-76F097FA672F.jpeg

first try

second try

I am so proud of my little sewer! She is such a fast learner and a natural at this. I can see now that I will be learning from her. She is so different than I was at her age. The excitement and passion she already has for this craft is very inspiring and it keeps me motivated. There have been a couple of times I tried to make excuses of skipping class. 🤷🏽‍♀️ The look on her face and the disappointment convicted me and pushed me to go every time. She really wants to do this so I will make sure she does ~

Thanks for Coming to Class!

All pictures are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E074CFDD-A2D9-46F0-9A46-1E6C42A08DDB.jpeg

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

1289974F-AEF6-4EC3-83A6-70331D44F671.gif

5DBD7156-F7B2-4197-BBA3-80BF1D2D98FE.png

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

Well done! I love this @crosheille. Thinking about being bored in the fabric store makes me smile. I could (and do) spend hourssssss in a fabric or craft store. It is such a happy place. I hope I didn't bore my kids too much but frankly they are quite creative as adults. (No interest in picking up a needle though) Oh well perhaps some day. I love the bear, what a wonderful project!

Thank you @birdsinparadise! The fabric and crafts stores are a happy place for me too! Lol I hope I don’t bore my kids either...so far so good...I think. 😄

Thanks so much! I’m glad you love the bear project!

I hope that my granddaughter gets interested in sewing. I would love to spend some quality time with her making a simple garment.

I hope she does too! That would be so fun for you both :)

I love this so much! I'm super impressed! As soon as I saw the zipper I got anxious. haha. I've altered dresses just enough to skip the zipper part ...so ends up a little too big, so I can pull it over my head! haha...lazy seamstress. You two are doing great! keep it up.

Thank you!! Haaaa that’s so funny about the zipper. I’m getting nervous now, I’m seeing that many are not to fond of them. My mom told me it
is tricky and may be difficult for me at first but she will see me through. I already have a back up plan...use the snaps all the way down if I have to LOL! 😁

Thanks so much for the encouragement! ❤️

snaps are fun!
as for the zipper, you have the advantage of your mom being there to help you out. So take FULL advantage of that!! I just could never figure out the zipper foot for my abandoned machine, so I always end up hand sewing my zippers, if they could not be avoided ;)
You'll do great. Can't wait to see.

Thanks I will definitely take full advantage. I really hope I get it! Wow sewing a zipper by hand...how long does that normally take?

Thanks I can’t wait to show you all :D

For me, I think it's actually faster to sew by hand, simply based on how frustrated I get with my machine. The equipment makes a world of difference. So, honestly, it's more about how long the stitching LASTS than how long it takes to sew. A machined zipper is much more reliable than a hand-sewn one. ;)

Wow!! I really dont have the talent and patience in sewing. But dont get me wrong i love the idea a lot. I even wished I could make one.. but that is not me.. i hate to start something I know I wont last. But though i wanna try doing it someday given enougg time to do some sewing..

Most sewing i do is only small ones and can be done manually.. hehe..

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol you really do need patience for this. Normally I would have quit already but my little girl is helping me to stay motivated and on track.

As I am Reading your blog I think about the load of work and I didnt have a chance to make My monday needle blog. Upvoted and I Will be back

I definitely understand about loads of work ;)

We mums know that 😉👍

Oh yes we do! 😉

You are daring :-D You know you will have to sew in a zipper? (I am still afraid of zippers, although I tried it two or three times)
No, I am joking, (not with my zipper-angst) but you will make a wonderful bunting. The fabric is awesome, and I love the color of the zipper. And you have your mother for help <3
I also do not appreciate the pattern cutting very much. I normally insert a step more, as I trace the pattern on tracing paper, so I can use the pattern and its sizes multiple times. But this is not much loved by me....
And your daughter is really a fast learner, sewing curves is not easy.
I am looking forward to seeing your projects grow.

Haaaa that’s what my mom said! She couldn’t believe I picked out a zipper pattern for my first project. I told her I learn best by doing and I’m ready to dive right in. I hope I get this zipper deal right. It may take me a few tries of course.

Thank you I’m glad you like the fabric! I probably wouldn’t attempt this if I didn’t have my mom helping me. It’s easier having someone in front of me rather than watching a video when it comes to learning something so challenging.

Hmmm I know it takes more work but I love that you trace your patterns first. My mom reuses hers over and over but I noticed after I pinned mine how much more wore out it looked. I’ll keep this in mind, thanks for sharing that.

Yes my daughter is really impressing me! I couldn’t believe how well she did for her second attempt!

Thanks so much for your support and encouragement ~ 😘

Woohoo! The mysteries of sewing explained! I am learning about using patterns and sewing and the such along with you. :)
So neat! That fabric is pretty cute and will be great for the bunting.
I too have many memories of being bored while Mom looks for fabric. Those pattern books were, and still are fun to look through.

Haaa! Sewing sure is mysterious! So cool you are learning too! Yay!

Thank you! I loved the fabric at first sight!

I couldn’t agree more...I still enjoy looking through fabric books! 😄

I love the word "notions" hehe! It always appealed to me from when I first read it on the back of a pattern. I think I thought it was the ingredients for a secret spell that only sewers knew. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip to buy your supplies and always satisfying when you get a bargain as well! You've made a really good start ... and your daughter is doing fabulously!

Hehe!! I like that word too @shanibeer! 😎 Lol a secret spell, that’s hilarious! Yes I really enjoyed the trip and look forward to doing it again. Thanks so much for your encouraging remarks!

I also remember going with my mum to buy fabric, @crosheille... In those days you just asked for 'blue material for children' and so on. They would bring a couple of options for you to see and then you had to pick and choose from those... No self-service and definitely not so much choice :D

The other day my youngest was trying to get me to go on a course together - she gets a bit bored without her other sisters around I have to admit. When they were younger we used to attend many activities together. Often they were not so keen to come along so it's a good thing that the memories are positive after all !

I'm sure your daughter will treasure the experience later in life.

Wow that is so different than how it is now.

That’s awesome that you and your girls attended many activities together. That’s what I want for my daughters and I! 😊

Great shots I like photography. I have a Canon EOS.
You can collect all of your lessons later on and create a book.

Thank you so much! I like photography too! That’s such a great idea! Maybe my daughter and I can take up scrapbooking and do that with these photos! Thanks for the idea! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58131.27
ETH 2360.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38