Needlework Monday - Crochet Bohemian Vest

12F6A20A-022A-4781-B5E2-AF3EDC383BE1.jpeg

Happy #NeedleWorkMonday to you! I’m always looking forward to seeing what everyone will post from week to week. I have a lot of fun going from post to post viewing all of the lovely needlework! I’m like a kid in a candy store on Monday’s!! 🤪

I started working on Episode #5 of my crochet series but was unable to get it completed for this week. I’m hoping to have it ready to post for next Monday :)

0B7D8EA5-FDA1-4017-A31C-B6F7948B93F1.png

Shoutout!

Before I start talking about this bohemian vest I want to give a shoutout and a thank you to two fellow needleworkers...

Thank you @shanibeer for investing in #NeedleWorkMonday and delegating 250 SP to the @needleworkmonday account. If you were wondering last week how you were already getting a $0.02 upvote she is the reason why! 😊

Thank you @muscara for also supporting this community and delegating 10 SP!

Your contributions are greatly appreciated! It means a great deal knowing how much everyone wants to see this community grow!

EB23C95A-BDE2-476B-8EEF-52D087B09454.png

D14BB4F3-A59A-4906-9FC0-1E8D4FD9C509.jpeg

This crochet bohemian vest was not made by me so unfortunately I have no process pictures to show you. It was made by a friend of our family named Stephanie and I thought it was so beautiful that I had to share it with my needlework family!

Stephanie has been crocheting for awhile now and loves making items for other people. Last year she showed my mom one of these vests and mom was in love with it ever since. Stephanie told her she will make her one and get it to her this year and here it is!

01F265D5-3601-4E33-9B57-BCD740DA73C6.jpeg

It’s pretty much like making an openwork blanket and adding armholes to it. If you can crochet in the round you can make one of these.

If I were to do a project like this it would be one I would work on while traveling...like @vliet does! 😉 I would pack it up and enjoy working on it while on the rode (because I don’t fly...have never been on a plane 😬😳😓😱).

If you look at the back of it, it looks as if it has a hood attached but that is just part of the design. She will be making my mom another one with an actual hood attached next time.

4C1E0A6A-3388-4F87-8F7F-B69033AA1603.jpeg

My mom will be looking for a cute big button to match it so she can sew it on the front. You can wear these open or closed but she prefers closed.

I actually tried this on while I was there and it is pretty heavy. If you have ever made a baby blanket, it’s almost like wearing one lol! I didn’t expect it to be that heavy but she did use worsted weight yarn. I would suggest using a fine or lightweight yarn for this project. Although I’m not big on ruffles I do love the way this flows and how it lays at the bottom.

A1C1BF95-D709-4E9E-95A0-37395E2CC32A.png

So have you all seen these before? What do you think of them? Would you make one? If so, would it be for yourself or to gift someone?

All photos are my own and were taken with my iPhone.

Thanks for the company! It was great having you ;D

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 234 (8/22/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Great art post and you're great art designer to the best I like this post
Very good job @ crosheille I appreciate your valuable post thanks for sharing your beautiful blog

Wowwee! Beautiful! Shame I never really learned to crochet. 😦

Thank you for viewing! It is never too late to learn! You can catch my crochet series for beginners and join in!! 😃

So much can be done with crochet.
It is so elegant in design.
Keep on postin'

Yes there are tons you can do! That’s why needlework keeps us busy ;)

Thanks for the visit!

It is beautiful & flows down just right. Stefanie is really talented & creative too. 👏👏

Thanks for your comment @ireenchew! It really does slow well :)

She used a pattern for this particular design...I’m not sure which one so I couldn’t share a link.

Love this!!! And with a hood it will be even better. I made such a design for a cardigan and added sleeves, which where much to wide :-D.
I loved how you are able to make a kind of mandala design and turn it into a garment :-D The colours your friend has chosen are beautiful and it is an amazing present.
And with @shanibeer and @muscara: thank youuuuuu <333

I agree a hood would make it even better. That’s neat that you made a cardigan of this sort.

Yes I love the design too, I need to ask her what pattern she used. She let my mom pick the colors she wanted. 😊

Thanks for viewing~

Amazin vest in really vivid colours, congratulation to Stephanie!

I’m glad you like it! I’ll pass these wonderful compliments on to Stephanie! Thanks so much for stopping in! 😊

I have seen several of these vests and always admired how they look. This is a big one, the longest I've seen before onyl went to the knees :)

Yes this one is pretty long, that’s what really attracted my mom :)

They are pretty unique. Thanks for viewing~

Thanks for sharing. Blessings for you and your family

So have you all seen these before? Yes
What do you think of them? I Like
Would you make one? Yes. It's from my future projects, I have several models. I want to make many colors, I keep gathering threads of the same textures and different colors
If so, would it be for yourself or to gift someone? For me

Blessings to you and your family as well, thank you!

That’s so neat that this is one of your future projects!! I look forward to seeing yours when you make it!!

Wow, that is SO cool! It came out great!
I just bought a bag of clearance yarn at Walmart last week.I dont know what Ill make with it, or when Ill find time, but your post is inspiring for sure!

I’m so glad you found this post inspiring! I just had to share her beautiful work. Thanks for checking it out!

Looking forward to seeing what you create with all your new yarns!! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65355.67
ETH 3525.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47