#NeedleWorkMonday: Fabric Slashing

20181105_183046~2.jpg

This week, I experimented with making a chenille circle for my garden quilt by stacking scraps into a sandwich, stitching, then slashing.

20181105_172128~2.jpg

I machine stitched the rows through all 8 or so layers, and then used my seam ripper to slash down to the brown base layer without cutting it.

20181105_174400~2.jpg

I used a clothing brush to release the layers of fringe to form chenille. The more I brush, the more velvety threads emerge.

20181105_182846~2.jpg

I will apply this circle to the quilt to represent the grass lawn / mini pasture. Here is the background since I completed its striped sections and the seam embroidery.

20181105_183012~2.jpg

The sun makes me smile:

20181105_183113~2.jpg

Much of the seam embroidery is just the foundation for fancier iterations of the cretan stitch, as you can see by how basic blanket turns into roots:

20181105_183054~2.jpg

Thanks so much for joining me on this freeform fabric exploration.

Love,cat

@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

That's stunning! The more I see of the whole quilt the more impressed I am :)

Thank you! It is really starting to come together now. :)

Very nice! I have done this method with flannel, but it is so pretty in your crazy quilt. Enjoy your creation.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Thank you! I finished applying it today with a beaded border :)


Congratulations @creationofcare! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!
Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the needlework community!

NWMlogo.jpg

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

That is so awesome, thank you very much!

So many techniques... for me as a sewing beginner, I am in admiration <3 Every time you post, I learn something new about fabric and what ist possible to do with it. I still love the teal/turquois shades.

Thanks! There are so many ways to make textile art, I feel like a newbie myself. This is turning out to be a bit of an experimental sampler. Yay!

If either of you are newbie or beginner can you please start a sheltered workshop, I'll be your first employee.

Hi @girlbeforemirror Thanks so much for stopping by! What do you mean by "a sheltered workshop"? I have done workshops before in the Burning Man community, but have never come across that lingo. Also, wow, if you are looking for a piecework gig, I just might have a little something for you. Let's talk more!

Its was bit naughty of me and not at all politically correct.
A sheltered workshop is a 20th century concept. People who would otherwise not be able to obtain work due to disability would be able to keep their disability allowance and attend programmes for a subminimal wage in order to engage in employment activities. Development of disability ACT and rights has seen these programmes disband. Equal access to employment opportunities to all people regardless of "ability" was supposed to make legitimate employment opportunities available to all. Unfortunately, this is idealistic and many people were unable to obtain jobs, or maintain them to the level required by employers. It also removed the important social and community support aspect that such centres provided to its employees and their carers. Making work access "equitable" also compromised people's access to disability support. They risked their government disability allowance for unstable job opportunity that was minimal wage and took the positive aspects away from the engagement. The changes were made in the most part with equality in mind, but capitalism is not about equality, it's about competition.

As someone who has had an onset of disability in the past 2 years and has been made largely redundant to a career I had for 20 yrs, I suppose in reality I'm not the worst candidate to make such a statement. I am housebound.
Steemit has become my sheltered workshop in a way. I sometimes get a few cents but the real gain is in the social connection and substitute for occupational engagement that gives me a degree of purpose. 😊

These unintended consequences for social improvements really make my head spin. I am glad to see you here on Steemit, though. Your blog means a lot to me. <3

wow! So much talent and patience and artisticity in one fabulous and amazing work of art! Great job! 😍😍😍

Aww, thanks so much for your kind words <3

This truly is art. Thank you for sharing this technique, I love it. It makes me want to actually dig out my machine and get that tension looked at.
I will make at least one quilt this lifetime, you have inspired me.

Yes! Get that workhorse tuned up for some strip quilting action! It transforms a scrap pile into wholecloth art. Keep in touch if you do eet, tag #needlework all week long, or #needleworkmonday on, er, mondays. Love and blessings to you, beautiful!

I love the #needlework option, I always have intentions of a Monday post, but it doesn't happen. After the weekend I zombie around and procrastinate about my half imagined projects and judging them harshly. Thursdays and Friday's I am much kinder to my creative self. Thanks for the tip.

I would love to see what you make and judge it kindly <3 whatever you feel up to, whenever you are feelin it <3

Wow so beautiful, I love the colors and arrangements! And seam embroideries look so neat and creative!! Fantastic work!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66