Lordy lordy what have you started?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #needlework6 years ago (edited)

I finished a job today that had been hanging over my head for months. It didn't take that long when I finally sat down to do it. It wasn't even hard, just a little bit fiddly and you did have to concentrate. Finally it was done.

I popped down the road to pick up a pizza and some more swag for my Christmas extravaganza and came home to catch up on my @needleworkmonday posts. With one hand holding pizza and the other alternatively a glass of wine or engaging in hands-free vote tapping on the iPad, I made my way down the trending posts ...

Until I came across be fast: free knitting patterns for Christmas by @neumannsalva and lost hours looking through blogs and one thing leading to another. I haven't even had a cup of tea yet. It was an orgy of looking, reading, thinking, snatching images and pasting links.

Here's my little collection of notes (and really for my own purposes):

IMG_2433.JPG
Elizabeth Garten's Glenora jacket with Sonya Philip's Dress No 1
First, we were directed to this gorgeous blog by Elizabeth Garten. This image is from a post about her handmade wardrobe. I particularly liked this outfit (I would wear it with jeans) and was intrigued by the reference to Dress No 1 and, in other outfits, Pants No 1.

IMG_2435.JPG
Sonya Philip in Mason Dixon Knitting: in praise of the cropped sweater
After some time, I tracked these mysterious numbered items to Sonya Philip's 100 Acts of Sewing a wonderful website with patterns, tutorials, blogs full of inspirational images and links and a statement about sewing.

Here's two of the patterns I've chosen to start with, and the third picture is a variation from a third pattern for a tunic. Sonya provides tutorials in how to put them together and ideas for variations on her website and on creativebug.com.
IMG_2427.JPG
Sonya Philip in 100 Acts of Sewing - Pants No 1

IMG_2428.JPG
Sonya Philip in 100 Acts of Sewing - Dress No 2

IMG_2430.JPG
Sonya Philip in Creative Bug - Tunic No 1 and variations

IMG_2436.JPG
Sonya Philip in Mason Dixon Knitting wearing #294 Open Summer Cardigan by Diane Soucy
The two blogs couldn't be more different: Elizabeth Garten's cool palette and retro textured designs and Sonya Philip's exuberant riot of colour and pattern layered together. But both create an irresistable urge to start knitting, sewing, experimenting, playing with colour, texture, style, feel, expression. Lovely!

Sort:  

beautiful work. I must check this out when I get more advanced in my knitting.

Yes, both designers are very inspirational. I liked your hearts, very pretty 😊

thank you :)

This is so fascinating, as I follow Sonya Philip on instagram but never really researched her patterns (which I will do now ) And I loooove her short cardigans - this I will also research.
She has such a positive and infectious bright style (and smile). Thank you for giving us the links to her website <3

The patterns are very simple - no facings or twiddly bits, no buttons or bows or zips unless you want them - and lots of variations to the style. I realised afterwards that I have a Tilly and the Buttons top/dress pattern Coco which I can adapt to start with :)

Love the dress with its yellow pockets <3 And I am looking forward to your projects.

I was thinking about a new tag for 2019 - #handmadewardrobe. I was very inspired by Sonya Philip's project to make 100 garments in one year. I also like her articles about getting older ("when I am older I will wear handknits and big linen shirts" or similar - I maybe paraphrasing) and being visible.

Posted using Partiko Android

the tag is a very good idea, as I still would love to make the outfit along... And with the getting older, especially as a woman, there is so much to be changed to the better. I hate the idea/cultural reaction, that woman get invisible as they get older, that there is no/less media representation, that there is restriction on how to dress, on how to behave... and so on.

Ah, we will find our way 😊

That Glenora jacket would be so cool in a dark purple, @shanibeer :D - I shall investigate it now.

It's gorgeous, isn't it? And there were many other free patterns of hers on the link that @neumannsalva gave in her post. I have downloaded a couple of jackets/cardigans/coats, but my favourite is a cute little hat :)

I actually like making things that don't a long time (and effort), @shanibeer - in case they don't work so well :D

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

So nice to see you @partiko

My Mum loved to knit, she made some amazing creations in her time - and cross stitch too. Looks like you have quite a few projects to keep you busy for a while!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Yes, it's a heady balancing act between steem and knitting 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56