#Needlework : Two-colour brioche scarf - 301218

in #needlework5 years ago

I've already had to unravel this little scarf quite a few times. In fact, unravelling and then trying to find how to 'catch' the loops for each stitch is also hard; practice makes perfect :D

I've been trying to sort out the 'edge stitch' so it doesn't get that odd looking loop at the end.

After the unravelling I've started to tighten the tension of that stitch - curiously the one at the other end doesn't look too bad.

Here's my other post on brioche.



work / photos by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

I think it's a fascinating stitch. I love the "ladders" between each ridge.

I've nearly caught up to the bit I had to unravel, @shanibeer :D

Looks lovely! And brioche isn't easy though I think with two colours you can see better which stitch to knit and which not. Perhaps you should use life lines like in lace knitting?

Thank you, @muscara. I haven't used life lines and I agree with you it may help. I will look into that now :D

Just throwing out a wild and uninformed suggestion. What if you slip the first stitch purlwise? Works sometimes for other stitch patterns.

Thanks, @kimmac. I actually do that but at the same time sometimes I also have to carry the other colour and I get a bit confused which way to actually 'take' that other colour yarn.
I need to check that again, but it's easy to get into a rhythm and 'repeat' the mistake...

I see. Well, maybe it’s just a matter of getting used to the technique. One thing I learned from Cat Bordhi was to tighten up, you pull not the next stitch but the one after that. That would be your 3rd stitch in, just a slight tug before continuing.
New techniques can be frustrating, but I think you’re doing great.
After I finish this big project, I’d like to try brioche too. 🙂

The tightening has worked, thanks, @kimmac.... Yes, join us 🙂

No googly eyes. How boring :(

Sorry to disappoint you, @steven-patrick.

When I do my fake shaker stitch, I add a selvedge stitch on each side. Then I purl the first and last stitch of each row tightly. This has given me a neat edge. Not sure how that would work in 2 colors.

Thank you, @fiberfrau. I would like to try 'fake shaker stitch' to compare. It also looks beautiful !
The issue to me has been dealing with the second colour when you need to carry on that last stitch, but I've been tightening it when I knit it afterwards to try and ' hide ' it.

Your knitting looks so neat (before yyou unraveled it :-D) I am curious if you will find a solution for the edge stitches. My friend Silvi also wants to try out brioche (in two colors)... so I can perhaps tell her form your experience. I think I have to wait before I learn, because I could not find a explanation for combination knitting.
Happy new year to you

Thanks, @neumannsalva. Tightening the yarn that you do the yarn over with seems to have worked for me - perhaps I've overdone with the tightening a bit though, but it looks neater :D

Here's a clear video that mentions combination knitters :


She says she's using a garter stitch edge there, so that it bypasses the issues I've had ( that's not garter stitch though). @fiberfrau also mentioned using an edge stitch. I shall investigate that for a next scarf - next year for sure :D

To be honest, this is the way I knit and purl; I have therefore unknowingly being using the combination method at least for knitting and purling all these years :D

I just watched the video but without tone and it looks as if she is purling in combination style and in knitting she changes between inserting the needle in the front leg and then back leg. I think I should watch it with some more time and with the voice :-DDD After this I only need a video how to set brioche up in combination style. Thank you so much for researching the video.
And you also knit combination??! This is so cool! I only know one other person who knits in this style (she works very seldom in a yarn shop in the near) and I must guess at so many things in patterns, as they are mostly written for "normal" knitting.
Looking forward to hear more of your brioche investigations :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84