#Needlework : Learning the two-colour brioche technique -271218

in #needlework5 years ago

I'm sorry to disappoint you as this post isn't about baking delicious brioche bread.

After discovering that double knitting will create a nice and thick fabric perhaps not flexible enough for a scarf, I started trialling another technique that uses two distinct colours producing a reversible fabric, ie two-colour brioche.

I have been using a number of tutorials. Here's one of them. I cannot really use my 'sound' so much so I'm not able to listen to the tutorial, which may explain a few things :D

The photo above shows a sample achieved after many (many) attempts. It’s really another failed attempt at using two colours of yarn to make a scarf.

I’ve been testing different stitches to make a scarf that needs to be 'smooth and soft' - actual requirements.

To me knitting a scarf is a big commitment : the stitch has got to be liked by the recipient, but I also need to stay focused and interested; otherwise, I will just abandon the project - I still have to go back to my digestive tract knitting project and this

Here’s a photo of the two colours of double knitting acrylic yarn that I've got for the scarf project :

The edge stitches of my knitted sample need to be neater. The photo shows attempts at changing that last stitch and not succeeding. I will try a few more lengths before I commit to the scarf. Currently this stitch keeps me attentive but, it's not a stitch to leave for a while.



It wasn't all knitting today as we went to Carmarthen for a bit of shopping and a bite to eat; @mivstar is going back to uni tomorrow and we will miss her.



all work by cryptocariad

Sort:  

Knitting brioche stitch takes a long time because you are only knitting half the stitches in each row each time, so you have to be specially committed. I knitted two brioche scarves - a single colour one that gave a ribbed pattern, and a three colour one that gave either a stripe or a diagonal pattern. The last one was for a scarf that had to have three colours and I hunted high and low for a pattern that looked good on both sides. I used this website, may be it will help? Both scarves were wonderfully soft and light and very warm and cosy ... hopefully that's what you are looking for?
I saw the double knitting post - that looked intriguing but it was too busy here to spend much time on steemit. Sorry you are losing @mivstar so soon, I hope she is enjoying herself 😊
(For some reason I can only find the Korean version!

I loved that three colour brioche, @shanibeer, but it's also the choice of yarn : smooth and fine.

I have the same issue with old posts sometimes and I just replace the 'kr' with the right ending and it works.

I have to say I found it a bit sad to look at all those needleworkers who have stopped posting 🙂

🎁 Hi @cryptocariad! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @kristyglas!

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you very much, @kristyglas :D

I've yet to try it. Even with one color. Good for you! I look forward to seeing what you do next. 🙂

Thank you, @kimmac. I have started it and it looks 'okay' 🙂

I wasn't disappointed about the brioche, I'm just here for the googly eyes!

I remembered that today and took the googly eyes with me, @steven-patrick :D

Adorable colors! I messaged this to @ivan-g he is doing scarves right now :D
!tip

Thank you, @kristyglas. I'd be interested to see @ivan-g's work when he's done them :D

I let him know :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79