Old Duvet Cover Becomes New

in #neddleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

o57lqnahxb.jpg

When I decided to change out my bed cover, I used the old duvet cover to make a new cornice board to enhance the window in one of my bedrooms. If you can measure cut and sew, this is a great way to save money and refurbish items that are already in your color scheme.

I used brown, gray, and burnt orange with a tribal design for the artwork and pillows.

I actually purchased the duvet in 2015 and here’s a photo:

cb3dnsl1te.jpg

source

A couple of years later I decided that I wanted to add a gray color to this room, but I did not want to throw the old cover away. The bedroom was a little dark so I decided to put a cornice board over the dark brown blinds to add a splash of color.

ewwtlrjetp.jpg

First I went to Home Depot and had them to cut a 1/4 inch board into three pieces. One size 80 inches and two 16 1/2 inches long.

8hl6vn0fwp.jpg

Next I used a bracket and screws to hold the boards together. I cut out a portion of the cover, about 90 inches across and 25 inches long.

sr93pn84zl.jpg

My third step was to sew the pleats even on each side to create a swag. I used a staple gun to cover the board and a decorative pin in the middle to define the center.

With the remaining material I covered the seat of an old dining room chair to use in the bedroom.

679mk632ht.jpg

I was able to use the same pillows that came with the burnt orange duvet on my new linen gray cover.

h90py0ngkn.jpg

It was a fun project and a way to upcycle, save money and add color to your windows.

6k4ubw2nod.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @pyemoney! Welcome to #NeedleWorkMonday, it’s so nice to have you join us! Every Monday us needlers get together to share our work, ideas, tips, patterns etc. and to support one another! We want to inspire the Steemit blockchain with our creative ideas.

On Monday’s we use the #needleworkmonday tag and on all other days the #needlework tag without the word Monday attached. I hope you are able to mingle around and get to know the other needleworker as well. We encourage everyone to share the process of their work, as you did above, to take us along the journey!

The work you did with your room is very inspiring. I LOVE the color theme, that gray and orange really go great together! I love how you repurposed your pieces and even reupholstered your dining chair! Very clever and a great way to upcycle. Your room looks inviting and cozy.

Thank you for sharing this week and once again welcome. I look forward to seeing more of your creativity ~ 😊

Thank you so much for the kind welcome and the instructions. It was a fun project. You all are so creative and have a very interactive community.

You are very welcome :)

Thank you! Those are our goals and I am glad to see they are being accomplished. Thank you for such wonderful feedback of the community.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Great idea and great work! The window looks much more cosy than before and I love the grey fabric on the bed.

Thank you. It did help to lighten up the room a bit.

This is awesome! I love upcycling, and what a great idea!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. It is a great way to save money.

And make cool things for your space!

I'm so impressed by such great upcycling projects which have such a professional finish like yours!
Your room looks so fresh, like designer made, who would guess that you've upcycled the trimmings from an old duvet cover...!
Well done, it's really beautiful!

Thank you. I love to decorate and I used to sew and make drapes many years ago.

It's great to get back to an old hobby!
All the best with your other sewing projects!!!

Yes!!! Thank you for sharing this is great @pyemoney 🌸🌸

@pyemoney, great job, you are very resourceful.

The splashes of orange really pop out when looking at your pictures! Great job!

Thank you so much.

@pyemoney, what novel ideas for decorating. Your room is beautiful.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pyemoney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55