PODCAST: Ned Scott discusses Steem

in #ned8 years ago (edited)

Fantastic interview with Ned Scott on the Epicenter Podcast.  My favorite CEO discusses Steem history, the vision, the launch, the bubble, and the community.  Worth a listen, enjoy!


Sort:  

There's LESS of a need for the Steem Dollar [...] Does the community want to be continued to be paid out in Steem Dollars or do they want the system to be more simple.

No. I don't think we should be even thinking about getting rid of SBD as of yet. Perhaps in the long-term it will become redundant, but it serves a large number of important purposes.

  1. New users to the platform don't understand cryptocurrency. SBD is an excellent gateway cryptocurrency because it's value is always clear.

  2. Stability. I can hold SBD without any worries of the impending powerdowns of stakeholders who may possibly be about to sell a lot of steem on the market just as I get my payout.

  3. It is the only other cryptocurrency - apart from bitcoin - that I can trade for STEEM! I have reasons to actually want to sell my steem for something other than bitcoin. Unfortunately I usually have to go through Bitcoin first. I do not like this because at any moment after my bitcoin order goes through the bitcoin price could drop and my nerves are shot just thinking about my money sitting there. Again - SBD is stable and much more safe.

The three part cryptocurrency of the steem blockchain is one of the greatest things about it. They all solve 3 major problems with cryptocurrency. That issue with stability is what prevents the masses from adopting cryptocurrency. People like security, and to buy or make a certain amount of STEEM as a noob on steemit, then suddenly see the price drop out of bad luck, that could make people afraid of cryptocurrency - which alot of people already are.

Hey I see you caught the same thing as me. Nice! It stuck out to me when I was listening.

My favourite CEO hahaha

It seems like most CEOs are shady, but Ned is cool

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.73 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 21 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

good stuff, thanks for sharing!!

Nice one! Thanks for sharing!!

@ned, if you need a good lighting technician to remove the Hitler shadow stash let me know. I'll Amazon a desk light your way. ;)

LOL -- link me to a good one please

Awesome! On its way with the Edison incandescent lightbulb

Thanks!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57531.86
ETH 3051.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29