"My ABC's Of Nature" Series-Letter "Z"- Part 49 (PPW1)

in #nature7 years ago

"My ABC's of Nature" Series-Letter "Z"-PART 49 (PPW1)

Welcome to the last post of "My ABC's of Nature" Series. I hope you enjoyed this series as much as I did putting it all together. I had many setbacks but this series was truly a labor of love filled with blood, sweat and tears. I have two insects that begin with the letter "Z."

LETTER "Z"

ZABULAN SKIPPER BUTTERFLY

I already did a post about Skipper Butterflies. If you would like to know more about Skipper Butterflies you may read it here: https://steemit.com/nature/@whatisnew/my-abc-s-of-nature-series-letter-s-continued-part-34

Skippers are so difficult to identify, however; I was able to identify this one as the Zabulan Skipper Butterfly. I found it on my neighbor's Zinnia flower.

It is in the family Hesperiiade. The male and females of the Zabulan Skippers are completely different. Males like mine, have yellow/orange coloring with brown accents. Females have dark brown bodies with white markings and white spots. Their wing span is 1 1/4" to 1 1/2".

ZELUS LURIDUS

The Zelus luridus is of the order of Hemiptera which are true bugs, and the family Reduvidae which are Assassin bugs. This species is the most common species found in the eastern U.S. They are very small ranging from 12.5 to 18 millimeters long. I found this one on my next door neighbor's plant.

This is the Zelus luridus nymph. It is solid green, it does not have wings and nymphs have a more narrow body than adults. In the warm summer months, adult females lay clusters of eggs on leaves and stems. The clusters are held together with a sticky substance.

After the eggs hatch, the nymphs gather around the cluster and feed on prey together for one week. Their front legs are made in a certain way to help grab their prey. They also use the sticky substance from the egg cluster to help with holding their prey.

After their first week of life, they disperse to hunt and live alone. The nymphs molt four times before they become an adult with wings.

This appears to be an adult Zelus bug that I found on my miniature rose bush after it rained one morning. Remember, this is a MINIATURE rose bush with very small leaves so you can get an idea of its size. And I enlarged the photos.

Here is a close-up.

Adult Zelus bugs are approximately 3/4" long and they have a sticky substance that is made from a gland on their leg. They eat flies and other insects. These assassin bugs get their name because they wait on leaves to capture passing insects but sometimes they will hunt for their prey.

They also paralyze their prey by injecting poisonous saliva through a tube in their beak. Then they pierce and suck the juices from the body of their prey.

Looks like something took a bite out of this rose bush leaf but it wasn't the Zelus bug. The first three people who can tell me why it was not the Zelus bug who ate the leaf and answers correctly will receive one (1) SBD each.

THIS CONCLUDES "MY ABC'S OF NATURE" SERIES. THANK YOU!

Information Source: butterflieswithwings.com, uky.edu, wiki.bugwood.org, softschools.com, wikipedia.org

Image Source: 100% own work.

Sort:  

They don't have chewing mouth parts. The have the needle or sucking mouth part.

It would be impossible for them to chew the leaf!

Winner! That is correct. 1 SBD coming your way. : )

I agree with tegoshei and em3.
They are mostly bug eaters. And their mouth is a piercing "straw" so it wouldn't be suited for chewing a leaf.

Winner! That is correct. 1 SBD coming your way. : )

Very cool! Thank you!

Looks like something took a bite out of this rose bush leaf but it wasn't the Zelus bug.

→ They're carnivorous!!! ^^

Waaa... You finally finished the series... Cheers to a great job!!! :) Looking forward to your next series my lovely Deb!! <3

Winner! 1 SBD coming your way.

Thanks so much for the nice compliment Shei! I sure do appreciate your support. : )

Yay!!! Thanks for the prize, Deb! ^_^
You're always welcome... ;)

Bugs with built in straws lol
Love your ABC's of Nature series @whatisnew
I see there is some extras today :-)
Never know when some insects will show up
even in winter!

Thanks again for loving my series; warms my heart.
Yes, I still have some leftovers that I am posting. I was surprised to see some insects with the wind and cold. You just never know. : )

Went from frozen cold to rain now here, so some
bugs might be showing up :-) makes me wonder
where the word BUGS comes from ;-)

I think we got your freezing cold temps but no snow thank goodness.
You got me thinking about where the word Bugs come from so I looked it up. Merriam-Webster said that it comes from the word "hobogoblin" which is a "an ugly or evil creature that creates mischief." A "Goblin" is a "Grotesque, evil and malicious creature." So now we both learned something. : )

Did you see south Texas getting snow wow!!
I couldn't help think about a place that is hot
compared to Alaska freezing over, like when
ya know freezes over! They are the same temps
as us right now.

No, I didn't know that. This weather is so crazy! I heard that Atlanta got snow today too.

I left out an important word: "Bugge" "Bugge hobogoblin." Makes more sense now.

I do love word meanings, legends and lore!
Thank you for looking that up 👍
Insects that bug people and animals must be causing mischief! lol
Is that why goblins are so buggy? always bugging, especially
them hobo ones the homegoblin is more mellow ;-) lol

HaHaHa! Good one! Thanks for the belly laugh! : )

Good finding and interesting information! Nice photos! Congratulation for the winners! ;)

Thanks again for your support @tangmo! : )

You're welcome! ;)

Interesting creature. :)

Creature indeed! LOL! Thanks! : )

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Nice all around job with your series @whatisnew. Those Zelus bugs remind me of divorced wives, you know the part where they drain you dry.

Thanks so much and thanks for your support from the beginning to the end of this series. I sure do appreciate it. : )

Funny comment!

Is it leaf cutting bees?

You are correct, however; I asked why it was NOT the Zelus bug who took a bite of the leaf. 1 SBD is on the way for your support my friend. : )

I knew when I saw the smart people give their responses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77