"My ABC's Of Nature" Series-Letter "O"-Part 24

in #nature7 years ago

"My ABC's of Nature" Series-Letter "O"-Part 24

LETTER "O"

ORB WEAVER SPIDER

I am petrified of spiders, so you can just imagine how difficult it was for me to take these photos. This particular spider is an Orb Weaver Spider in the family of Araneidae. There are over 180 different species of the Orb Weaver Spiders in North America and over 3,500 different species in the family Araneidae worldwide. They build round webs to catch their prey and their webs can span several feet in width. The orb weaver spider coats the silk threads of their web with a sticky substance, which enables them to catch flying insects in their web. The prey get stuck in the sticky substance and can't escape.

I found this Orb Weaver Spider on my next door neighbors pine tree.

They feed mostly on insects, as well as other small organisms. The orb weaver has poor vision so it relies on vibrations of their web to alert them that prey is in their web. They sit in the middle of their web with their head facing downward, showing its rounded abdomen. If you see one of these spiders in the web, it is usually a female. Males hardly ever build a web because they are too busy looking for mates.

This photo shows the large circular web.

Females don't search for their mates. They just wait on their web or close by, letting the males come to them. Males are smaller than females, and might become the female's next meal after mating. Female Orb Weavers lay eggs in clutches, encased in a sac. Each sac will contain several hundreds of eggs. In areas that have cold winters, she will lay a clutch of eggs in the fall, wrap it in thick silk, and she will die after the first frost. The babies will hatch in the spring. The average life of an orb weaver is approximately one year.

I enlarged this photo so you would be able to get a better look at this orb weaver's abdomen.

What I found most interesting about these spiders is that they build a new web every day and do not leave their old webs behind. So what do they do with their old webs? They eat them, and turn them into new silk to build their new webs. Nature never ceases to amaze me!

The name of this one is the "Spotted Orb Weaver."

Orb Weavers vary in color and size. They can be brown, black, or brightly colored. Many have very long legs which can be hairy and spiny. They are beneficial spiders because most orb weavers are nocturnal and they lower the mosquito population. Orb weavers have venom but they usually don't bite. If they do bite, it will be mild.

This series will continue with the letter "P" in my next post. Thanks for looking!

Information Source: dkfindout.com, thoughtco.com

Image Source: 100% own work.

Sort:  

we can learn from the spider to reuse our waste. 😃😃

Sure can! I try to recycle as much as possible. : )

Great stuff. I always admired spiders since I learned when kid they ate mosquitoes. I also catch and release outside when I find in the house.

Thanks! I just did my first catch and release of a spider in my house and I was so proud of myself. : )

I try not to kill unless it harms me or a nuisance.

I'm not a spider fan, but these are beauties!

Glad you like them...but I think you are crazy! LOL! Even these gross me out...big time! : )

So interesting. I do the catch and release whenever I find a spider in the house also. I know what you mean though about being afraid of them, especially the big hairy ones. Once when I lived in California, I felt something in the room with me and sure enough it was an enormous spider. To me it looked like a tarantula but I think it may actually have been a Wolf Spider--- If the friend I was with hadn't caught it to releas outside I think I would have had to move--lol

OMG! You would have had to carry me out on as stretcher! HaHa! Thanks for stopping by. I sure do miss your posts and hope to see one soon. I will keep checking. : )

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64056.77
ETH 2654.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83