Parsley Varieties and Flowers - Some Interesting Facts

in #nature6 years ago

Parsley is rich in iron and Vitamin C.

parsleyflower.JPG


Parsley flowers(just starting to open)


ParsleyFlower3.JPG


Parsley flowers (macro)


First year plants have much finer and have more tender leaves.
The second year parsley plants are useful for producing flowers and seed before declining. I have one of each.


parsley.JPG


Second year parsley with flowers.


Parsleycurled.jpg


"Moss Curled" Parsley
Photographed at the Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden.


ParsleyFlat.JPG


Flat parsley


The curly varieties are best to use as a garnish, but have little flavor compared with the straight flat varieties according to what I've been reading.
I also just potted up a flat parsley plant.
I am going to disagree with the last statement, because I did a taste test and I think they each have a good bit of flavor!


I did learn that if you want to leave parsley in something you are cooking
a long time, most of the flavor is in the stem!
I'll be testing this out in some cooking soon!


Apparently you should use chopped fresh parsley at the last minute to cooked sauces,soups, etc.
I have been cooking with dried parsley for many years and recipes always add that in the beginning.


Of course I love when butterflies lay their eggs on my parsley!
I just go buy another parsley.


What is your favorite way to use parsley?
Do you have a favorite recipe that uses parsley?


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


May 6, 2018
All original photos by @violetmed

Sort:  

Hey @violetmed! I like how you integrated the cooking information into this one. Can you do more posts with cooking info related to spices in your garden? Perhaps some photos of the food you cook would also add some extra punch to the posts...

I learn every time I visit your blog. Am not a gardener or vegetarian but visiting your blog opens my eyes to some facts.
Well I think this is my first time of hearing that name and probably seeing that leaf or might have seen it but don't know the name. Thanks for sharing.

Have a great week ahead
11:13pm Sunday 6th May 2018, Nigeria time.

Parsley is an herb used as a garnish on the plate or chopped up and added to food in recipes.

I prefer the taste of the curly leaf parsley. I love tabouleh and to juice with it: apple, ginger and lemon with parsley. Love it:)

Make sure you give us a shot of when the butterflies come out of the cocoon:) Hope you are having a wonderful weekend:)

Don't worry I will be posting(hopefully) lots of butterfly photos soon! The only thing wrong with my weekend is it is going to be too short! :)

not only beautiful but also healthy. we plant flat parsley in Indonesia and usually it uses in soup. and we call it "daun sop".

That’s so interesting! Thanks for stopping by!

This is great @violtmed.

The flavor is in the stem.

At first I thought it said, "The flavor is in the steem." Now I see. I cannot think of parsley without sage, rosemary and thyme.

We don't use parsley much in Korea but I do grow basil for my own pasta or salads. My experience with parsley in America was as a garnish on the side of a dish.

Happy Sunday

Haha, you have "steem" on the brain! I'm going to be doing other posts on herbs. Yes, you are referencing the song that mentions those 4 herbs! I love basil move than parsley.

Parsley is a green vegetable that has a shape like celery. besides the function in the world of culinary is also the same as celery that is as a decoration or seasoning food. Though a lot of drugs made from parsley base material. Nothing wrong with the benefits of parsley quite a lot.

Very good post @violetmed, Parsley is very rich in antioxidants needed by the body to ward off free radicals. In addition, parsley also contains luteolin which can increase the body's metabolic system.

I'm guessing it's a vegetable right? Did you grow them personally? Wow look at the freshness of the leaves,

Parsley is an herb used to flavor food dishes and also used as a garnish on the plate!

Amazing facts about parsley! This is a truly valuable plant both in cooking and in medicine.
I like fresh parsley more, in winter we use freshly frozen parsley. We grow it ourselves.

Great idea!

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 3.08$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

very interesting post, I didn't know that Parsley was so attractive. The plants look better than the garnish that I see in restaurants. Great photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57249.56
ETH 2352.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38