Getting a companion for my cactus, a fluffy and spined friend.

in #nature6 years ago
Yes, I got it! My last post ended with the dramatic situation of the greenhouse closing and me leaving with empty hands; so I went back and this time, there's a happy ending. At first I was convinced that I was going to get one of those weird shapped cactus (found out that they actually are succulents, thank you @nikv), but it didn't feel right because of the limited light conditions of not having a balcony or a proper window. Of course, I was right at the point I started: with no decision made.

Before I get going, I have some great news to share. Remember my first cactus (or roommate as I called him) Cacnea? Well, a couple of months ago I started noticing some weird lump in one of his sides.. It turned out to be a new branch! My boy made me a grandmother (at such a young age! *insert some drama*). It sounds hilarious and probably ridiculous, but I got pretty excited, as I mentioned in the post I made introducing him, it's my first time trying to grow something or taking care of something different than a dog. Cacnea grew a fech inches and has a new lump branch, I can start to call myself a gardener wanna be (so far from being a real one).

You can read Cacnea's post here.

IMG_20180818_155206120.jpg

If you look closely, you can see the lumpy branch coming out almost from the tiny rocks.
He's taller right?

Now let's talk about this new friend.


I listened to @nikv and @ewkaw and got a Mamillaria cactus. I got one with some special look and I believe it's a girl. I got a fluffy one, tiny and chubby. Here's the funny part, she has two little flowers that resemble talls, its fluffyness it's the hair and the flowers are the talls (I laugh everytime I try to explain it).

IMG_20180818_155354286.jpg

Put some imagination to this, and try to see a furry ball with hair talls.

I named her Ling Ling, I have no idea why. It was a moment of joyness mixed with the Japanese environment. She's Cacnea's new baby sis. I still gotta make a sign with her name though. Isn't she pretty? Can't wait for those flowers to open!

IMG_20180818_155545608.jpg

Here they are, look at those hair talls please.

Do you guys have any idea of how to make Cacnea grow straight? I mean, he looks like he's inclined to a side. It worries me, I don't want him to fall or get out of the pot because of that. I'm too afraid to just "put him straight", so.. Any advice would be appreciated.

I'm sorry for the lame quality photos, still without a laptop, which means it's useless to use my camera, I mean.. How do I get the photos out of the SD card without a computer?
Sort:  

Love the name, because Ling is my Chinese name!! The pink flowers are so pretty.

Oh! That's such a coincidence haha. Well i didn't aim with the chinese or japanese name but.. still a pretty one!

You're a cactus momma now!

You two can have cactus momma meetings :P

Lol and bring our babies along?

Beware of bad lizards! They will left their eggs next to your cactus and make 'em think they are the fathers! XD

Its a long story.... LOL

I'm all ears (eyes actually).

Suuuure :p In cute little potties with names :P
Not weird at all! :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vanessapineda7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Ohhh cool... I like the new cactus, Ling Ling! pretty pink flowers too... Errr, your Cacnea is growing some ridiculously long thorns... I've never seen them this long before

I think it's normal? Idk :((((

Overly endowed.... lol

The Cacnea (Euphorbia) you can either way turn round... so it has the light source from the other side. It will torn to the light.
Or you can put some stick and gently tight it to it.

The fluffy ball will open the flowers when it gets some sun (unless they are already faded). They love sun!

I havw them in a window, giving them much sun as I get here (have a terrible view since the other building is blocking the sun).

Turn the big one around then. He will try to grow towards the light. It might help :)

The cactus family grows

Congratulations @vanessapineda7! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Does your camera have bluetooth? You already got good advice for Cacnea

No, it's a pretty old one :(

I'm gonna go with the stick

Cacti are so cool! Quite easy to keep and surprising in how they have many varieties and gorgeous flowers :D

I became a fan since the first one I got. Still haven't seen the flowers tho

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37