Getting my new roommate, a dry and spined friend.

in #nature6 years ago (edited)
The new apartment and my new life come with a lot of "empty space", so I decided to get some company. Of course the contract doesn't allow me to get a dog or a cat (also I don't feel economically stable or emotionally prepared) AND since I'm not a fish or turtle person.. I decided to get a plant! Even though I have asked @nikv sporadically about what kind of plant should I get to grow in limited light conditions, I hope I didn't mess this up and took the right choice!

Was taking a walk by the street and saw a small store with some "offerts" and guess what I found in a corner.. A lot of cactus and succulents! Took me a while to decide, but I choosed the one who caught my eye at first intention, was actually the one who made me stop and take a look.

IMG-20180424-WA0044-2.jpg

As you can see.. They were all so cute! It was actually a hard choice.

So now I introduce you to my new spined roommie:

IMG-20180424-WA0047-2.jpg

I was thinking about naming him Cacnea.

You're probably wondering why I got a plant and specially a cactus.. Well, since I'm starting a new life from scratch, I barely have any furniture or any decorative element in the rented department, so I got company and some decor to my livingroom! Also cactus are great for me, by being plants rooted in arid lands, they hardly need care except for a little water from time to time. A good example for all those people who want to change their decor and immerse themselves in the world of plants, but who are also somewhat clueless.

IMG-20180424-WA0048-2.jpg

Cacnea getting his first look at the window, he was already spying the neighbors.

So now I have to decide if I should put him by the glass window or the real window. I don't know why I like him so much (I'd probably start talking to him in a couple of days), it reminds me of a pokemon that has inspired his name and also it looks like Neville Longbottom's plant in the Harry Potter world.

IMG-20180424-WA0049-2.jpg

Here's what the Pokemon Cacnea looks like.

And here you can take a look to Neville's plant

So what do you think? Was love at first sight?

(Also would like to know if it was actually a good choice).

Sort:  

Wow awesome!! My brother collects cactus and some of them are really cute indeeed. I visited a botanic garden a few days ago and see something like yours, full of cactus everywhere. Wonderfull, thanks for sharing

Well, I found out yesterday that my cutie isn't actually a cactus, but I still think it is haha! Thanks to you for visiting, very appreciated.

Hahahaha can't believe it! Hope to see more photos when all of them have flowers! :)

Nice to meet your spiky friend! @ironshield

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 04:56:29
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 238.95/200.00
Total Photos: 44
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Or perhaps you can get two more to keep him company, put them in a wooden planter box on the window sill would look great

I will change the pot eventually, also i'm considering to get another one lol

I approve! Cacnea is actually a euphorbia, not a cactus and he needs as much light as you can give. They do prefer full sun but I think he will manage. Just don't overwater him, they rot very easily from too much water

WAIT Cacnea is not a cactus (lemme process that), then i should leave him by the window?

No, but you can treat him like a cactus. Either outside on the balcony and definitely by the window if inside

Cacti Are native to the American continents. We don't have cacti naturally in Africa but the some of the euphorbia family are closest looking to cacti. If cut, he will exude a white milky latex, which is poisonous. Never get it in your eyes, it is severely irritant

Did you see how many succulents they were? I want them all @-@

How do I change my baby to another pot without harming him?

Succulents are addictive! They are very easy to propagate from leaves and stem cuttings. If you see some at a friend, get some leaves or stems to take home and grow. Cacti usually need to grow from seed, unless there are babies.
Leave him in the pot for now or more the white pebbles from the top of the pot and take a picture of what the growing medium looks like and I will make a suggestion

Sure I will. I'm gonna take a new picture each 15 days to see! Thank you!

Plants make great company, and this one is really cute, it has character. I'm pretty sure it was a good choice, cactus are meant to be hardy and if you have it near the window it will help with security with all those spikes.😁

LOL the security is definitely a plus!

Haha Cacnea is adorable! I wouldn't be able to get just one. I love succulents!

I controlled myself, trust me it was hard haha

I believe you :D

That little guy reminds me of this X-Men character.

284px-KidOmega1-1-.jpg

Namaste, JaiChai

I wasn't expecting this lol

you have same taste like me. I will choose the same

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34