Patience is definitely a virtue & some luck doesn't hurt either

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Successfully interacting with the largest apex predators of the ocean is at times incredibly intimidating but also invigorating and addictive. To do this properly and without causing any negative impacts on the animal in question then you require a few basic principles.


Firstly, you need to know what you are doing and understand how to recognize the animals behaviour.

Secondly, patience is by far the most important virtue when it comes to orca encounters.

Thirdly, a little bit of luck doesn't hurt


This shot itself is from a still from some go pro footage I got from a male orca from the Souther Resident population. They are critically endangered and this is mainly due to their primary food source, Chinnok Salmon, being at incredibly low population amounts. At times they will use a non-moving and quiet vessel as a tool to successfully catch their food, which is what occurred here in this encounter. Unfortunately, I did not get any footage of the big fella chasing and catching his food but shortly after he turned and swam slowly and curiously looking up at me, as he acknowledged the vessels assistance in obtaining his lunch. You can see the shadow he is swimming into, which is the shadow caused by the vessel itself.


snap-10.jpg
A male orca looking up to my boat after a successful hunt of a salmon - basically, saying thank you for assisting him in grabbing his lunch
Click image to view full size


It is vitally important here to note that this type of encounter has happened to me about 3 times in 1,000s of encounters I have had with this population. I was beyond lucky to not only have this close encounter but to get some sort of footage from it as well. It is something you can never force and I can guarantee that it won't happen very often. Either way, I am beyond ecstatic to have had this close encounter and can only hope the people who were with me on the vessel truly appreciate the encounter as well.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Wow! What a massive and powerful sea creature!
Must be such a trip being that close to it! Very cool!😊👍

It is absolutely 100% beyond a trip! be sure to go check them out in the wild when you can - you won't regret it!

Danggg! You have such a cool job!!! Animal encounters are truly incredible. What an honor and experience!

Thanks! I am beyond grateful for the work I get to do and animals I spend my time with

I've never seen a Orca in my entire life. Your job is the coolest ever.

It definitely has amazing moments like this one and I hope you get to see these amazing animals in person soon!!!

It is difficult to shot water animal. I am impress because I have seen orca first time even I have not seen this in television program beautiful picture with beautiful orca.

It is really difficult to do this and I was beyond lucky to get this short video clip, which I will try to get onto Dtube when I have a moment to do so. Thanks! I am happy you enjoyed the post

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-19T20:05:09
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 731.93/800.00
Total Photos: 96
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @thomasjmitchell! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Very beautiful animals cool photo greet good luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99