Hyrax on the Rocks

in #nature7 years ago

Hyrax on the Rocks
IMG_1878.jpg
On the same rocks where I found the Lizard on which I posted yesterday in my post titled Lizard on the Rocks I found some Hyraxes. On the photo above you can see a Hyrax baking in the sun!! They bake in the sun to regulate their temperature as they have a poorly developed internal temperature regulating system. Interestingly enough Hyraxes is more closely related to elephants than to rodents although they look similar to rodents. If you would like to read more on them, just click on Hyrax.

IMG_1877.jpg
The small family I watched lived in this hole in the rocks.
IMG_2265.jpg
I saw them hiding in the crack, just under the roof of this overhang!!
IMG_2266.jpg
On the floor below, you can see all the manure!! The stench was unbearable!! I could not get close, and beside the stench there were also some bees that had a nest to the right hand side of the roof.
IMG_2268.jpg
Below you can see the hole in the rocks where they live from the back side.
IMG_2292.jpg
Look at the nice position this Hyrax have with a nice sea view!!
IMG_2293.jpg
Almost untouchable sitting on his throne, high and dry!!
IMG_2303.jpg
IMG_2308.jpg
Below is a video of the Hyrax sitting on his rock tower. Nice

Who would have thought that this sure footed climber is family of an elephant?

I took these photos during my recent vacation to Jongensfontein, Western Cape Province, South Africa, using my iPhone.

I hope you enjoyed the photos as much as I did taking them.

Sort:  

Interesting...have never heard of these. You say they are related to elephants..so how big are they? Can’t really tell for the pic.

They are quite small, about the size of a cat.

Mmm...for something related to elephants you’d think they were bigger. 🤔 Thanks.

Cool picture story. I’ll follow you to see more 🙂. Never heard about a hyrax before. Now I know.....

Thank you so much, it is quite a common animal in South Africa in rocky areas.

Wild South Africa!

Thanks for the comment.

Outstanding post and narrative. Thank you for sharing!

Thank you very much.

This is a great place to visit! The rocks are fantastically beautiful!

Thank you very much for the nice comment.

great photography looks so cool,,,,,,,,
have a nice day.........///////////

Thank you very much.

Nice post and photos my friend

Thank you very much.

Great travel!!!
Great pictures, that lizard can be dangerous!

Thank you for the nice comment.

wow this is really epic nice :)

Thank you very much.


stunning photography of wonderful travel of yours. impressive work @rynow

@resteemia

Thank you so much for the nice comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14