Steenbras Dam

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Today I passed my Learner's License test thingamabob. Can still guarantee that I will be using the bicycle wherever I can. Which is like 98% of the time.

After the test, sitting for more than two hours, I was super excited to get back on the bike and take a quick cycle before work! I have been avoiding the Steenbras Dam climb (I mentioned it in one of my previous posts) since about last year mid December... Very cowardly!

Cycling up that hill is absolute bliss! Once you get into a steady rhythm, it's therapeutic, somehow. The view was beautiful today. Even though it was at mid afternoon, the sun was actually forgiving. Just the normal amount of sweat dripping off everywhere. Also cycled past a friend that came back from Rooiels' side

What made the climb beautiful today was seeing the fishing ships during work. And the different shades of blue that spread over the beach. Also some weird tints of reddish-orange. Dunno what that was... but the ships were in there.

This picture shows most of the Helderberg. As well as the Helderberg Mountain. There is a hiking trail to the top with some amazing view points as well. I have a whole bunch of images saved up from all the times I've hiked up there! I'll be sure to post them in the near future ;)

IMG_20180124_121524[1].jpg

As I was cycling up, I noticed some flora growing. I as especially happy about this, because a few moths ago, veld fires destroyed almost all of the mountain. It left steenbras but a carbon air filled smokey climb of doom. Probably the reason I avoided it. Most of the bushes are in the kloof of the mountain, but progress is progress!

IMG_20180117_170222[1].jpg

And just glancing left you'll see this. Rooiels cant be seen from here, but it's just around the mountain. All along the R44 towards Rooiels, you'll be bombarded with similar view and sceneries. Great place to clear your mind or blow off some steam.

IMG_20180124_121533[1].jpg

Sort:  

NEW ON STEEMIT
I WILL HELP YOU TO MAKE follower
Hello and welcome to the community. I followed you and would appreciate a follow back. I'm looking forward to see more posts! Have a great day and have fun. Welcome!

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow @niteshbaniya AND @REECHA
get back to back in touch for upvote

Hello rubenverster, welcome to Steemit! :-)

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60