Ride To Rooiels

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

A cycle to Rooiels isn't an extremely long ride from my house per se, but what it lacks in length, it definitely makes up for in beautiful sceneries. Fresh ocean breeze filling your lungs, lovely mountains sides to your left and green flora to your right. Before hitting the road towards Rooiels, you can opt for a nice blood-pumping, leg-loosening climb to the Steenbras Dam. It stretches for about 3km and has an average gradient of about 8% (it also spikes at about 22% somewhere... you know when you're there). Epic climb for any intermediate cyclist! The viewpoint is well worth the grind. I remember seeing the sun go down among multiple clouds and hearing a voice say, "Get your ass to Steenbras now! There will be a beautiful sunset!" And I captured these beauties...

IMG_20170601_175844.jpgIMG_20170601_175122.jpg

And you've barely started your ride towards Rooiels! You can stop just about anywhere and you'll have to pick your jaw up from the ground.

The left image is in my personal favourites folder. Love the contrast between the blue ocean, green bushes and orange rocks!

IMG_20170714_130508.jpgIMG_20170714_130907.jpg

Rooiels is a must cycle if you are ever in Cape Town. It not the most gruesome cycle around here since you are rewarded with small climbs and then a small downhill. Giving your legs some time to rest. Even my girl could cycle to it with a bit of help and she only cycled for a month before joining me. So don't be lazy! Get your bum off the couch and on a bicycle seat and explore this beautiful world!

Excuses don't burn calories!

IMG_20170714_133244.jpg

Sort:  

'excuses don't burn calories', I like it! It looks like such a beautiful ride, I've never seen a sky such a colour.

If I ever end up your way I'll be taking your advice for sure !

My sister sent me a pic with that quote. It sticks doesn't it :)

The sky is really beautiful and clear here. Just a bit harsh when the sun is beating down on you...

If you're here, hit me up! Always nice to cycle with someone!

Cheers Ruben, I will do !

I've a few friends in Jo'Burg, so maybe one of these days ey :)

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60