Raising Tadpoles (Day 55) - The Froglets Get Their Own Pad

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 54

Separated the 4 froglets, 2 more will soon be joining them in a few days and 4-5 more after that, likely by the end of the week. Out of the four, only one is ready to eat, though one is almost done absorbing its tail and should be eating within two days. Froglets this young should be fed twice a day, I currently am using Zoo Med's "Aquatic Frog & Tadpole Food" micro pellets. This food offers three advantages to me, firstly, it's one of the few foods tiny enough for the froglets to eat at their current size (they're still smaller than a US quarter), secondly, the pellets sink, rather than float, and thirdly, I just happened to have a bottle of the stuff on hand before this all began.

GOPR1570 - Copy.JPG

In all seriousness, Zoo Med's pellets are a fine food to use and I've yet to hear of any complaints from anyone's who's used it. The way I feed them at this size is by using a 5 ml pipette (the very same type I used to remove them from the main tank as eggs originally, in fact) and remove any uneaten food remaining in the tank after an hour. I also moved all 8 moss balls from the 20 gallon tadpole tank into the 5 gallon for the time being. This should help with the nitrates that are in the water I took out of the main tank to fill the 5 gallon. In order to prevent a rise in ammonia, I'll add some zeolite tomorrow as well. The froglets are currently much too small to put in the main tank for the time being.

180620_0002 - Copy.jpg

The new jar of zeolite came in today, I've decided to test out the equation listed on the side for determining the amount of zeolite to use:

level of ammonia (in ppm) * 0.009 * gallons of water = amount of zeolite to use (in cups)

I decided to round the ammonia up to 1 ppm and rounded the water volume of the tadpole tank to 20 gallons, giving:

1 * 0.009 * 20 = 0.18 cups

I rounded to 0.2 cups to be safe and then noticed that the closest measuring scoop I had was a 1/4 cup. 0.25 cups is close enough and will help provide a buffer against increased ammonia production.

Next Day

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65974.40
ETH 2637.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67