Raising Tadpoles (Day 131) - Raising the PH

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 131

Today, I set aside time to sort out the issue of the PH difference between the 10 gallon and 20 gallon tanks. The 10 gallon, tadpole, tank has remained constant at a PH of 7.6 while the 20 gallon aquarium has lower to a PH of 7.2 over time. In order to even out the respective PH values, I decided to raise the PH of the 20 gallon tank since it's much easier to raise the PH value based upon the resources I have on hand right now.

GOPR2527-edit.JPG

I started yesterday by adding 2 grams of baking soda to raise the PH level. This was rather unsuccessful as the PH level was still 7.2 this morning so I decided to raise the amount of baking soda when I put more into the tank. I started today by adding 4 grams of baking soda into the tank, there was a noticeable increase. The PH still wasn't high enough and I added another 3 grams of baking soda after feeding. By this point, it was close enough to a PH level of 7.6 that I decided to leave it alone for the time being. If the PH level has remained the same tomorrow, I'll be able to transport the froglets from the 10 gallon tadpole tank over to the 20 gallon tank prior to or during the next feeding.

GOPR2457-edit.JPG

I ordered a new plastic carrier tank off of Amazon the other day for less than $10. From the dimensions listed in the product description, it should be somewhat smaller than the new 5 gallon holding tank I broke but should still be large enough for transporting the juvenile frogs. Even if I have to buy a second carrying tank, it will still be cheaper than replacing the broken 5 gallon holding tank.

Current Totals:

15 - 10 gallon (Tadpole Tank) [3 froglet, 12 tadpole]
28 - 20 gallon (Frog Tank) [5 froglet, 23 juvenile]

Next Day

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@ribbitingscience, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62